A free Mastercard that spends from a crypto balance, but only if you live in the right place

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Bit2Me card is a Mastercard that lets you pay in shops and online from a cryptocurrency balance held inside a Bit2Me account. Spends can go through a euro wallet or be funded from crypto, you can choose which wallet pays at checkout, and the card works in physical, virtual, or dual form, with Apple Pay and Google Pay support and 24/7 ATM withdrawals. It is free to maintain, and a stablecoin can be linked for up to 7% advertised yield alongside purchases. The catch is that the card is only available to a small set of countries, and the public materials are unusually thin on fees, limits, and supported currencies: most of the numbers people compare cards on come from third-party sites rather than from Bit2Me itself.

Bit2Me works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The card sits at 6.8 out of 10. That is a respectable score but well short of the leaders in this category, and the breakdown tells you where the weak points are.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bit2Me payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why it scores there
Who can get it 5 / 10 Country list is not published officially; third-party sources point to roughly 29 countries, mostly EEA, with tax residence required and several common destinations closed
Cost 7 / 10 No maintenance fee; third-party sites report a €0 virtual card and a €20 physical card at base tiers, with 0.95% on crypto-funded spending and 0% from a euro wallet
Top-up options 7 / 10 Dozens of currencies are advertised, you pick the wallet that pays, and a stablecoin can be linked; the full coin and network list sits on the support site rather than the card page
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Issuer is an EMI supervised by the Bank of Spain, Bit2Me holds MiCA authorisation, but Trustpilot stories flag withdrawal delays and account freezes
Everyday use 9 / 10 Mastercard in any combination of physical and virtual, mobile wallets on both platforms, 24/7 cash withdrawals

Who the card suits, in plain terms: an EU resident who wants a Mastercard tied to a crypto balance, values high advertised cashback, is happy to hold funds inside a custodial account, and is willing to confirm the fee schedule with support before relying on it. Who it does not suit: anyone outside the published footprint, anyone who needs a self-custody connection, anyone who cannot afford a delay while withdrawals are reviewed, and anyone who needs the fee and limit numbers in writing on the card page rather than in unofficial comparison tables.

If that profile is yours, the rest of this review walks through who Bit2Me will actually onboard, what getting the card involves, what it costs, how you load it, what daily use looks like, what can go wrong, and which alternatives to weigh.

Will they give you the card

Bit2Me’s own card page does not list the supported countries, does not say whether eligibility is by citizenship or by tax residence, and does not name the card’s billing currency. That silence is the single most important thing to know before you start the sign-up form, because the next thing you learn about your own eligibility is the result of the KYC check.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bit2Me starts with a transfer to the right network

The unofficial picture, drawn from third-party sites rather than from Bit2Me, is this: the card is reportedly available in around 29 countries, most of them in the European Economic Area, and the reported list spans Austria, Belgium, Germany, Poland, Spain, Sweden and others in the bloc. Several commonly requested destinations are reported as closed, including Canada, Ireland, Japan, Tajikistan, the United States, Iran, and Cuba. Tax residence in a supported country is reported as a requirement. None of this is confirmed by Bit2Me’s card page, so treat it as a starting point and verify with support before you commit to a sign-up flow.

Why it matters in practice: if you are a US citizen living in Madrid, the unofficial rule is that the United States is closed. If you are an Irish citizen living in Berlin, the same unofficial list excludes Ireland. If you are a Spanish citizen with tax residence in Mexico, the reported requirement of tax residence in a supported country is the obstacle. The card page does not explain any of this in advance, so the only reliable test is to start the application and see what KYC will accept.

KYC, where Bit2Me’s pages discuss it on other products, follows the pattern you would expect: a registered and verified Bit2Me account, government photo ID, a liveness check, and proof of address for higher tiers. Unofficial accounts describe extra document requests and manual review on top. EU rules require institutions to record name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, run a sanctions check, establish the purpose of the relationship, and screen for politically exposed persons. If that cannot be completed the institution is expected to refuse the relationship. That is the procedural background for any freeze or rejection you may hear about later.

How to get it

The card comes as a physical card, a virtual card, or both. It runs on Mastercard and is accepted “in any online or physical store that accepts Mastercard payments”, which is the largest acceptance footprint of any card network. The card currency is not stated on the card page.

