UPay card review: the everyday promise is good, the paperwork is thin
If you have trouble getting an ordinary bank card — because of where you live, how you bank, or what documents you hold — a crypto card is one of the few remaining ways to spend from a digital balance at an ordinary shop. The UPay card is one of those. On paper it does the basic things well: virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, and it claims to support 180+ countries. Underneath that, though, the public pages are unusually quiet on the details that decide whether a card is usable — the fees, the limits, who issues it, and what happens when a payment is flagged.
I went through UPay’s own pages and the wider record to see what holds up. The short version is a middling score: genuinely convenient on the surface, frustratingly opaque underneath. Below is where that judgement comes from, section by section.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The verdict: a 6.1 out of 10
My score for the UPay card is 6.1 out of 10. That is not a bad card, but it is not one I would tell a friend to move their savings onto without reading the rest of this page first. The number is built from six criteria, each scored out of 10, and the table below shows exactly where the points come from — and where they are missing.

The card is aimed at wallet users who top up with BTC, ETH or USDT and then want to spend that balance like ordinary money. If that is you, the everyday part genuinely works: link the card to your phone’s wallet, load funds, and pay. What you are accepting is that the terms behind the convenience — the fees, the limits, the issuer, the support — are not published in a form you can read before you commit money.
Here is the score broken down, criterion by criterion:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8/10 | Claims support in 180+ countries with some countries excluded; the exact list is not published |
| Cost | 4/10 | Official fees are not disclosed; third-party figures conflict |
| Top-up options | 6/10 | Top up with BTC, ETH or USDT, USDC also listed; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 4/10 | Issuer unnamed; reviews raise freezes and false PEP flags |
| Everyday use | 9/10 | Virtual and physical cards, Apple/Google/Samsung Pay, ATM use |
| Total | 6.1/10 | Strong on the surface, weak on the paperwork |
The pattern is clear. Every criterion about how the card behaves day to day scores well. Every criterion about what it costs, who stands behind it, and what happens when something goes wrong scores badly — not because the card is bad, but because that information is simply not on the public pages. For a card you might use as your only way to pay, that gap matters.
Who will they give you the card
UPay says it does not serve residents of certain countries, and that the list can change with regulatory and issuer policies — but it does not publish which countries those are. It claims support in 180+ countries. One important constraint does apply: the KYC partner accepts only identity documents issued by the same country as the user. That single rule does more to decide who can actually get the card than the country claim does.
Because the official list is not published, the number you will find most often is unofficial. Third-party sites say “over 150 countries” (with the US, Germany, France, Argentina and Canada given as examples) and “at least 168 countries,” with availability depending on your location, eligibility and which product you pick. Nobody has published the restricted-country list. Treat every country count you meet as a claim, not a fact, and check your own eligibility at sign-up rather than trusting a headline figure.
How to get it
The stated path is short: create an account and verify your identity, choose and apply for a card, fund the wallet, then spend. Identity verification runs through Sumsub, and the check is described as taking 5–10 minutes. What you will not find stated is whether proof of address or an age check is part of it.
That last omission matters, because UPay describes only a single KYC level. There are no published tiers, no published list of rejection reasons, and no published explanation of what happens if the check comes back ambiguous. On the card itself there are virtual and physical options, personal and business, but the network is not named, and payments convert to USD, EUR, AED and others.
Unofficially, the picture is more detailed and slightly more reassuring — but also inconsistent. For one virtual card on the Stellar network, one site reports that email, phone and an identity document are required, with no proof of address and no selfie. Another reports that KYC is mandatory through the wallet app. And on the network question, third parties disagree with each other: one says Visa, another says Mastercard “wherever Mastercard is accepted,” another says both Visa and Mastercard in virtual and physical form, and another says a Visa virtual card on Stellar. None of that is confirmed by UPay’s own pages.
