A virtual USD card that runs on stablecoins, and a product still finding its feet

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Trustee sells itself as a worldwide crypto card, but the experience is narrower than the marketing suggests. The card is virtual, USD-denominated, and funded by USDC or USDT moved through the Trustee Plus app. It works where Mastercard works, but cash withdrawals are off the table, the physical card is on a waitlist, and the user reviews tell a story of funds frozen during reviews that the company says are routine. That mix of low everyday friction and uneven reliability sits behind the score below.

Trustee works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through the card’s pages, the app store listing, the Trustpilot reviews and a few unofficial guides, and this review is what I found. The conditions on these pages are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Trustee earns 5.1 out of 10. The product works for a specific use case: a virtual USD card, top-up with stablecoins, spending wherever Mastercard is accepted, and a virtual card issued in a few minutes. If that is what you need, the bones are decent: 0% on transactions, 30,000 USDC a month as a spending ceiling, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a relatively cheap entry price of $10 for the virtual card. The numbers fall because the official pages leave too much unsaid. Country eligibility is not listed, the FX markup is not disclosed, the fee schedule is a black box, and the user reviews pile up around one theme: funds stuck in compliance review with no clear timeline.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Trustee payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The score in detail:

Criterion Mark Short reason
Who can get it 5 / 10 Countries not listed; “Worldwide” and “Issued in Great Britain” are the only clues; unofficial sources point to EEA plus Ukraine and Moldova
Cost 7 / 10 Virtual at $10, advertised 0% on transactions; conversion markup undisclosed, reviews cite up to 2%
Top-up options 5 / 10 USDC or USDT only, no networks named; 30,000 USDC monthly ceiling
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 2.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 236 reviews, 56% one-star, recurring story of frozen funds
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual only, no ATM withdrawals, Apple Pay and Google Pay work
Total 5.1 / 10 —

The audience this card suits is narrow but real. If you are an EU resident who wants a virtual USD card funded by stablecoins, and you do not need cash from an ATM or a physical card in the post, Trustee can do the job for a low upfront cost. If you need a physical card right now, rely on cash withdrawals, or live outside the regions hinted at in third-party guides, this is not the product for you.

Will they give you the card

Trustee’s own pages keep eligibility short: the card is described as a “Worldwide Crypto Card” and the issuer is named as “Issued in Great Britain”. No list of supported countries appears. That vagueness is the first thing to know, because in practice where you live and where your ID is from will decide whether you can complete the sign-up at all.

Unofficial sources fill some of the gap. A guide on cryptocardhub and a forklog walkthrough, dating from the 2023-2025 era, describe the card as available to residents of the European Economic Area plus Ukraine and Moldova, and usable wherever Mastercard is accepted. Those guides may be out of date; Trustee has not confirmed them on its own pages. Treat them as useful hints, not as a promise.

Beyond the country question, the card’s identity is unusual. The page does name an issuer: Wirex Limited, a UK-based e-money institution. Wirex is a known and regulated card issuer in the crypto space, which gives some comfort about the rails under the card. The “Trustee” brand itself is not described on the page as a bank or as a licensed e-money institution, so the safest read is that Trustee is the front-end and Wirex is the regulated partner doing the actual issuing.

The general rule in this category is that KYC is required, and Trustee is no exception. You have to verify your identity before the card is issued, and the issuer will run sanctions and politically exposed person screening as part of that process. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution either to refuse the relationship or to close it, which is the background to many of the frozen-account stories in the reviews.

How to get it

The full sign-up process is described below, but the shape of the process is straightforward: download the Trustee Plus app, complete KYC, order the card, and top up the balance in USDC or USDT. That is the entire pipeline in four steps, and the virtual card is issued in a few minutes once the verification is done.

What the official pages do not spell out is which documents you will need, and what can slow the process down. The walkthrough the app uses is a single KYC step: open Profile, tap Identity, choose your country, pick “Other method”, state the account purpose and source of income, add your address, scan an ID card (national passport) or international passport, and take a selfie. Levels, processing time, and the reasons a verification might be rejected are not stated.

