The ether.fi card, written for someone deciding whether to actually get one
If you have been looking at crypto payment cards and ether.fi keeps coming up, the reason is straightforward: it combines a self-custody crypto vault with a Visa card, it pays cashback in its own ETHFI token, and it is available in a wider set of countries than most alternatives. What is less obvious from the marketing is who actually gets approved, what the real cost is once you start spending, and how reliable the service has been for people already on it. This review walks through all of that.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The ether.fi card scores 6.7 out of 10 in our assessment. That is a middle-of-the-pack score for a crypto card, and it reflects a specific trade-off: the everyday experience is genuinely good, but the cost picture and the reliability record drag the overall rating down.

Here is how the score breaks down across the criteria we use:
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Broad residency coverage, but not global; citizenship rules are not stated |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Clear FX tiers and a free Core virtual card, but a $10 first-card fee in some regions and unofficial reports of higher FX and ATM charges outside the published rates |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Any supported token into a self-custody Safe, with deposits from multiple chains, though the full list of coins and networks is not public |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Trustpilot sits at 3.3 out of 5 from 47 reviews; the issuer is not officially named; cards were suspended in November 2025 after fraudulent transactions |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Wallet and Google Pay, ATM up to $5,000 per withdrawal |
Who this card suits: residents of the listed countries who already hold ETHFI or want ETHFI cashback, who are comfortable holding their crypto in a self-custody Safe, and who want a card that works through Apple Pay or Google Pay alongside a physical plastic or metal card.
Who this card does not suit: people in countries not on the residency list, anyone who needs a clearly named regulated issuer on the front of the contract, and people who cannot tolerate a service that has had card suspensions and unresolved complaints in the last year.
Who they will issue the card to
The residency list is the single most important gate. If your country is not on it, you will not be able to apply, and ether.fi says so directly. The full list of supported jurisdictions includes Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and 31 US states. Belgium and Ireland are listed as eligible, but without physical card delivery.

That is a wide net, but it is not a global one, and the rules are based on residence or jurisdiction, not citizenship. If you live in Germany but hold a passport from a country ether.fi does not list, the card-issuer’s compliance team will still run its checks, and the published page does not state how citizenship is treated. The card page is explicit on one point only: “If your jurisdiction is not listed, you will not be able to apply.”
A separate point worth flagging: even if you are approved, ATM withdrawals are blocked in North Korea, Iran, and Myanmar. This is a sanctions-driven restriction, not a product choice, and the same logic often extends to card spending more broadly; what you can spend on is shaped by both the card scheme’s rules and ether.fi’s own compliance.
The 31 US states figure also matters. US coverage is not 50-state, and the exact list is not reproduced on the main card page, so if you are a US resident it is worth confirming your state is included before you go through KYC. KYC and the rest of the sign-up process are covered in the next section.
How to get the card
The process has three steps, and the order matters. You start by depositing tokens into your ether.fi Safe, then complete identity verification, then order a virtual or physical card from inside the app. The deposit comes first because, across all regions, a minimum of $10 in crypto must land in the Safe before KYC can be completed. If verification fails, that $10 can be withdrawn, but the order of operations is unusual and worth knowing in advance.
KYC itself is a single flow, not a tiered system. You verify with a phone one-time code, an ID document (passport, national ID, or driver’s licence), a live selfie, and a residential address. Sometimes the card issuer also asks a short questionnaire. Proof of address is required in some cases, and when it is, it must be a recent document (no older than three months), and phone bills or screenshots are not accepted. Most reviews complete within 48 hours; ether.fi does not list official rejection reasons, but slow or failed cases tend to involve expired or cropped ID images, screenshots rather than scans, inconsistent personal information, and address mismatches between what you type and what your document shows.
Once KYC is done, you order the card. The card is a Visa, available as both virtual and physical. The card currency is not stated on the card pages, but the help articles refer to USD and EUR purchases, so those are the two you can spend in directly; other currencies trigger an FX conversion. When the physical card ships, the delivery country, delivery time, and shipping price are not stated in the Physical Cards article. What is stated: PO boxes are not accepted, the address must be in Latin characters, and you cannot change the shipping details after ordering. For Core tier, shipping is paid (the amount is not stated); for Luxe and above, shipping is included.
A practical note: the deposit-first structure means you cannot simply fill in your details, get approved, and then decide whether to fund the card. You commit $10 in crypto to the Safe before you know whether your KYC will pass. That is workable, but it is not how most bank cards work, and it is the kind of detail worth knowing in advance.
What it really costs
The fee structure has two layers: what the tier says, and what the help articles say about edge cases. Both matter, because the tier rates are the headline and the edge cases are where the cost actually lands on everyday spending.
