A free Mastercard that spends straight from your crypto — and the three things to check before you trust it with your money
Bleap is the rare crypto card where the number on the fee sheet is zero — no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no currency markup, and free cash withdrawals up to a stated monthly cap. On paper it is the cheapest way I have seen to hold a card that spends a crypto balance in an ordinary shop. It also pays cashback of up to 20% in USDC, which no bank card in Europe comes close to, and it runs on a properly licensed EU operation rather than a shell in an offshore jurisdiction.
So why is my score 7.5 out of 10 rather than 9? Because what a card promises and what it delivers are two different tables. Bleap’s support replies to complaints taking two to three weeks, users report frozen funds and blocked cards, the identity requirements are described in one place and a different way in another, and several of the most useful numbers in circulation come from third-party sites rather than from Bleap itself. This review separates the two, so you can see which claims are the company’s and which are not.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
7.5 out of 10. Bleap suits one person very well: someone who lives in the EEA (or in Mexico or Brazil), who already holds crypto or stablecoins they want to spend, and who has been priced out of — or shut out of — an ordinary bank card. For that person it is genuinely good value, because the fee structure is the most generous in this category and the cashback tiers are unusually high.
It suits you less well if you want a card for salary, standing orders and a long relationship with one bank; if you need a phone number that answers in under a day; or if the idea of spending from a wallet where you hold the keys makes you nervous rather than reassured. It is also a poor fit if you live somewhere Bleap is not yet live, because the waitlist situation is not published clearly.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Residents of the EEA and Latin America; Mexico and Brazil are live, others are “coming soon”. Unofficial sources say 31 countries and residence in the EEA or Switzerland, with citizens of several countries excluded regardless of where they live |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Issuance, monthly and maintenance all 0; 0% FX markup; bank-transfer top-ups converted with no Bleap fee; free ATM withdrawals up to EUR 400 a month |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | Bank transfer in EUR or USD, tokens from an external wallet on Solana, Base and Arbitrum, other currencies converted to USDC |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Bleap SIA in Latvia holds a MiCA CASP licence from Latvijas Banka; unofficial reporting names Unlimit as issuer. Trustpilot shows 3.5/5 from 72 reviews, support replies take 2-3 weeks, and card blocks are a recurring theme |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Instant virtual card plus a physical Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay, free cash withdrawals up to EUR 400 a month |
The pattern to notice: this card scores highest where the maths is transparent and lowest where a human being would need to help you. Cost and everyday use are 9s. Reliability and eligibility are 6s. Almost every risk I found lives in the second column.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, if you live in the EEA or in Latin America — residence is the gate, not citizenship — but the full country list is in Bleap’s Help Center rather than on the pages I read, and some residents are still seeing “coming soon”.
Bleap states that residents of the EEA and of Latin America are eligible, with Mexico and Brazil live and more countries “coming soon”. The test is residence: where you live, not what passport you hold. That matters, because it is the rule that catches people out — a UK or US citizen living legally in Spain is in a different position from the same person living in London.
Then there is the citizenship layer, and this is where the picture gets less comfortable. Third-party reporting, not confirmed by Bleap’s own pages, lists 31 countries, requires residence in the EEA or Switzerland, and states that citizens of a number of countries including the United States, the UAE, Turkey and Nigeria are excluded regardless of residence. If that report is right, a US citizen who has lived in Berlin for ten years is still refused. That is a sanctions-screening posture rather than a Bleap invention — nationality is screened separately from address precisely because issuer risk policy is applied to citizenship and country of birth too — but it means “I live in Europe” is not the same answer as “I can open this”.
Where the card company says nothing at all: the tier structure of verification, and the reasons an application can be rejected. Bleap describes one level — age, supported country, verification in the app — and does not publish a list of rejection reasons. That silence is normal for this category and unhelpful for anyone planning around it.
If you are outside the EEA, Mexico and Brazil entirely, stop reading: the card is not for you, and the “coming soon” wording is not a queue you can join from anywhere.
How to get it
Download the app, complete identity verification in it — the company says this usually takes under five minutes — and you get a virtual card instantly, with a physical one orderable afterwards. There is no branch, no appointment and no paper application.