Unofficial write-ups and user reviews suggest a few practical realities. The list of documents can grow. Proof of address and additional checks may be requested after the initial verification, not in the same sitting. Some users have reported being asked for five separate documents. And an AML review can follow the initial approval, separate from the sign-up step itself; the card can be issued and then the balance frozen weeks or months later when the source-of-funds checks start.

A few things to check before you start:

What it really costs

The headline numbers are simple; the details are where it gets interesting. Virtual card $10, no monthly fee stated, “0% fees on transactions” advertised. That is the part Trustee puts forward. The part it does not put forward is the FX markup on payments that are not in USD, the network fees you pay on the way in, and what the conversion actually costs you at the moment of payment.

A note on unofficial figures: third-party sites and a forklog guide from the 2023-2025 era list a virtual card at €10 and a physical card at €25, with no monthly maintenance fee in euros. One of those sites mentions a promotion with no virtual issuance charge. These are not confirmed by Trustee’s own pages, and the official page lists the virtual at $10, so the safe reading is that you will pay around $10 for the virtual card and that anything beyond that is a promotion you should expect to end.

The conversion picture is the one to watch. The card spends in USD, and payments in EUR, PLN, GBP or other currencies are converted automatically. Trustee’s pages do not state the markup on that conversion, which is the fee that usually matters most for everyday spending. Unofficial sources point to a 0.5% crypto-to-euro conversion fee, and the most consistent number across 2023-2025 articles, but Trustpilot reviewers report conversion fees of up to 2% per transaction, with no breakdown. If the higher number is closer to the truth, that is a meaningful drag on every non-USD payment.

ATM withdrawals are not currently available from the Trustee Plus card. The official page says so plainly: “At the moment, cash withdrawals from the card in Trustee Plus at ATMs are not available.” The product page for the physical card still mentions cash withdrawals as a feature, but the physical card is on a waitlist. Unofficial guides describe ATM access at NFC-enabled terminals with PIN, with limits up to €2,000 per day and €10,000 per month at 1.5% plus €1, but those figures come from older guides and contradict the current official line.

The costs at a glance:

Fee or limit Value
Virtual card $10.00
Physical card Temporarily unavailable (waitlist)
Monthly fee Not stated
Transaction fee Advertised 0%
FX markup on non-USD payments Not stated (unofficial: ~0.5%; reviews cite up to 2%)
ATM withdrawals Not available at the moment
Monthly transaction limit 30,000 USDC
Daily limit Not stated

To make this concrete, three everyday scenarios:

A few things to check first:

Top up

The top-up flow has two steps, and the distinction between them is worth keeping clear. First you fund the Trustee Plus wallet, and only then do you move money onto the card balance. The two balances are separate, and the card can only spend what has been moved across. The official pages say top-up is in USDC or USDT; no other assets are mentioned, and the networks are not specified on the card pages.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Trustee starts with a transfer to the right network

The funding page says the card balance is credited “usually within up to 5 minutes”, and the wallet-to-card step is also described as quick. Fees, minimums, and supported networks are not stated on the page itself. A wiki page links to a “How to add funds to the EUR balance” article and a “Trustee Plus fees” article, but those articles were not retrievable from the public pages I read, so the practical answer is that you have to test a small amount first and watch the network fees.

Unofficial sources describe a wider wallet, with 30 or more assets supported inside Trustee Plus (BTC, ETH, TRX, USDT, USDC, SOL among them), and one guide limits card spending to BTC, ETH, USDT, with USDC only allowed as a wallet top-up. The official page is narrower: only USDC and USDT can be moved to the card balance, and only after they are already inside the wallet.

A few things worth knowing about the networks:

A few things to check first:

Paying with it every day

Once the card is loaded, the experience is a normal contactless or online card experience. The card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, so a tokenised version of the card can be added to a phone wallet and used at a terminal or in an app. The official pages do not list blocked merchant categories, but most crypto cards in this category block gambling and a few high-risk categories; that is a policy question for Trustee’s support if it matters to you.