Here is the published fee picture:
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| First virtual card (Core) | Free in most regions; $10 in Argentina, Angola, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Peru, Philippines, South Africa, Thailand |
| Monthly or annual fee | Not stated |
| Physical card (Core) | Free; shipping fee applies (amount not stated) |
| FX fee on top of base rate (Core / Luxe / Pinnacle / VIP) | 0.5% / 0.25% / none / none |
| EUR purchases (separate 0% FX article) | 0% |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal limit | Up to $5,000 per withdrawal |
| ATM frequency limit | 5 withdrawals per rolling 24h |
| ATM daily cap | $25,000 per rolling 24h |
| ATM (MCC 6011) per-withdrawal cap | $1,000 |
| ATM fee | Not stated in the main article; unofficial sources cite 2% with a $250/day cap |
| Free ATM withdrawals | Pinnacle and VIP: up to 10 per month; Core and Luxe: “available” with no stated free count |
Beyond that, there are user-set daily and monthly caps inside the Cash tab of the app, and per-card weekly limits by merchant category code (MCC). The weekly caps are: $500 for crypto purchases, gambling, FX, and prepaid loading; $1,000 for money transfers, stock brokers, and dating services; $3,000 for pharmacies, licensed online casinos (MCC 7800-7802), and funding crypto accounts; and $30,000 per advertising transaction. Overall tier limits are not stated.
A few everyday payments make the fee picture concrete:
- Buying coffee with Apple Pay in the US on a Core card. USD-to-USD, no FX, no conversion, no fee. The 3% cashback in ETHFI applies, capped at $2,000 per month on Core.
- Booking a hotel in Tokyo on a Core card, settled in JPY. Your card converts USD or EUR into JPY, and the published FX fee for Core is 0.5% on top of the network base rate. Unofficial sources (cryptocards.so and an OzBargain post) put that figure at around 1% for non-USD, non-EUR spend, which is double the official tier rate. ether.fi’s own published tier is the one to plan on, but the unofficial figure is what some users report seeing.
- Withdrawing cash from an ATM in Mexico on a Pinnacle card. Pinnacle allows up to 10 free ATM withdrawals per month, so the network’s ATM fee is the only charge; if you go over 10, the fee is not stated in the official article, and unofficial sources cite 2% capped at $250 per day.
The fact that some of the most important numbers (ATM fee, crypto conversion fee, shipping fee, monthly fee, overall tier limits) are not stated on the public pages is not a small gap. It means you cannot fully price the card from ether.fi’s own documentation, and you have to be ready to discover a charge on your first statement. This is where the card’s reliability score starts to matter, and we come back to it in the risks section.
How to top it up
Topping up the ether.fi card starts with the Safe, because the card does not draw directly from a bank account the way a normal debit card does. You deposit any supported token into your personal ether.fi Safe, and the card spends from there. ether.fi describes two spending modes: in Credit mode, the deposited tokens act as collateral; in Direct Pay mode, the card spends the balance directly. The full list of supported coins and networks is not stated on the card page; the help centre points to two articles, “Supported assets and networks for your Vault with Cash” and “USDC and USDT deposit networks and addresses,” but those lists are not reproduced on the main card pages.
What is stated: deposits from multiple chains are supported, and the fee you pay for the deposit itself (the network gas, the bandwidth on Tron, the like) is the blockchain’s fee, not ether.fi’s. The amount is not stated because it depends on the network and the token, and on the day. There is also a separate fiat top-up via bank transfer for some countries, with its own article and its own fees, but the country list and the fees were not read for this review.
Withdrawing your vault balance back out is its own process. You request a withdrawal by specifying the token, the amount, and the recipient address, and the withdrawal executes once the required Safe owners have signed. Cross-chain withdrawals have a separate article and their own fee structure, which is also not stated. If you want to delete your ether.fi account, the balance must be zero, there can be no active borrows, and there can be no pending card transactions; even then, there is a 14-day waiting period, and what happens to a balance that is not first withdrawn is not stated.
A practical point about top-ups that is easy to miss: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so if you send a token to a network the card does not support, or to an address on the wrong chain, the funds can be lost. Manual recovery through support is sometimes possible, but it is not guaranteed, and this is the kind of mistake that costs real money. The lesson is to send a small test amount the first time, and to read the help-centre list of supported networks before you move anything of substance.
Paying with it every day
The everyday experience is the card’s strongest area, and the reason the Everyday Use mark in the verdict sits at 9 out of 10. The card works in Apple Wallet and Google Pay, so you can add it to your phone by reading the card details and use it for tap-to-pay without the plastic. You can spend in USD and EUR directly, and any other currency triggers the tier-based FX fee. ATM withdrawals go up to $5,000 per transaction, with a 24-hour cap of $25,000 and a frequency cap of 5 withdrawals, which is generous by crypto-card standards.