Here is what that means for you in practice. You should assume the signup is quick but shallow: one identity check, five to ten minutes, and no published promise of what happens if the documents you hold are unusual. If your ID is from a different country than where you live, or if you are relying on a residency or digital-residency document, expect friction. Know before you try.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the weakest part of the card, and the section I would read twice. The official cost of the card is not stated. The official fees are not stated. The card page says only that a conversion may occur during payment depending on the network and settlement — it does not say what that costs you. The home page says the card works at ATMs, but gives no fee and no allowance. Daily and monthly limits are not stated; the help-centre terms page is a stub that lists topic titles and nothing else. And there are no tiers named anywhere — only “personal and business” and “virtual and physical.”

The costs table below is the honest summary. Wherever the official answer is missing, I have written that it is not stated rather than filling the gap, because a made-up number here would be worse than no number:
| Fee or limit | What is stated |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Conversion fee / spread | Not stated; card page says conversion may occur at payment |
| Foreign-exchange fee | Not stated; marketing says “no currency conversion needed”, disclaimer says it may occur |
| ATM fee and allowance | Not stated; home page says ATMs are supported |
| Daily limit | Not stated |
| Monthly limit | Not stated |
You will, of course, find numbers elsewhere. Unofficial sources report a virtual card at $10 issuance, and a Stellar virtual card at $50 issuance with no monthly fee; a physical card at a $100 activation fee with no annual fees. On fees, one source says virtual cards carry a 2% recharge fee and a “Precious” tier 1%, another says a Premier virtual card has a flat 1% transaction fee with “no deposit or cross-border fees,” another says the wallet has a 1.5% transaction fee and a “no FX fees” policy, and another says the Stellar card charges 3% to top up and 1% for FX. The figures openly conflict — some of them contradict each other within the same description. On limits, one source says the Stellar virtual card has a $20,000 daily spend limit with no monthly cap; another says there are no limits at all.
I want to be blunt about what this means. Two or three third-party sites do not agreeing on what a card charges is a strong signal that you cannot predict your own cost. If you are going to use this card, work out a personal worst case — assume a few percent on the way in and a spread on the way out — and only then decide whether that suits you. Let me show you what that means at the till.
Picture three ordinary payments. A coffee bought with a card that draws on a balance you loaded from USDT: you will have paid whatever top-up fee applies on the way in, and a spread when the stablecoin converts to dollars, and the card’s own transaction fee if there is one — but you cannot look any of those up on UPay’s site, so you are guessing. A holiday dinner paid in euros while your balance sits in dollars: the card page says payments convert to USD, EUR, AED and others, so a conversion happens, and the fee or spread on that foreign-currency payment is not stated — the marketing line about no currency conversion and the disclaimer about conversion happening are both on the page, and neither tells you the cost. Cash from an ATM: the home page says it works, no fee is published, and one source even says ATM withdrawals are not supported on the Stellar virtual card at all.
So: three everyday payments, three places where the cost is a blank. That is not a reason to walk away — plenty of people will pay these anyway and never notice. But if you are budgeting tightly, or you are moving a meaningful amount of money, you are budgeting in the dark. Treat the unofficial figures as a range to plan around, never as a quote.
How to top it up
Topping up is where the card is most straightforward. You top up the wallet with BTC, ETH or USDT, and USDC is also listed among the supported coins. That is the whole official story: the networks are not named.
What you will not find stated is just as important as what you will: the top-up fee, the minimum top-up, and whether you can add money by card or bank transfer are all absent from the card page, the home page, and the help centre. And there is no page anywhere about withdrawing your balance or closing the account — which is, if you stop to think about it, the single most important gap on this list. You are being asked to load funds into a system that does not tell you on the public pages how to get them back out.
Unofficially, the Stellar card is said to support BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC and DOGE, and wallet top-ups are said to be possible from a bank account or an eligible Visa or Mastercard. The networks still could not be found. This is where the general rule about crypto transfers matters most, so let me put it plainly: blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send funds on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee of success. Choosing the wrong network is the single most common way people lose crypto to a card like this.