A few practical points:

The app itself is the control panel. The version I checked was 2.1.6 on iPhone iOS 17.0 or later, the developer listed as MIKEPAY INC., and the App Store listing showed no rating because there were not enough ratings. The Android build is an APK offered on the Trustee site, not the Google Play store. The app supports English, Bulgarian, Lithuanian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian and Ukrainian.

A few things to check first:

What can go wrong

The product is new enough that the official incident list is empty, and the user reviews fill in the picture. The most consistent theme is funds frozen during review, and the experience of being unable to use the card or withdraw the balance for weeks or months at a time. The official company replies to negative reviews almost always (98% of the time on Trustpilot), and the language is usually the same: “funds are safe”, with a request for documents and a reference to the compliance team. That is reassuring in the sense that there is a reply, and not reassuring in the sense that the same reply turns up again and again.

The numbers on the user reviews:

A few specific themes from the reviews:

A separate set of concerns comes from the security and custody model. The official security page says “We safeguard, but we do not control”, without explaining what safeguarding means in practice. Sign-in is by passkey, biometrics (Face ID), or an Apple or Google account; multi-level two-factor authentication is advertised; Hacken does vulnerability testing and runs a HackenProof bug bounty; reserves are monitored 24/7. Insurance is not mentioned.

The company-side picture is also worth keeping in mind. The card is issued by Wirex Limited, a regulated UK e-money institution, and the cards themselves are programme-managed by the Trustee brand. A July 2026 review describes cards being moved to a merged platform or new provider, which is the kind of structural change that has historically been painful for users in this category; programme closures typically give a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances, with no guarantee on the speed of refunds.

A few things to check first:

What to take instead

The right alternative depends on what you actually need. Trustee’s pitch is a USD-denominated virtual card funded by stablecoins, and the strongest competitors in that niche each take a different angle.

Card Score Best for Annual cost FX Cashback Card network
Trustee 5.1 / 10 Cheap virtual USD card, EEA users $10 virtual, no monthly fee Not stated Not stated Mastercard (not stated on card page)
MetaMask Card 7.1 / 10 Self-custody spending, 45 listed countries Virtual free; Metal $199/year No extra FX fee, Mastercard rate Up to 3% in mUSD (Metal, capped at $10,000) Mastercard
KAST 6.1 / 10 Tiered stablecoin card with cashback Standard $0; Premium $1,000/year; Private $10,000/year 0.5%–1.75% by region and programme Up to 3% in USD on the Private tier Visa
Zeal 6.1 / 10 Multi-currency stablecoin wallet, no FX markup Not stated No extra FX fee, Visa wholesale Up to 4% in GNO, paid on Gnosis Chain Visa

MetaMask Card is the closest spiritual alternative. It spends directly from a self-custody wallet on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana, the virtual card is free, the Metal tier is $199 a year, and the headline cashback is 1% on the Virtual card and 3% on the Metal (3% capped at the first $10,000 spent, then 1%). It uses the Mastercard rate with no extra FX fee, and the trade-off is a tighter country list: sign-up is open in 45 listed countries (Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay among them), and the rest of the world is a waitlist. US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed. Card issuer is Monovate, with Crypto Life as card provider.

KAST is the closest competitor on the stablecoin-funded model. It accepts USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum and Tron, and the stablecoin-to-USD conversion is 0% with 0% card spend commission. Non-USD FX is 0.5% to 1.75% depending on residence country, transaction country and card programme, and there is a 0.50 USD fee on declined transactions from insufficient balance. The membership model is the catch: Standard is $0, Premium $1,000 a year, Private $10,000 a year, all billed annually upfront. Cashback is up to 1.5% on Standard, 2% on Premium, 3% on Private, paid in USD.