Cashback is paid in ETHFI, the project’s own token, and it is locked for 7 days before it becomes claimable. The published ladders are:
- Core: 3% on the first $2,000 of monthly spend, then 1% up to $3,000, then 0.5%.
- Luxe: 3% on the first $10,000.
- Pinnacle: 3% on the first $50,000.
- VIP: 4% on the first $50,000.
- Business: 1% (lower overall, no 3% tier).
EUR purchases use lower cashback ladders than USD, reflecting the separate 0% FX article. The MCCs that are limited or excluded from cashback include 6011 (ATM), 6012 (financial institutions), 6211 (securities), 6513 (real estate), 6532 (government services), and 7995 (gambling). Gambling is capped at $500 per week rather than fully blocked. There is no stated cap on cashback payout volume, which is unusual; most cards either cap the total or the per-transaction value.
The iOS app is called “ether.fi: Crypto Card & Spend” and requires iOS 16.0 or later. On the US storefront, it carried a 4.9 rating from around 140 ratings as of 20 October 2026, which is unusually high for a crypto card app; the Google Play listing was not found for this review, so the Android rating could not be checked. A 4.9 with that volume of ratings is a positive signal for app stability, but it is one data point.
When something goes wrong with a payment, the dispute process is in-app chat with support for general disputes, and the Visa dispute process for merchant issues (non-delivery, duplicates, subscriptions). For unauthorized transactions, the advice is to delete the card and contact support, and the case moves into Visa’s fraud process. The official page says disputes “may take up to 90 days to complete,” and there is no mention of a dispute fee. Refunds come from the merchant and run on a separate timeline that has its own help-centre article.
What can go wrong
This is where the card’s overall score loses the most points. There are three distinct issues: the unresolved Trustpilot complaints, the November 2025 card suspension, and the lack of an officially named issuer.
The Trustpilot score, as of 20 October 2026, is 3.3 out of 5 from 47 reviews, which is low for a financial product and concentrated in a small sample. The themes that repeat across the reviews are: getting stuck in KYC or address verification for weeks or months, being denied after approval with a “suspected fraud” flag and no specific reason, compliance freezes with slow automated support, and at least one report of lost deposited funds during card activation. A different reading of the same Trustpilot page on the same day showed 3.5 for the same 47 reviews, which suggests the score moves around as new reviews come in, but the themes are stable.
The November 2025 incident is more serious. PANews reported that cards were suspended after fraudulent transactions, and the CEO publicly promised refunds, though the final status of these refunds remains unconfirmed. As of October 2026, no licence loss or issuer change has been confirmed by ether.fi. The legal entity and the card issuer are not officially stated on the help pages, and unofficial industry blogs disagree on the issuer, with some citing Rain and others citing Third National; ether.fi does not confirm either.
There is also the security model to think about. ether.fi uses a self-custody-style Safe vault, where withdrawals need the Safe owner’s signatures, plus passkey sign-in, email OTP, PIN, immediate card freeze in the app, and user-set daily and monthly spend limits (which take effect after a security delay). These are good controls for someone comfortable with self-custody. The Cash Protection Program reimburses unauthorized smart-contract asset movement, with caps that scale by tier ($10,000 for Core, $50,000 for Luxe, $200,000 for Pinnacle and Business, $500,000 for VIP), a programme capacity of $5 million, and a $100 claim fee that is refunded if the claim is approved. The programme is not insurance, and it excludes compromised keys, credentials, or devices, which is exactly the failure mode most users actually hit.
The support channels are in-app and web live chat, plus email at [email protected]; Pinnacle has a dedicated account-manager team, and VIP has executive support. The volume of complaints about slow support on Trustpilot suggests that, at the Core and Luxe tiers, response time is the weak point of the service.
What to take instead
Three other crypto cards cover similar ground, and a side-by-side helps locate ether.fi on the spectrum.
| Card | Score | Where it works | Cashback | Main trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ether.fi | 6.7 / 10 | Broad residency list (see above) | Up to 4% in ETHFI | Issuer not officially named; ATM fee not published |
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | Selected European countries, EEA, and the UK | Up to 2% NEXO / 0.5% BTC | Cashback only in Credit Mode and only with more than $5,000 in digital assets; ATM allowances quoted in EUR and GBP; card currency not stated |
| Xplace | 7.7 / 10 | Not stated; Visa accepted in 160+ countries | Up to 2% in USDC (Credit mode) | Country list not stated; FX is 0% only on Platinum |
| Exa | 6.2 / 10 | 45 countries and 31 US states | None stated; yield on assets | 18 ineligible countries including Russia, Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam |
Nexo is a better fit if you want a clearly named issuer (DiPocket UAB) and a Mastercard network, and you are happy to hold more than $5,000 in digital assets to unlock cashback. It is a worse fit if you want to spend in the United States, since the residency list is European, and the FX fee jumps to 2% (2.5% on weekends) outside the EEA, UK, and Switzerland.