The steps Bleap describes are: app, verification, then choose your card. The virtual card appears immediately; the physical card is ordered from the app. The card is a Mastercard debit card, and it works against fiat balances in EUR and USD, which are held as EURe and USDC.
What you will need, per Bleap: to be 18 or older, to live in a supported country, and to pass identity verification in the app. The company says verification usually completes in under five minutes and that accepted documents and proof of address are listed in its Help Center. Third-party reporting gives a more specific picture — a selfie, a government ID and proof of address, with the option of being asked for a residence permit or for the source of your funds. That last one matters: it means a large transfer from an unfamiliar source can trigger a document request that a routine job would not.
On delivery, the picture is inconsistent and you should plan around the pessimistic reading. Bleap’s homepage says physical cards ship “within 2 working days”. Bleap’s own blog describes approval timelines running from instant for the virtual card to two to four weeks for physical delivery. A third-party review notes no shipping timeframe stated on the page and reports that one App Store reviewer found physical ordering referral-gated. Shipping cost and replacement cost are not stated anywhere I could find. If the physical card matters to you — and it does if you want to pay in person without a phone — ask support for the current delivery terms in writing before you rely on them.
Fees and what a payment really costs
There is no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no maintenance fee, no subscription and no minimum balance, and Bleap adds no currency markup — so the visible cost of using this card is zero. The costs that remain are the ones you cannot see on Bleap’s own schedule: network gas, ATM operator surcharges, and whatever a third party charges on the other end.
Here is the whole fee picture as published, with the rows I could not find filled in as gaps rather than guesses.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | 0 |
| Monthly fee | 0 |
| Maintenance fee | 0 |
| Subscription or minimum balance | None |
| FX markup on international transactions | 0% |
| Bleap fee converting bank transfers | 0 |
| Converting external-wallet tokens | 0, in one tap |
| ATM withdrawals | Free up to EUR 400 a month; charge above the cap not stated |
| Spending limits | Not stated — Bleap points to the Help Center |
| Buying crypto with a bank card, Apple Pay or Google Pay | 1% processing fee (unofficial, CryptoCardHub, 11 Aug 2026) |
Three everyday payments, to show you where money actually moves:
A coffee in your own city. No fee from Bleap — there is no conversion to do, no monthly charge to amortise, no foreign exchange. If you use the cashback, that payment earns 2% back in USDC on restaurants, or 1% if the merchant falls outside the categories, paid after the merchant confirms the transaction.
A hotel in a country where the euro is not the currency, EUR 240. The FX markup is 0%, so Bleap adds nothing. But Mastercard’s own conversion rate applies, and third-party reporting notes Mastercard rates and outside charges can still land on the bill. That is the honest version of “free foreign spending”: free of *our* markup, not free of the network’s rate.
A cash withdrawal, EUR 500. The first EUR 400 in a rolling month is free; above that, what it costs is not stated, and the ATM operator may add its own surcharge. Unofficial detail worth knowing before you rely on it: the free allowance has been described as three withdrawals and EUR 400 in total per rolling month, so a single EUR 500 withdrawal might not be fully covered even if you have not touched an ATM all month. Treat EUR 400 as a monthly ceiling on convenience, not a monthly allowance.
Two structural points about this fee sheet. First, network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by Bleap — sending USDC on Solana, Base or Arbitrum costs the network’s own gas, and it comes out of your transfer. Second, buying crypto *with* a bank card inside the app is the one place a percentage appears, at 1% per unofficial reporting.
How to top it up
Three ways, and the one you use tells you what kind of user this card was built for: a bank transfer in EUR or USD, or crypto sent from a wallet you control on Solana, Base or Arbitrum. Other currencies are converted into USDC.
A bank transfer in EUR or USD is held as EURe or USDC one to one, and Bleap charges nothing to convert it. Tokens from an external wallet are converted in one tap with no fees, on the networks listed. Bleap says outright that adding money, converting and spending are free.
The gap: the minimum top-up and the network fees are not stated. If you have ever lost a deposit to a network the provider did not support, you already know why this matters — blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on the wrong network can be lost outright or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. There is no second network to fall back on here, which makes the supported-network list something to read twice before your first transfer.