The public materials do not describe delivery countries, delivery time, or delivery cost. The card requires a Bit2Me account, and what that involves in terms of identity verification is described only in general terms elsewhere on Bit2Me’s site: registered and verified account, government photo ID plus a liveness check at the base level, and proof of address for higher tiers. Unofficial reports flag extra document requests and manual reviews on top of the standard checks.

What that means for the order of operations: open the account, complete KYC, then order the card from inside the verified account. If you want the physical card, expect a wait that the public page does not quantify and a shipping cost that the public page does not publish. The virtual card, where available, removes both questions.

What it really costs

The headline is simple: the card has no maintenance fee. Bit2Me’s own page states, “Don’t pay anything for the maintenance of your virtual or physical cards.”

Below the headline, the public card page is silent on issuance fees, conversion fees, foreign-exchange fees, ATM fees, and spending limits. For a reader trying to compare cards, that is the main gap to bridge. The figures that do circulate come from third-party sites and are repeated here as unofficial. Where I write “not stated” the card page itself does not say.

Costs

Fee or limit Amount
Issuance (virtual) €0 (unofficial)
Issuance (physical) €20 at Space Center levels 0–2, €10 at L3, €5 at L4, €0 at L5–L7 (unofficial); €5 delivery outside Spain (unofficial)
Virtual replacement €0 (unofficial)
Monthly / annual fee None (official)
Spending from euro wallet 0% (unofficial)
Spending from crypto 0.95% (unofficial)
SEPA in a non-euro currency 1.75% (unofficial)
Other foreign currency 2% (unofficial)
Cash withdrawal in Spain €0 from Bit2Me (unofficial)
Cash withdrawal in the Eurozone (outside Spain) €2.50 (unofficial)
Cash withdrawal outside the Eurozone €0.55 + 1%, minimum €0.75 (unofficial)
ATM limits €300 / day, €3,000 / month, €30,000 / year; 5 / day, 50 / month, 150 / year (unofficial; one source gives €3,000 / day and 5 / day, contradicts)
Spending limits €2,500 per transaction and per day, €20,000 per month, €200,000 per year (unofficial)

Three everyday payments show how those numbers land.

Coffee in Spain, paid from the euro wallet: the merchant settles in euros, the conversion path is empty, the fee is 0% on unofficial numbers. The only cost is what the cafe charges.

Coffee in Spain, paid from a crypto balance: the same merchant receives euros, but the card has to convert. Unofficial rate is 0.95%, so a €3 coffee costs roughly €3.03 in crypto input. That is small enough not to notice and large enough to matter over a year of daily use.

Coffee in Tokyo, paid from the euro wallet: the merchant settles in yen, the card triggers a foreign-currency conversion, the unofficial foreign-currency fee is 2% on the standard path and 1.75% on the SEPA-style path. The Tokyo rate is the 2% path, so the same €3 coffee costs around €3.06. That is the cost of using a euro card outside the euro area.

A cash withdrawal in Madrid at a local ATM: Bit2Me’s fee is €0 on unofficial numbers, but the ATM owner can still apply its own surcharge. A cash withdrawal in Berlin, with no card fee per the unofficial table, costs €2.50 to Bit2Me alone. A cash withdrawal in New York costs 0.55% plus 1% with a €0.75 minimum, on top of whatever the local ATM charges. Withdrawing €100 in New York works out to roughly €1.55 in Bit2Me fees, before the ATM operator’s own surcharge.

Two more costs are not in the table. First, on-chain network fees for the deposit that loads the card are charged by the blockchain, not by Bit2Me; sending USDT on a busy network at the wrong time can cost several US dollars. Second, the rewards section below describes how cashback works and where the asterisks live.

The unofficial tier structure that drives the issuance fee is the “Space Center” levels 0 to 7, awarded by points: L0 pays 0% cashback, L1 0.25% (capped at €7.50 a month), L2 0.5% (€15), L3 1% (€30), L4 2% (€100), L5 3% (€175), L6 5% (€250), and L7 7% (€300, requiring 9,000 points). Cashback is reported to be paid in B2M, the platform’s token, not in euros, and is reported to exclude euro-wallet purchases and certain merchant categories including casinos, lotteries, and betting.