Xplace scores higher than ether.fi in our assessment largely because its fee structure is published more transparently: 0% FX on Platinum, no origination fee on borrowing, and annual fees of $0 (Basic), $99 (Silver), $249 (Gold), and $999 (Platinum). It is a worse fit if you need a country list up front, since the page does not state where the card is and is not available.
Exa is the alternative to consider if you live in one of the 45 listed countries outside the US, want a Visa Signature product, and do not care about cashback. It is also the one to look at if you live in a country ether.fi does not cover but Exa does (Kenya, South Africa, and several others). It is a worse fit if you want cashback; the marketing line “Earn while you spend” refers to yield on collateral, not a per-transaction rebate.
Who I would recommend this card to
The honest answer is that the ether.fi card is a good product for a specific kind of reader, and a poor one for everyone else.
You should consider it if:
- You live in one of the listed jurisdictions, your country of residence is on the list, and you have a $10 crypto deposit ready to fund the Safe.
- You already hold ETHFI, or you actively want exposure to it through cashback, and you are comfortable with the 7-day lock-up and the lower cashback ladder on EUR purchases.
- You want a self-custody model where the funds stay in your Safe until the moment of payment, rather than a custodial balance on a platform.
- You plan to spend in USD or EUR, in Apple Pay or Google Pay, and you do not need a clearly named regulated issuer on the documentation.
You should look elsewhere if:
- Your country is not on the residency list, or you are a US resident in a state ether.fi does not cover.
- You need the issuer to be clearly identified on the front of the agreement, or you need a long, clean public track record of customer support.
- You want to know the full cost picture (ATM fee, conversion fee, shipping fee, monthly fee) up front, rather than discover it on your first statement.
- You would rather earn cashback in a stablecoin or in a major token like Bitcoin, not in a single project token whose price is more volatile.
The card is not a bad product. It is a product that asks you to take some specific risks in exchange for ETHFI cashback, a self-custody vault, and a wide residency list. If those three things matter to you, the 6.7 out of 10 is fair and the card is worth applying for. If any of them does not, another card on the comparison table will be a better fit.
Frequently asked questions
What is the ether.fi card?
The ether.fi card is a Visa payment card linked to an ether.fi Safe vault. You deposit crypto into the Safe and the card spends from that balance, with cashback paid in the ETHFI token. The card comes in virtual and physical form and works in Apple Wallet and Google Pay.
How does the ether.fi card work?
You deposit any supported token into your personal Safe, complete KYC, and order a virtual or physical Visa. At payment time, ether.fi converts the balance to fiat and the merchant sees a standard Visa transaction. In Credit mode the deposit acts as collateral; in Direct Pay mode the card spends the balance directly.
Is ether.fi a bank?
No. ether.fi is a crypto project, and the help pages do not name the regulated institution that issues the card. Unofficial blog sources disagree on whether the issuer is Rain or Third National. This is one of the reasons ether.fi’s reliability score is below average in our assessment.
Who owns ether.fi?
The materials we read for this review do not state the ownership structure. ether.fi describes itself as a decentralised finance project, but the entity that operates the card programme is not named on the public pages we could access.
Is the ether.fi card available in my country?
It depends on your country of residence. Supported jurisdictions include Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, the UAE, the UK, and 31 US states. Belgium and Ireland are eligible without physical delivery. If your country is not on this list, ether.fi states you will not be able to apply.
How do I get the ether.fi card?
Deposit at least $10 in crypto to your Safe, complete KYC (phone OTP, ID document, selfie, address, sometimes an issuer questionnaire), then order a virtual or physical card in the app. Most KYC reviews complete within 48 hours.
Does the ether.fi card require KYC?
Yes. KYC is mandatory before the card can be used, and a $10 crypto deposit must already be in your Safe for KYC to complete. The required documents are a phone-verified number, an ID document, a live selfie, a residential address, and in some cases proof of address.
How do I top up the ether.fi card?
You deposit any supported token from a supported network into your ether.fi Safe, and the card spends from there. The full list of supported coins and networks is in the help centre under “Supported assets and networks for your Vault with Cash” and “USDC and USDT deposit networks and addresses,” but those lists are not reproduced on the main card pages.
Is the ether.fi card free?
The first virtual card is free on Core in most regions and $10 in a list of regional-pricing countries. The physical Core card is free but shipping is paid; the amount is not stated. There is no stated monthly or annual fee on Core; Luxe costs $199/year, Pinnacle $999/year, and VIP by invitation.
How do I add the ether.fi card to Apple Wallet?
Open the app, find the card details, and follow the standard Apple Pay add-card flow. The card is also supported on Google Pay, and ether.fi states the card details can be added to both wallets.
Credit and cashback cards – cryptocardsranked
Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team