There is also a savings feature worth knowing about, with a catch. Savings vaults charge 0% on withdrawal and have no lock-in, which sounds better than most savings products. But Bleap states that the savings feature sits outside its MiCA-regulated services, so MiCA investor protections do not apply to it. The USD vault is live; the EUR vault is listed as “coming soon”. And cashing crypto out to fiat exists as a help-center section whose fees and methods I did not read — while withdrawal of a card balance to a bank on closure is not stated. If you close the account, do not assume the money comes back to your account.
Paying with it every day
It behaves like an ordinary Mastercard: virtual card instantly, physical card in the app, Apple Pay and Google Pay from the virtual card, and cashback that is genuinely the largest I found in this category. Both apps exist — iOS and Android — and the homepage showed App Store 4.8 and Google Play 4.5 when I read it, with no review counts or date given on the page.
The rewards structure, in USDC:
- 20% — streaming, gaming and AI subscriptions
- 3% — rides and food delivery
- 2% — restaurants and supermarkets
- 1% — everything else
Cashback is paid after the merchant confirms the transaction, and the caps and conditions live in the cashback terms rather than on the card page. A 20% rate on subscriptions is the part that makes people stay: if you already pay for streaming or gaming services, this is a real, recurring rebate rather than a rounding error. Whether a merchant’s category coding matches the advertised tier is another matter entirely — the rate is set by how the merchant is classified, not by what you bought.
On the practical side, the virtual card goes into Apple Pay and Google Pay, which is how most people will actually use it day to day. The physical card works in shops and at machines. You can spend from a crypto balance or a fiat balance with the same card. What is not stated anywhere: which merchant categories are blocked. That is worth asking about if gambling is relevant to you — the category code covering casinos, betting and lotteries is one issuers commonly block by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies between issuers. Also not stated: how disputes and chargebacks are handled on this card.
What can go wrong
The realistic risks are support latency, frozen balances, and a regulatory perimeter that does not cover everything the app sells. The company and licensing position is solid; the operational experience reported by users is where the trouble sits.
The company and the licence. The operator is Bleap SIA, a Latvian company registered in Riga, wholly owned by Bleap Ltd in London, founded 2023. Bleap SIA holds a MiCA CASP licence — number 27-55/2026/14, granted by Latvijas Banka on 25 June 2026. That matters more than it sounds: MiCA’s CASP rules applied from 30 December 2024, and the transitional period for providers already operating under national law ran only until 1 July 2026 or until they were authorised or refused, whichever came first. Bleap having that licence means it is past that gate. The card issuer is not named by Bleap; third-party reporting names Unlimit (Unlimit EU Ltd) with Mastercard. Treat the issuer name as unconfirmed.
Support taking weeks. On Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, the score was 3.5/5 from 72 reviews, 59 of them in the last twelve months, and the company had not replied to negative reviews. An earlier reading showed 2.5/5 from 46 reviews. The themes are consistent: replies taking two to three weeks in July to September 2026, or never arriving; cards or transactions blocked and funds frozen without explanation; one SMS for adding a card to Google Wallet that never came; and a complaint that withdrawal was only possible to crypto with EURe hard to exchange (September 2026). There are positive reviews too, about the cashback working and purchases not being declined. Official incidents are not stated — I found no published enforcement action against Bleap, and equally no published record of blocks from their side.
Support is where to look first. There is a Help Center at help.bleap.finance, a contact page, a status page and in-app support. If you hold money on this card, the status page is the page worth bookmarking.
Custody: better than most, not risk-free. Bleap describes a non-custodial MPC wallet, where the key is split into shares so that no single party — including Bleap itself — holds the whole key, with no seed phrase and recovery through a secure email sign-in. That is a genuine improvement over custodial platforms, which have a documented history of failure. What is not stated: whether two-factor authentication, in-app freeze, spending controls or insurance exist in a form the company will stand behind. Do read this part carefully rather than skipping to the cashback. No single party holding the key does not mean a compromised endpoint cannot lose you money — key loss, phishing and clipboard-swapping malware that alters a copied address remain your responsibility, and transfers are irreversible with no built-in recovery.
Two regulatory gaps. The savings feature sits outside MiCA-regulated services, so MiCA investor protections do not apply to it. And because a card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, a card like this depends on two licences working at once — which is also why an issuer or programme can be suspended independently of the crypto business. It has happened in this category: Visa terminated its agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer supplying crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. Closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, and offered here only to show what the pattern looks like.
