SORA is shut: a review of a dead card, and what is left for the people who still hold one

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you landed here searching for a SORA card, the single most important thing to know is that the programme no longer issues cards. Issuance is closed, and the card, the app’s card functions, and everything that made SORA a usable payment card stopped after 30 January 2026 at 18:00 GMT. That is not a rumour from a forum; it is what the card’s own notice said, dated 10 January 2026. So there is no version of this review in which you apply, pick a tier, or start spending. What I can do is tell you what happened, what it means if money is still sitting in there, and where you might go instead if a card that converts crypto to spendable balance is what you actually need.

The SORA card programme no longer issues new cards

The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

I am going to be blunt about the rating: 2.2 out of 10. That is not a judgement of what the product was when it ran. It is a judgement of what you are looking at now, which is a closed programme where the only open question for many users is how to get money back out.

Verdict: the score, and who this is for

Let me put the numbers on the table first, then explain what they mean.

Criterion Mark Why, in short
Who can get it 0 / 10 Issuance is closed: the card and the app’s card functions stopped after 30 January 2026 18:00 GMT
Cost 5 / 10 Issuance and monthly fee €0, membership €39 a year after the first year; international payments €0.90 + 1.1%, ATM €1.20 + 3%
Top-up options 2 / 10 Conversion of XOR to EUR or a SEPA transfer; no direct crypto load
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 The programme is closed, the issuer Unlimit EU Ltd suspended part of the accounts, balances are inaccessible until Unlimit reviews them
Everyday use 3 / 10 Physical and digital card, ATM was available; Apple Pay and Google Pay were promised for “Phase 2”; the card is closed
Total 2.2 / 10

The cost mark is the only one above zero and it is worth being fair about why. On 17 September 2024 the published schedule had card issuance at €0 for both the virtual and the physical card, a €0 monthly fee, and a client membership of €39 a year charged after the first year. International card payments were €0.90 + 1.1%, domestic was free for the first 10 online and 10 point-of-sale transactions, top-up was €0, and cash withdrawal in the EU, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway was €1.20 + 3%, with international withdrawals at €1.75 + 3% and a free balance inquiry once a month. Those are not predatory numbers. They are simply irrelevant to a decision you might make now, because you cannot open one.

Everything else scores low for a structural reason. Top-up sat at 2 because funding ran through conversion of XOR to EUR or a SEPA transfer, with no way to load crypto directly onto the card. Everyday use got 3 for the physical and digital card and the ATM, minus the fact that Apple Pay and Google Pay were only promised for a “Phase 2” that never arrived in a form the pages described, and the card is now closed. Reliability got 1, which is the honest ceiling: this is the criterion that measures whether the thing works when you need it, and for anyone still holding a balance the answer is currently no.

So who is this page for? Two groups, and only two.

Who it is not for: anyone shopping for a crypto card today. There is no product to shop for. If you have seen a page suggesting SORA is still open, it is out of date or wrong.

What happened to the programme

Here is the timeline as the card itself described it, because the order matters more than the individual dates.

Two of those points deserve emphasis because they are the ones people get wrong. First, the closure is of the *card programme*, not of the whole company: SORA Wallet was stated to continue. Second, Unlimit is a separate company from SORA, and Unlimit is the one holding the money and the one that suspended accounts. When the app stopped showing balances, you were not dealing with a bug in the SORA app; you were dealing with an issuer’s system.

I want to be careful about one thing I could not establish: no cause was stated. The notice said the services were ending without giving a reason, and I found no official statement explaining why. Anyone who tells you they know the real reason is going beyond what the card’s own pages say.

If you already have the card

This is the section I would read twice if the balance is yours.

What is actually available now. After 30 January 2026 18:00 GMT the app gives no access to balances, and the only stated route is Unlimit support at [email protected]. That is the whole of it. There is no withdrawal flow left in the app, and no alternative I found on the official pages.

The trap that catches people. If your account was one of the ones Unlimit suspended, the app or a statement may still *show* you a balance while the money stays unreachable until Unlimit completes its review. A visible balance is not a claim you can act on. Do not treat a screenshot of a balance as evidence that you can get the money.

What will not work. SORA stated that it cannot submit release requests for users. That is not a technicality — it means any request has to come from you, to Unlimit, not through your old SORA contact route. And SEPA outgoing and SEPA Instant outgoing, each €0.50 while the card functioned, are history: there is no account behind them for the money to leave through.