Before your first transfer, find out which network to use and write it down. If the app shows a network when you pick an asset, follow what it shows. If it does not, do not guess — ask support first. And send a small test amount before sending anything you would miss.
Paying with it every day
This is the strongest part of the card and the reason the everyday-use score is high. You can get a virtual or a physical card, personal or business. You can link Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay from the home page. You can use the card at ATMs. In normal use — load funds, tap or insert, done — it does what you want.
Two things you will not find stated undercut the picture slightly. First, blocked merchants: there is no published list of which merchant categories the card refuses. This matters more than it sounds, because a card’s category code is visible to the merchant and many providers block gambling and similar categories by policy. You may discover a category is blocked only when a payment is declined. Second, rewards: no cashback is stated on the card page. The home page lists an “Earn While You Sleep” product, but that is a title, not a card benefit — I could not verify it pays you anything for spending.
The apps are linked from upay.com for the App Store, Google Play and a direct APK download, but no rating and no number of ratings were available to me. I could not check whether the current version is stable.
So what does a normal day look like? You unlock your phone, hold it to the terminal, and the phone wallet handles the card number itself — it stores a device-specific number in the phone’s secure hardware rather than your actual card number, and each payment uses a one-time code. That part is well-trodden and works. The friction, when it comes, is not in the tap; it is in the card being declined because the merchant’s system treats the card as foreign or prepaid, or because the balance was loaded a moment ago and has not settled. Declined payments can also leave a hold on your money for several days. None of this is UPay-specific, but it is what you are signing up for when a shop’s system sees a card that does not look like a local bank card.
What can go wrong
This is the other half of the card’s story, and it is where I have the most to say. Let me separate what is official from what is not, because the gap between them is the whole point.
Officially, there are no published incidents. But user and news reports from within 2026 describe the experience as mixed. The praise is for speed and easy crypto deposits. The complaints are specific and repeat themselves: identity verification problems, accounts frozen mid-transaction with requests for documents, and false PEP flags — a check meant for politically exposed persons — with no apparent route to appeal. An unofficial aggregator site, which I cannot verify, cites Trustpilot and Google Play ratings in the region of 2.5–2.8 stars, reports crashes after an app update and a support bot with no escalation path, and warns that the name collides with unrelated companies also called UPay — a warning worth heeding precisely because it makes reviews harder to read.
Those general themes are worth knowing even outside crypto: a PEP check that fires wrongly, with no way to appeal, is a form of being blocked by a system rather than a decision. That is worth planning around.
Behind all of this sits a question the card does not answer: who actually issues it. The company behind the card is UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., listed in Denver, Colorado, USA, though the address on the site is garbled. It names licences — MSO in Hong Kong, a VASP “In-Principle Approval” in Lithuania, an MSB in the United States and an MSB in Canada. Licences are named; the issuing bank and card network are not. Beyond the Sumsub identity check, the card does not publish whether your balance is custodial, whether two-factor authentication is offered, or how freezing and safeguarding work. Those are exactly the details that tell you what happens to your money if the company has a bad day.
The support picture matches. A Help Centre, an FAQ and a support email are listed, but when I read the help-centre root page it showed only a Chinese-language heading with no article list, and the FAQ page returned an error. A company that will not publish its fee schedule or its terms is unlikely to resolve a dispute quickly.
On tax, one general point and no advice. Digital assets are treated as property for tax purposes, so converting crypto to pay for goods generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in your local currency at the value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto can therefore be a separate taxable disposal. I am not a tax adviser and this is not tax advice — but if you will spend crypto regularly, the bookkeeping is worth thinking about before you start, not after.