And the usual card-level annoyances. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to seven. Merchants can look up the issuing country from the card number and apply extra scrutiny if it differs from your billing address, and some decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. Address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which is another reason a purchase might fail.
What to take instead
If Bleap is not available where you live, or you want more conventional banking behaviour, three alternatives score lower but differ in what they trade away.
| Card | Score | Who it fits | What you give up |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bleap | 7.5 / 10 | EEA and Latin America residents wanting zero fees and high cashback | Support responsiveness; eligibility is narrower than the marketing suggests |
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | Sign-ups open in 45 listed countries and territories; others join a waitlist | Virtual card is free but the Metal card is $199/year |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Visa tiers with membership priced by level, for people who want a wider card-design choice | Annual membership from $1,000 for Premium and $10,000 for Private |
| Zeal | 6.1 / 10 | Spending in 150+ countries; card programme live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia, Thailand | No published fee schedule |
MetaMask is the closest in spirit. It is a Mastercard, virtual first and instant, with a Metal card that can be pre-ordered in the app after virtual approval, one card per user, issuer Monovate and card provider Crypto Life. The virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee; Metal is $199/year. It charges a “minimal fee for each transaction” — the amount is not stated on the pages I read — and no additional MetaMask fees, with no foreign transaction fee and the Mastercard rate used. It spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, naming mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT. Cashback is paid in mUSD: 1% on Virtual, and on Metal a headline 3% limited by a footnote to the first $10,000 spent and 1% after that, plus a $FLY bonus of 5X or 7X via the Blackbird dining app. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories — Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay among them — with proof of residency required; the citizenship rule is not stated, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per its FAQ. Its notable rule: “ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending.”
KAST is the one to look at if you want tiers and physical card choice — up to ten cards per user, from Visa Platinum Standard to Visa Infinite metal and gold-plated, with other designs including Pengu, Solana and Bitcoin. It is also the most expensive by a wide margin: Standard at 0 USD a year, Premium at 1,000 USD, Private at 10,000 USD, all billed annually upfront with no monthly option, plus 40 USD delivery for a Standard physical card. Its eligibility logic is the strictest here — the country list is shown at KYC rather than published, and its terms say that living in a supported country while holding an ID from a restricted region may still make you ineligible, that dual citizens with an ID from a supported country may pass, that only your own ID is accepted, and that a VPN does not bypass it. Its fees are unusually explicit for this category: stablecoin top-up 0%, USD card spend 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%, non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75% depending on your country and the transaction’s country and card programme, non-USD transactions under 25 USD at 0.10 USD, and a declined transaction for insufficient balance at 0.50 USD. Cashback is 1.5% / 2% / 3% on the first 2,000 / 10,000 / 40,000 USD a month, paid in USD, with KAST Points adding +1% or +2% on Premium and Private.
Zeal is the one with the widest reach — spending in 150+ countries, and a Visa card programme live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. It is a virtual card for online use, addable to Apple Pay, with accounts in EUR, USD and GBP. Zeal charges no additional FX fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM charges may still apply. Cashback is up to 4%, paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain — but GNO must be held in the card Safe to qualify, and rates can change. Its fee schedule is not stated on zeal.app or its App Store listing, and whether a physical card exists is not stated either.
My honest comparison: if you are in the EEA, hold crypto, and can live with slow support, Bleap beats all three on cost. If you need a card in a country Bleap has not reached, MetaMask’s 45-country sign-up list is the broadest realistic option. KAST costs a thousand dollars a year for its useful tiers, which is a different product entirely.
Who I would recommend it to
To the person who cannot get a normal bank card, holds some crypto or stablecoins, and mainly spends in one or two currencies. That is the reader Bleap is built for, and on cost it serves them better than anything else I looked at.
My checklist before I would put real money on it:
- Can you actually get it? Live in the EEA, Mexico or Brazil, and check your citizenship against the exclusions. This is where most disappointments happen, and it costs nothing to check.
- Are you comfortable with slow support? Two to three weeks is the reported norm. If a frozen balance would leave you stuck, this is the dealbreaker.
- Do you know what you cannot do? Withdrawals are free to EUR 400 a month and above that the charge is not published; blocked merchant categories are not listed; the fee above the ATM cap is not stated; the fee for withdrawing a card balance to a bank on closure is not stated. Ask support for these in writing before you need them.