The honest summary is that the fee story on the official page is sparse, and the unofficial fee story is detailed enough to be useful but not authoritative. Before you commit, ask support for the fee schedule in writing.

How to top it up

The card advertises “dozens of currencies” and lets you choose which wallet pays at the point of sale. You can also link a stablecoin so that purchases can earn up to 7% advertised yield alongside the cashback. The full list of supported coins is on Bit2Me’s support site rather than on the card page itself, and the deposit fee, minimum top-up, and network fees are not stated on the card page.

Practically, there are three routes. The first is to keep euros in the euro wallet and pay from there; the unofficial conversion fee is 0%. The second is to hold crypto on the platform and let the card convert at payment; the unofficial fee is 0.95%. The third is to link a stablecoin and earn yield while it sits in the balance. The catch with on-chain deposits is that the network you choose has to be one the platform supports for that asset, because sending USDT on a network Bit2Me does not accept can lock the funds with no automatic recovery; blockchain transfers are irreversible.

Two background points are worth keeping in mind. USDC, issued by Circle, is redeemable 1:1 for US dollars and is backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm, and Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. USDT, issued by Tether, runs on multiple blockchains including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. Tether has said it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. Picking the right network at the deposit screen is the small decision that prevents a long support ticket later.

Paying with it every day

The card is compatible with Apple Pay and Google Pay, so you can add it to a phone wallet and pay at contactless terminals without the plastic. With Apple Pay the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element on the device, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. The issuer can still restrict a tokenised number, for example blocking it on magnetic-stripe transactions, online use, or in certain merchant categories. The list of blocked merchant categories is not stated on the card page.

3-D Secure applies on online payments: the issuer assesses the risk and either approves the transaction or challenges the cardholder with a one-time code, a biometric prompt, or an in-app confirmation. For Mastercard that flow is branded Identity Check. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on the balance that can persist for several days, typically up to seven, so a small decline is not a sign that the money has gone.

Some merchants use the card’s BIN, the first six or eight digits that identify the issuing institution, to decide whether to accept the card at all. Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address with the issuer’s records, is mainly offered in the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. That is the kind of failure that looks like a card problem but is really a merchant policy about cards issued abroad.

Cash withdrawals are advertised as available 24/7. The unofficial fees and limits are in the cost table above.

The Bit2Me app is available on iOS, iPad, Mac with an M1 chip or later, and Android. The App Store listing in Spain shows a 4.5 out of 5 rating from about 3,800 ratings as of 20 October 2026. The Google Play listing exists but was not read for this review. Cashback is advertised as “up to 7%” on purchases, with a separate claim of “up to 39% cashback” when combined with other Bit2Me products, an additional “+25%” with Bit2Me Life at more than ten merchants, and yield of up to 7% on a linked stablecoin. The payout currency, the qualifying conditions, and the meaning of the asterisks are not stated on the card page.

What can go wrong

The card and payment account are issued and managed by PECUNIA CARDS EDE, S.L.U., an electronic money institution supervised by the Bank of Spain and trading as PECUNPAY. Bit2Me itself holds MiCA authorisation from Spain’s CNMV; press accounts describe it as the first Spanish platform to receive that authorisation, though the registry entry and press dates reported here conflict. In a separate development, Bankinter joined the capital in a EUR 30 million round alongside a minority stake by Tether. The EMI is the party that holds the card programme, and the licence sets the floor for how customer funds are safeguarded, segregated in dedicated accounts or insured, and treated differently from bank deposits that may be covered by deposit guarantee schemes.

The risks for the user fall into three buckets. The first is operational. On Trustpilot, Bit2Me overall sits at 3.9 out of 5 from 2,484 reviews as of 20 October 2026, with 26% of reviewers awarding one star and the company replying to 97% of negative reviews. The recurring themes are withdrawals and transfers held under review (notably in April and July 2026), account lockouts or hack reports with unanswered calls (March to April 2026), slow support (February to April 2026), and reports of high fees on small purchases (July 2026). The recurring positive notes are fast and helpful phone and WhatsApp support (May to August 2026). No card-specific complaints were found, and no official incident reports were found.