What to take instead
If you have read this far and decided the card’s promise outruns its paperwork, you are not stuck. Here is what the alternatives look like, drawn from the same kind of checking. Scores are on the same ten-point scale.
| Alternative | Score | The trade-off in one line |
|---|---|---|
| Bitrefill | 6.8/10 | Free card, 2% cashback, but eligibility is not published either |
| Kemy | 6.0/10 | Clear published fees, high monthly cost for the physical card |
| Tevau | 6.0/10 | Metal and gold tiers, but every detail comes from a third party |
None of these is a clean win, and each has its own gap. That is worth saying plainly: the whole category is at this stage, and picking between them is picking which kind of uncertainty you can live with.
Bitrefill scores 6.8/10, the highest of the three, and it is the most transparent about what it charges. The card is free through the app, and it offers 2% total cashback with no cap — 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase. You can buy with Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, BASE, Polygon and Li.Finance, as well as through Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa and Mastercard, and by SEPA transfer. Its card is a virtual and physical Visa in euros. Where it is vague is eligibility: the terms say access is “subject to eligibility criteria” and that “further eligibility requirements, established and verified by our partners, shall apply,” without naming them. On fees, there is a spread on crypto-to-euro conversion and a 1.99% SEPA pay-in fee, plus spreads applied by payment processors and ATM operators; an inactivity fee kicks in after 12 months without spending or cash-out.
Kemy scores 6.0/10 and does the opposite of UPay: it publishes its prices. It claims 190+ countries with “a few restrictions” you check at sign-up. It offers unlimited virtual cards (Visa on the mockups) and one physical Mastercard, contactless, accepted globally. The virtual card is $15 issuance, valid three years, plus $2 a month. The physical card is $250 issuance with DHL Express included, valid three years, one per user, plus $10 a month. Fees are listed too: a top-up of $1.50 under $100 or 1.25% from $100 (minimum $5), a 3.5% plus $1 transaction fee, and $0.80 for a failed transaction on the virtual card, with the physical card charging the same top-up (minimum $10) and the same failed-transaction fee. You can fund with USDT and USDC on the main networks, plus BTC, ETH and SOL through the on/off ramp, and with fiat via mobile money and virtual bank accounts. No cashback is mentioned. The catch is that the physical card is expensive to hold, and there is even a small conflict in its own pages, where a deposit fee is shown as 8% in a summary and 5% in a section.
Tevau scores 6.0/10 and is the one to treat most carefully, because almost everything known about it comes from an independent information site that states it is not Tevau itself. That site says “200+ countries” with availability varying by region; that the card is Visa, in Virtual, Plastic, Metal and 24K Gold versions; that prices run 20 USD virtual, 100 plastic, 199 metal and 499 gold, with fees that “can differ by card type, campaign, and region”; that moving deposited USDT to the card balance costs 1% while wallet deposits are free; and that overseas spending carries an FX rate spread that is not quantified. Funding is USDT, with the app showing which network to use but the networks not named — and funds sent on the wrong network are not recoverable. No cashback is mentioned. Take all of this as provisional until Tevau’s own pages confirm it.
If none of these fills the gap, the honest fallback is this: a card that publishes its issuer, its fee schedule, its limits and its terms in one place is worth a great deal, even if the numbers are less exciting. You are trusting an institution with your ability to spend. Clarity is a feature.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the UPay card to someone who already holds BTC, ETH or USDT, already accepts that they are in the crypto world, and wants the simplest possible bridge from a crypto balance to an ordinary tap-to-pay. For that person the everyday experience is good — virtual or physical, in your phone’s wallet, spending in dollars, euros or dirhams — and the 9 out of 10 I gave everyday use is not a courtesy.
I would not recommend it as your only means of paying, and I would be careful with it as a place to keep money you cannot afford to lose. The reason is not that I think UPay is dishonest. It is that the card asks you to fund it, and then does not tell you the three things that govern whether you can: what it costs, what the issuer is, and how to get your balance back out. No fee schedule. No issuer bank. No withdrawal page. When you hold something together, you should be able to read its terms; here you cannot.