What to send Unlimit. I am not going to give you a template or tell you how to phrase anything, because that would be legal and procedural advice I am not qualified to give. What I will say is the practical shape of the situation: you are asking an e-money institution to release funds from an account it holds, and the entity that holds them is not the brand you remember. Keep your own records — your account identifier, the dates and amounts you loaded, any confirmation emails — because you may be asked to evidence that the balance is yours. Note that disputes were not stated on the pages I read, so do not assume any particular process is running in parallel.

On the parts that had nothing to do with the balance. Limits were said to be at the card’s fees page but the amounts were not present there, so I cannot tell you what they were. Closure fees and replacement-card cost were not listed. Support ran through soracard.com/support, soracard.com/contact and [email protected], alongside Discord, Telegram, X and Reddit; the site was in English and Español, Russian was not offered, and hours were not stated. All of that describes a service that has closed.

The honest bottom line for a holder: the situation is unresolved, it is being handled by the issuer rather than the brand, and your leverage is time and paperwork, not an in-app button.

What can go wrong

Some of these risks are about crypto cards in general and will apply to whatever you switch to. Some are specific to how this one ended. I am separating them because that distinction matters when you decide what to check first.

The closure-specific risks, which are live now:

The category risks that do not go away when a card closes:

What to take instead

If what you wanted from SORA was a card that turns crypto into everyday spendable balance, three running programmes are worth looking at. I am not endorsing any of them and I am not telling you they fit your rules — your country, your documents and your spending are yours to judge. Read the eligibility lines carefully; that is where most applications fail.

MetaMask KAST Zeal
Score 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10 6.1 / 10
Card Mastercard; virtual issued instantly, Metal pre-ordered after Virtual approval; one card per user. Issuer Monovate, card provider Crypto Life Virtual and physical, up to 10 per user: Visa Platinum (Standard), Visa Infinite metal (Premium), Visa Infinite gold plated (Private), plus Pengu, Solana, Bitcoin designs Visa; virtual card for online use, addable to Apple Pay; accounts in EUR, USD, GBP via Gnosis Pay. Physical: not stated
Price Virtual free, no annual or maintenance fee; Metal $199/year Standard $0/year; Premium $1,000/year; Private $10,000/year billed annually upfront, no monthly option; inactivity fee $1/month after 12 months Not stated — no fee schedule published
Funding Spends straight from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, Solana; tokens named include mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, USDT Stablecoins USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD; USDT/USDC on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, TRON; no bank account needed; balance in USD Balances in the card Safe (EUR/USD/GBP stablecoin accounts; Gnosis Chain, Celo per docs); exact coins not stated for Zeal
Fees “Minimal fee for each transaction” (amount not stated on the pages read); no additional MetaMask fees; no foreign transaction fee, Mastercard rate used Stablecoin top-up 0%; USD spend 0%; non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75% by residence, transaction country and programme; non-USD under $25: $0.10; declined transaction: $0.50 No additional FX fee; Visa wholesale rate; Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM may still apply
Rewards Cashback in mUSD into the Money Account: Virtual 1%, Metal headline 3% but footnote caps 3% at the first $10,000 spent then 1%; $FLY bonus 5X / 7X via Blackbird USD cashback: 1.5% on first $2,000/month, 2% on first $10,000/month, 3% on first $40,000/month; KAST Points none / +1% / +2% of eligible spend Up to 4% cashback in GNO on Gnosis Chain, only if GNO is held in the card Safe; rates can change; App Store also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR/USD balances

Who each one suits, and where each one can hurt you.

MetaMask is the one I would look at first if your priority is spending directly from a wallet you control, because it takes no fiat balance — it draws on the connected wallet across Linea, Base, Monad and Solana. The catch is eligibility: sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories (Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay among them) with other regions on a waitlist, proof of residency is required, and the citizenship rule is not stated. The framing is reassuring — “ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending” — but US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ. Two small traps: Solana-only wallets cannot withdraw credit, and the Metal card’s 3% is capped at the first $10,000 spent, after which it drops to 1%.

KAST has the richest card lineup and the most aggressive cashback, but the cost structure is a different order of magnitude: €0 is not the number to look at, $10,000 a year is. Its eligibility is unusually explicit — the residence list is shown at KYC and if your country is not listed it is not available, the country list itself is not published, and citizenship matters separately from residence: living in a supported country while holding an ID from a restricted region may still make you ineligible, dual citizens with an ID from a supported country may pass, only your own ID is accepted, and a VPN does not bypass any of it. You can create an account in an unsupported country but KYC stays locked. One inconsistency to note: the app lists PYUSD and RLUSD, while the Terms say acceptable tokens are “currently USDT and USDC”.