The second is regulatory. The MiCA transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. Crypto card programmes in the past have been closed with little warning: WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all programmes it issued, and in November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, with the FTX US debit card programme wound down by its issuer. A typical closure gives a notice period, stops loading, then stops spending, then asks users to withdraw remaining balances. The 2026 closure reported by a single secondary source set new loads to end on 8 July 2026 and spending to end on 8 August 2026, but that is a single unconfirmed report and is not specific to Bit2Me.

The third is the platform risk that comes with a custodial product. Cryptocurrency transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return the funds. The custody model, whether two-factor authentication is enforced, whether cards can be frozen instantly, and whether balances are insured are not stated on the card page. Customer service is advertised in nine languages, with the support email [email protected] and the support phone +34 910913788 from the App Store listing; hours are not stated.

If a transaction goes wrong, the route to a refund is the standard chargeback: a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing, or goods not received. Under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from merchant to the cardholder’s bank, or, per critics of the flow, to the cardholder. The US frameworks for debit (Regulation E) and credit (Regulation Z) reversal rights do not automatically apply to prepaid or e-money cards, and coverage should not be assumed for the Bit2Me card.

What to take instead

Three cards from the same general category make useful comparison points. The figures below are taken from the alternatives research; treat each alternative’s published numbers as its own claim and read the original page before deciding.

RedotPay, 6.9 out of 10. Reports two separate restrictions: a KYC list of countries whose citizens cannot verify at all (a long list including the United States, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Mainland China and others), and a card-issuance list of 47 places whose residents cannot get a card, which adds India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey on top of several already-restricted places. The card is virtual or physical, runs on Visa with USD and HKD card currencies. Application costs 10 USD virtual, 100 USD physical, non-refundable. The transaction fee is 1% on the default path, 0% on the default currency, and 1.20% on non-default currency, with small-auth and decline tiers from 1 December 2025. Funding is by on-chain crypto deposit (USDT-TRC20 minimum 1 USDT after network fees) or by buying crypto with a credit card in the app. A 5 USD welcome reward is valid for 30 days and applies to spending, not to the issuance fee. Cashback rates are not stated on the card page.

Bitpanda, 6.5 out of 10. Requires a verified Bitpanda account and residence in a euro-area country; users verified via “Bankident” cannot order. The card is a physical Visa debit, EUR only, with one active card at a time. Costs are account opening, monthly fee, first shipment free, reissue €5.90 (the FAQ says €9.90 for lost or stolen), and each additional physical card €10. The non-EUR FX fee is €0, but Visa mark-up fees apply, and the crypto conversion fee and spread are not stated on the page. Spending draws from a chosen main asset and optional fallback asset, including cryptocurrencies, precious metals, or euros, converted to euros at payment, with a minimum payment of €1. Cashback is reported as 1% on crypto spending, with the page summary saying “up to 2%” (unreconciled), excluding fiat, stocks, metals, and stablecoins.

Wirex, 6.7 out of 10. Card availability “depends on your region”, and the homepage advertises service in 130+ countries. The card is virtual, physical, or both, with a metal “Visa Signature debit card” tier, and the network elsewhere is “Visa or Mastercard” without a fixed per-region assignment. Issuance is free in the UK, EEA, APAC, SG, AU and “Other”, with a PIN change free; the metal card is 45 GBP on the UK page with free DHL Express, and “only 45 EUR” delivery fee elsewhere. There is no annual or foreign-exchange fee in the marketing text, with an exchange fee shown in the app before confirming. Funding is by SEPA in EUR, Faster Payments in GBP, ACH in the US, and PIX in Brazil, all free. Cashback is paid in WXT: Standard 0.5%, Premium 3%, Elite up to 8%, with exclusions that include ATM withdrawals, cash advances, crypto purchases, gambling, refunds, and a long list of merchant category codes.

A useful way to read the four cards side by side is to keep three questions in mind. First, can you actually get the card where you live and where you pay tax. Second, what does it cost in the path you will actually use, not in the headline path. Third, who holds the licence to issue the card and what does that licence mean for your balance if the programme is wound down. On all three questions, the Bit2Me card’s public materials are thinner than the alternatives, and the unofficial sources are doing work the official page is not.