My practical advice, if you go ahead, is to start small. Load a modest amount. Test the network before you transfer anything large. Keep a record of your transactions, because the tax treatment of spending crypto can turn each payment into a reportable disposal. And if the card is your only route to spending, treat the balance as spend-it-now money rather than money you are saving.
That is the deal on offer: a genuinely convenient card wrapped around terms you have to take on faith. For a user with crypto already and a high tolerance for friction, that trade is worth making. For anyone else, one of the cards that publishes its prices may serve you better.
Frequently asked questions
What is the UPay card?
The UPay card is a prepaid-style payment card that spends from a crypto balance rather than a bank account. You top up a wallet with BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC and the balance converts to spendable fiat. UPay offers both virtual and physical cards, personal and business, and supports Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. It is run by UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., listed in Denver, Colorado.
How does the UPay card work?
You create an account, pass a Sumsub identity check that is described as taking 5–10 minutes, apply for a card, fund the wallet, and then spend. The card behaves like a prepaid card: it draws on a balance you have loaded, so it cannot overdraw. The company says it supports 180+ countries but does not publish the list of countries it does not serve, and its KYC partner accepts only identity documents from your own country.
Is UPay a bank?
No — it is not described as a bank. It is a card programme manager or front-end for a crypto wallet, and the bank that actually issues the card is not named on the pages I read. The company lists licences including MSO in Hong Kong, a VASP approval in Lithuania, and MSB registrations in the United States and Canada. Because the issuer is not disclosed, I cannot tell you who stands behind the card if it fails.
Who owns UPay?
The company behind the card is UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., listed in Denver, Colorado, USA, though the address on its site is garbled. It names licences in Hong Kong, Lithuania, the United States and Canada. Be aware that unrelated companies also use the name UPay, which is one reason online reviews about “UPay” can refer to something other than the card.
Is the UPay card available in my country?
The company claims support in 180+ countries and says it does not serve residents of certain countries, but it does not publish the list. Third-party sites say “over 150 countries” and “at least 168 countries,” but those are unofficial and unconfirmed. Availability also depends on your eligibility and which product you want. The reliable test is to attempt sign-up — and note that your ID must be issued by the country you are in.
Does the UPay card require KYC?
Yes, it does. Identity verification is handled by Sumsub and takes about 5–10 minutes. You submit an identity document issued by the same country as your account. One KYC level is described, and no tiers, proof-of-address requirement or rejection reasons are published. User reports in 2026 describe false PEP flags and accounts frozen mid-transaction requesting documents.
How much does the UPay card cost?
Officially, the cost is not stated. Unofficial sources quote a virtual card at $10 issuance, a Stellar virtual at $50, and a physical card at a $100 activation fee with no annual fees. Recharge and transaction fees are quoted variously at 1%, 2% and 3%, and the figures conflict between sources. Treat these as a range to plan around, never as a quote, and assume a conversion spread at payment.
How do I top up the UPay card?
You top up the wallet with BTC, ETH or USDT, and USDC is also listed. The networks are not named on the official pages, which matters: transfers are irreversible, so sending on the wrong network can lose the funds. Unofficially, bank account and eligible Visa or Mastercard funding are supported. Send a small test amount first, and follow whatever network the app displays.
Is the UPay card safe and worth it?
The everyday use is good — virtual and physical cards, phone wallets and ATM access — which is why I scored it 9/10 there. But it publishes no fee schedule, no issuer bank and no withdrawal page, so you cannot verify what it costs or how you get money back out. Reviews describe freezes and false PEP flags. I would treat it as a convenient bridge for crypto you already hold, not as a place to keep money.
How do I withdraw money from UPay?
I could not find a page describing it. There is no public page on withdrawing your balance or closing your account, which is a real gap given that you are asked to load funds. Before you deposit anything significant, ask support directly how to withdraw and how long it takes — and if you cannot get a clear answer, that uncertainty is itself an answer.
Virtual cards – cryptocardsranked
Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team