Zeal is the simplest of the three: spend in 150+ countries, Visa, no additional FX fee, conversion at the Visa wholesale rate, and up to 4% cashback in GNO — but only if you hold GNO in the card Safe, and rates can change. Issuance depends on eligibility and regional availability, and the card programme is live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand per the Gnosis Pay docs, with Zeal’s own updates mentioning Mexico, Colombia and Bolivia. Physical availability is not stated, and no fee schedule is published, so you cannot model the cost from the site alone.

One thing all three illustrate: the card brand is often just the front. The network routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer holds the programme and your balance, and the crypto name is frequently a programme manager. When something goes wrong, the entity you contact is the issuer.

Who I would recommend it to

Nobody, as a new card. I would not recommend SORA to anyone who is choosing a card today, because the programme is closed and there is nothing to apply for. That is not a close call and it is not a judgement of the old product.

What I would recommend, depending on which of the two groups you are in:

Frequently asked questions

What is the SORA card?

It was a physical and digital debit card linked to the SORA ecosystem, meant for people who had trouble getting an ordinary bank card. Eligibility ran on residence in the EEA rather than nationality, with residents of Russia, Iran and the DPRK excluded, and identity checks required a selfie, an ID document and proof of address. The programme is now closed, so this is a description of something that no longer exists as a product.

Why was the SORA card discontinued?

The card’s own notice, dated 10 January 2026, stated that the card, the app and the card functions would stop after 30 January 2026 at 18:00 GMT. SORA Wallet was to continue. No cause was stated in the notice, and I found no official explanation of the reason — anything beyond that date and those facts is speculation.

Can I still apply for a SORA card?

No. Issuance is closed, and the card and the app’s card functions stopped after 30 January 2026 at 18:00 GMT. There is no application to complete, no tier to choose and no fee schedule that applies to a new customer. If a page is still showing you a sign-up flow, it is out of date.

Is SORA a bank?

No. SORA Biome (Bulgaria) ran the site and apps, while the card itself was issued by Unlimit EU Ltd (Cyprus), an electronic money institution licensed by the Central Bank of Cyprus under licence 115.1.3.7. An e-money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets but cannot lend, and its customer funds must be safeguarded in segregated accounts or insured — they are not bank deposits and are not covered by Cyprus Deposit Insurance.

What happened to balances left in the SORA card?

After 30 January 2026 at 18:00 GMT the app gives no access to balances. The only stated route is Unlimit support at [email protected], because the issuer holds the funds. SORA said it cannot submit release requests on your behalf. Suspended accounts may still display a balance that stays inaccessible until Unlimit completes its review.

How did the SORA card work, and what did it cost to top up?

Funding came from converting XOR to EUR or making a SEPA transfer; there was no direct crypto load onto the card. The ledger load fee was €0 and the minimum was not stated. Fees published on 17 September 2024 had card issuance and the monthly charge at €0, membership at €39 a year after the first year, international card payments at €0.90 + 1.1%, and EU/EEA withdrawals at €1.20 + 3%.

Is SORA card safe, and are my crypto keys mine?

The self-custody design was real: with SORA Wallet you kept the keys yourself, and two-factor authentication and biometrics were mentioned. That protection covers your crypto, not your card balance, which sat with the e-money issuer. Be clear about that split — self-custody does not make a card programme unbreakable, as this closure shows. Transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen private key has no recovery.

What can I use instead of the SORA card?

Three running programmes came up in my comparison: MetaMask (7.1/10) spending straight from a connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana; KAST (6.1/10) with the widest card lineup and up to 3% cashback but memberships from $1,000 to $10,000 a year; and Zeal (6.1/10) on Visa with no additional FX fee and up to 4% cashback in GNO. Check eligibility before anything else — it is where most applications fail.

Why do crypto card programmes keep closing?

Because a card depends on more than the crypto company. The network (Visa or Mastercard) licenses the issuer and can suspend the programme — in November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and in 2018 it suspended WaveCrest in Europe, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. On top of that, an issuer can suspend individual accounts where it cannot complete identity or sanctions checks, and a MiCA-authorised provider on the crypto side has no bearing on the card side at all.

Is SORA Wallet still running?

SORA’s notice said the SORA Wallet continues, and crypto held in GateHub wallets had to be withdrawn before the 30 January 2026 cutoff. I would treat that as the company’s statement rather than an independent confirmation, and I could not find an official page confirming the wallet’s current status. The card programme’s closure is documented; the wallet’s present state is not.

Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team