Who I would recommend it to

The case for the card is strongest for an EU resident who wants a Mastercard tied to a crypto balance, intends to spend primarily in euros, values the high advertised cashback, and is comfortable holding funds in a custodial account supervised by the Bank of Spain. The zero maintenance fee, the euro-wallet path at 0% on unofficial numbers, the Apple Pay and Google Pay support, the 24/7 cash withdrawals, and the up to 7% stablecoin yield on linked holdings together make the card attractive for that profile. MiCA authorisation adds a regulatory floor that many crypto cards still lack.

The case against the card is straightforward for anyone else. The published list of supported countries is empty on the card page, and the unofficial list closes out several common destinations including the United States, Canada, Ireland, and Japan. The fee and limit numbers that matter for daily comparison come from third-party sites rather than from Bit2Me. The Trustpilot record is mixed, with a recurring pattern of withdrawal delays and account freezes, and a recurring positive pattern of fast phone and WhatsApp support. The custody model, two-factor enforcement, freeze features, and insurance coverage are not stated on the card page. And, like any custodial product, the platform carries the kind of counterparty and hack risk that has hit custodians from Mt. Gox to Coincheck to Ronin.

If you fall into the EU-resident profile, the card is worth a serious look, with the proviso that you ask support for the fee schedule in writing before you make it your primary card. If you do not, the published footprint alone is enough to redirect you to one of the alternatives.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bit2Me card?

The Bit2Me card is a Mastercard issued by PECUNIA CARDS EDE, S.L.U. (an electronic money institution supervised by the Bank of Spain) that lets you pay from a euro wallet or a cryptocurrency balance held inside a Bit2Me account. It comes as a physical, virtual, or dual card and works with Apple Pay and Google Pay.

How does the Bit2Me card work?

You fund a balance inside Bit2Me, then choose at checkout which wallet pays, and the card converts crypto to euros at the point of sale. Crypto-funded spending carries an unofficial 0.95% conversion fee, while spending from the euro wallet carries no Bit2Me fee, on unofficial numbers.

Is Bit2Me a bank?

No. Bit2Me is a crypto platform; the card itself is issued by PECUNIA CARDS EDE, S.L.U., an electronic money institution supervised by the Bank of Spain. Customer funds sit in safeguarded accounts, not bank deposits covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Who owns Bit2Me?

Bit2Me holds MiCA authorisation from Spain’s CNMV, with press accounts describing it as the first Spanish platform to receive that authorisation (registry and press dates conflict). In a separate development, Bankinter joined the capital in a EUR 30 million round alongside a minority stake by Tether.

Is the Bit2Me card available in the United States?

Unofficial sources report the United States as a closed destination, and Bit2Me’s own card page does not list supported countries. The reliable way to test eligibility is to start the KYC flow and see what is accepted.

How do I get a Bit2Me card?

Open a Bit2Me account, complete the standard KYC (government photo ID and liveness check at the base level, proof of address for higher tiers), then order the card from inside the verified account. Public materials do not describe delivery countries, time, or cost.

Does the Bit2Me card require KYC?

Yes. The card sits behind a verified Bit2Me account, and the underlying identity checks follow the EU customer-due-diligence pattern: name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, sanctions screening, purpose of the relationship, and PEP screening.

How do I top up the Bit2Me card?

You can fund a euro wallet, hold crypto on the platform and let the card convert at payment, or link a stablecoin to earn yield alongside purchases. The full coin and network list is on Bit2Me’s support site, and the network you choose for an on-chain deposit must be one Bit2Me supports for that asset, or the funds can be locked.

How much does the Bit2Me card cost?

Maintenance is free. Unofficial sources report a €0 virtual card and a €20 physical card at base tiers (free at the highest tiers), with 0% spending from the euro wallet, 0.95% spending from crypto, 1.75% on SEPA in a non-euro currency, and 2% on other foreign currency.

Is the Bit2Me card safe to use?

The card sits inside a regulated structure: an EMI supervised by the Bank of Spain for the card programme, and MiCA authorisation for the crypto side. Operational risk is real: Trustpilot stories flag withdrawal delays and account freezes, and the custody model, two-factor enforcement, freeze features, and insurance coverage are not stated on the card page.

Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team