- Are you treating the savings vault as uninsured? It sits outside MiCA-regulated services, and Bleap says so itself.
- Is your money your responsibility? The MPC design is good. Key loss, phishing and wrong-network transfers are still yours, and irreversible.
I would not recommend it as your only card, as a card to run a salary on, or if you need to be able to move money to a bank account quickly. Keep a second instrument for the things this one does not promise.
If you want the cashback and the zero fees but not the friction, watch two things before you sign anything: whether Bleap’s physical-card delivery becomes clearly stated, and whether Trustpilot’s recent trend moves. Both are free to check and both have been moving.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bleap card?
Bleap is a Mastercard debit card that spends a crypto or stablecoin balance. You download the app, verify your identity, get a virtual card instantly, and can order a physical one. Balances are held in EUR or USD as EURe or USDC, or you spend directly from tokens in a non-custodial MPC wallet. There is no issuance fee, no monthly fee and no currency markup.
How does the Bleap card work?
You top up a balance, then the card spends that balance — the pre-loaded model, so it cannot overdraw. Card payments route through Mastercard: the network sets the rules, an issuer holds the programme, and Bleap operates the wallet and app on top. Bleap SIA is a Latvian company with a MiCA CASP licence from Latvijas Banka dated 25 June 2026.
Is Bleap a bank?
No. It is a licensed crypto-asset service provider and payment front-end operating under Bleap SIA in Latvia, part of a UK parent, Bleap Ltd. An electronic money institution can issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend, and Bleap does not present itself as a deposit-taking bank. Card services and crypto services are regulated separately, so a crypto card often depends on two licences at once.
How do I get the Bleap card?
Download the app from iOS or Android, complete identity verification in it — the company says usually under five minutes — and your virtual card appears immediately. The physical card is ordered from the app. You need to be 18 or older and resident in a supported country. Shipping cost, replacement cost and a reliable delivery window are not stated publicly.
Does Bleap require KYC, and what documents?
Yes. Verification happens in the app and covers identity; Bleap says accepted documents and proof of address are listed in its Help Center. Third-party reporting describes a selfie, a government ID and proof of address, and says a residence permit or source of funds may be requested. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to hold back the transaction or end the relationship, which is why accounts get frozen pending documents.
Is Bleap card free?
There is no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no maintenance fee, no subscription and no minimum balance. You can spend EUR and USD, convert bank transfers and convert external-wallet tokens at no Bleap fee, and withdraw cash free up to EUR 400 a month. Not free: network gas on crypto transfers, whatever an ATM operator charges, and a reported 1% processing fee if you buy crypto with a bank card in the app.
How do I top up the Bleap card?
By bank transfer in EUR or USD, held as EURe or USDC one to one, or by sending tokens from an external wallet on Solana, Base or Arbitrum for one-tap conversion. Other currencies are converted into USDC. Bleap says adding money, converting and spending are all free. Minimum top-up and network fees are not stated, and transfers are irreversible — send only on a supported network.
Is Bleap card safe, and who controls the money?
Control is the strongest part of the offer. Bleap uses a non-custodial MPC wallet where the key is split into shares, so no single party including Bleap holds the whole key, with no seed phrase and recovery by secure email sign-in. What is not stated: two-factor authentication, in-app freeze, spending controls and insurance. You still carry the risk of key loss, phishing and wrong-network transfers.
Is Bleap card available in my country?
Officially, residents of the EEA and of Latin America, with Mexico and Brazil live and more countries marked “coming soon”, and the full list sitting in the Help Center. Unofficial reporting says 31 countries, residence in the EEA or Switzerland, and exclusion of citizens of countries including the US, UAE, Turkey and Nigeria regardless of residence. Test your case with support before funding anything.
Why do people complain about Bleap?
The complaints cluster on operations, not on fees. Trustpilot showed 3.5/5 from 72 reviews when read on 20 October 2026, with the company not replying to negative reviews, and themes of support taking two to three weeks, cards or transactions blocked, funds frozen without explanation, a missing SMS for Google Wallet, and withdrawal only to crypto with EURe hard to exchange. Positive reviews mention the cashback and that purchases were not declined.
Wallet cards – cryptocardsranked
Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team