Zeal is the multi-currency option, with accounts in EUR, USD and GBP and balances held in a “card Safe” on Gnosis Chain and Celo. Zeal charges no extra FX fee, conversion is at the Visa wholesale rate, and cashback is up to 4% in GNO, paid on Gnosis Chain. Country coverage is wider than Trustee’s: spend in 150+ countries, with the live card programme (Gnosis Pay) in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia, Thailand, and recent notes adding Mexico, Colombia and Bolivia. Physical card availability is not stated, and the fee schedule is not published on zeal.app or the App Store.

The pattern across all three: a more transparent fee schedule, a published country list, and a rewards or cashback hook that Trustee does not currently match.

Who I would recommend it to

Trustee is worth a look in a narrow set of cases:

Trustee is not for you if any of the following apply:

If you fall in the first group, Trustee can do the job. If you fall in the second, the alternatives above are a better starting point.

Frequently asked questions

What is Trustee card?

Trustee is a virtual Mastercard-style card denominated in US dollars, sold through the Trustee Plus app and issued by Wirex Limited in Great Britain. You fund it with USDC or USDT from the Trustee Plus wallet, and you spend the USD balance anywhere Mastercard is accepted online or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. The physical card is on a waitlist at the moment.

How does Trustee card work?

You download the Trustee Plus app, complete KYC, order the virtual card, top up the Trustee Plus wallet with USDC or USDT, move the balance from the wallet to the card, and then spend. Payments in non-USD currencies are converted automatically at the moment of payment. The conversion markup is not disclosed on the official pages.

Is Trustee a bank?

No. Trustee is the brand that markets the card, and the card is issued by Wirex Limited, a UK e-money institution. Trustee is not described on the card pages as a bank or as a licensed e-money institution itself, and the funds you load are safeguarded by the issuer under e-money rules, not protected as bank deposits.

Who owns Trustee?

The card pages name Wirex Limited as the issuer and “Issued in Great Britain”. The Trustee brand itself is not described as a regulated entity on the card pages, so the safest read is that Trustee Plus is the programme manager and front-end, and Wirex is the regulated partner that issues the card.

How do I get a Trustee card?

Download the Trustee Plus app, complete KYC, order the virtual card, and top up the balance in USDC or USDT. The virtual card is issued in a few minutes once verification is done. The documents the app asks for are an ID card (national passport) or international passport, a selfie, your address, and the account purpose and source of income; proof of address and other documents can be requested later.

Does Trustee card require KYC?

Yes. KYC is required before the card is issued, and the page describes a single step in the app: Profile, Identity, choose country, “Other method”, state the account purpose and source of income, address, ID card or international passport, and a selfie. An AML review can follow the initial approval, and the source-of-funds checks can lead to funds being held pending documents.

How do I top up Trustee card?

Top up the Trustee Plus wallet in USDC or USDT, then move the balance from the wallet to the card. The card balance is credited “usually within up to 5 minutes”. Networks, minimums, and fees for the wallet-to-card step are not stated on the card pages. Transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on the wrong network can be lost.

Is Trustee card free?

No. The virtual card is listed at $10 on the official page, the physical card is on a waitlist, and the monthly fee is not stated. The card advertises “0% fees on transactions”, but the FX markup on non-USD payments is not disclosed, and reviewers report conversion fees of up to 2% per transaction. Network fees for the USDC or USDT transfer are charged by the blockchain, not by Trustee.

Is Trustee card safe?

The card is issued by Wirex Limited, a regulated UK e-money institution, and the official security page advertises passkey and biometric sign-in, multi-level 2FA, Hacken vulnerability testing, a HackenProof bug bounty, and 24/7 reserve monitoring. Insurance is not mentioned, the custody model is not explained, and the user reviews (2.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 236 reviews, 56% one-star) describe funds frozen during AML review for weeks or months at a time. Treat the card balance as a working balance, not a store of value.

Where can I use Trustee card?

Anywhere Mastercard is accepted, online or in person through Apple Pay or Google Pay, subject to the issuer’s policy on blocked merchant categories. The card is virtual only at the moment, so in-person payments require a phone wallet. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued card numbers outright, and a declined authorisation can leave a hold on the balance for several days.

Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team