A reliable everyday card for EU residents who spend straight from a crypto balance — with a score of 7.2 out of 10
The Trade Republic Card is, in plain terms, a Visa payment card linked to your Trade Republic crypto brokerage account — you can pay with crypto directly, and third-party reviews confirm Apple Pay, Google Pay, and three card versions (virtual, Classic, and a metal “Mirror”). It’s a genuinely good everyday card for EU residents who already hold crypto with Trade Republic and want to spend it without manually converting first. But it only scores 7.2 out of 10 because several important details — limits, delivery times, KYC rules, and many fees — are not stated in Trade Republic’s readable public pages, and I had to rely on unofficial sources to fill the gaps.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score breaks down as follows: who can get it (5/10), cost (8/10), top-up options (5/10), reliability and complaints (9/10), and everyday use (9/10).
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5/10 | Germany/EU only, site in en-de and en-nl; country list not disclosed on official pages |
| Cost | 8/10 | No official amounts published; unofficial: virtual 0 EUR, Classic 5 EUR one-time, Mirror 50 EUR, no annual fee, no FX markup, 1% card top-up |
| Top-up options | 5/10 | Can spend crypto held with Trade Republic; coin list not disclosed; unofficial: SEPA free, card top-up 1% |
| Reliability and complaints | 9/10 | Issuer is Trade Republic Bank GmbH, Berlin; Trustpilot 4.6/5 from 67,608 reviews; card-specific complaints absent |
| Everyday use | 9/10 | Unofficial: virtual, Classic, and metal Mirror cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, free ATM withdrawals over 100 EUR worldwide |
| Total | 7.2/10 | Strong card from a regulated broker; gaps in published detail drag it down |
Who It Suits — and Who Should Look Elsewhere
This card is built for EU residents who hold crypto with Trade Republic and want to spend that balance directly. If you fall into that group, the card is solid: the issuer is Trade Republic Bank GmbH in Berlin, the Trustpilot score is 4.6 out of 5 from 67,608 reviews, and there are no card-specific complaint patterns in the visible reviews. One reviewer simply says “Card works worldwide.”
You should look elsewhere if:
- You live outside the EU — Trade Republic is a German/EU product (en-de, en-nl site versions), and the official pages don’t list which countries are eligible
- You want a specific card network confirmed — Trade Republic’s readable pages don’t state it (unofficial reports say Visa)
- You need to know your exact delivery timelines or KYC requirements in advance — none of this is in readable official pages
- You’re in the US or UK and need something else entirely — the alternatives below serve different regions
The 5/10 “who can get it” score reflects a genuine gap: Trade Republic’s readable pages don’t disclose the country list, so you can’t easily confirm eligibility before applying.

Who Will Give You the Card?
The short answer: EU residents, mostly — but Trade Republic doesn’t publish the exact country list in its readable pages. The product is Germany/EU based, with site versions in en-de (English-German) and en-nl (English-Dutch), which suggests it’s built for EU markets.
What you won’t find on official pages:
- A definitive country eligibility list
- Your specific KYC requirements
- Whether you’re eligible based on citizenship vs. residence
This is why the “who can get it” score is only 5/10 — not because eligibility is restrictive, but because the official pages leave too much unclear. If you’re not sure whether your country qualifies, the only way to know is to start the application process and see.
How to Get It
The application process exists, but most of the practical details aren’t in Trade Republic’s readable public pages. What you can confirm:
- The card is issued by Trade Republic Bank, Berlin — a named legal entity, not a mystery shell
- Virtual and physical versions exist (unofficial: virtual, Classic, and metal “Mirror”)
- You apply through the Trade Republic app or website after opening an account
What the official pages don’t state in readable text:
- Network (unofficial: Visa)
- Whether you choose virtual or physical during application
- KYC steps and verification process
- Delivery times for physical cards
- How to activate the card
Unofficial sources (kreditkartenheld.com, July 2026; neuebanken.de) add a few details:
- The virtual card is usable immediately after account opening
- Replacement costs the same as the original: 5 EUR for Classic, 50 EUR for Mirror — for loss, theft, or expiry
- Delivery time is not stated even in these unofficial sources
So: the process works, but you won’t get precise logistics info before signing up.
What It Really Costs
There’s no official fee schedule published — the “no monthly fee” claim comes entirely from third-party reviews. Official amounts are not stated, which is why the cost score is 8/10 rather than higher: the card is probably cheap, but Trade Republic doesn’t confirm that in writing.
Here’s what the unofficial sources (kreditkartenheld.com, 20 July 2026; reisetopia.de and neuebanken.de agreeing on the core figures) say:
| Fee or limit | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | 0 EUR | Unofficial |
| Classic card issuance | 5 EUR one-time | Unofficial |
| Mirror (metal) card issuance | 50 EUR one-time | Unofficial |
| Annual or monthly fee | None | Unofficial |
| Foreign-currency surcharge | None (official Visa rate used) | Unofficial |
| Card top-up fee | 1% of amount | Unofficial |
| SEPA transfer top-up | Free | Unofficial |
| ATM withdrawal 100 EUR or more | Free worldwide at Visa ATMs | Unofficial |
| ATM withdrawal below 100 EUR | 1 EUR fee | Unofficial |
| Daily spending limit | 1,500 EUR | Unofficial |
| Weekly spending limit | 6,000 EUR | Unofficial |
Unofficial reports also say there’s no cap on ATM withdrawal amount or count, though the ATM operator may charge their own fee on top.
Now, three everyday payments and what actually applies:
1. Buying a 30 EUR coffee in Berlin
Card-funded, no conversion needed (you’re spending EUR). No fee. Clean.
2. Buying a 50 USD book online from a US website
Your EUR balance converts at the Visa rate. Unofficial reports say no foreign-currency markup. You get the standard Visa rate with no added surcharge — that’s genuinely competitive, but again, it’s not officially confirmed.
3. Withdrawing 80 EUR from an ATM in Paris
Below the 100 EUR threshold, so you’d pay a 1 EUR fee (unofficial). Withdraw 100 EUR or more and it’s free (unofficial), though the ATM operator might charge their own.
The unofficial top-up costs matter more than most people expect: topping up by card, Apple Pay, or Google Pay costs 1% of the amount. SEPA transfers are free.
How to Top Up
You don’t need to manually convert — you can spend crypto held with Trade Republic directly with the card. A press release confirms customers can use crypto for card payments, though the list of supported coins isn’t disclosed.
Unofficial details about top-up options:

- SEPA transfer: free
- Card, Apple Pay, or Google Pay: 1% of the amount
- Spending crypto directly: supported, coin list not stated
What the official pages don’t say:
- Whether there are withdrawal fees
- Whether stablecoin top-ups work
- Which specific coins can fund card payments
If your spending is mostly crypto you already hold, the top-up question may be moot — you just pay. If you’re moving fiat in, use SEPA to avoid that 1% card fee.
Paying With It Every Day
For day-to-day spending, this card performs well. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported (unofficial), and the card can be added directly in the app (unofficial, neuebanken.de, 2026).
Rewards structure — this is where official and unofficial sources differ:
Official (press release, 14 Nov 2025): 2% Crypto Saveback on card spend, reinvested into a savings plan, up to 1,500 EUR monthly spend.
Card page: 1% Saveback on card payments.
Unofficial (neuebanken.de and other German reviews, 2026): 1% Saveback into a savings plan of at least 50 EUR/month, capped at 15 EUR/month. Not paid on transfers, ATM withdrawals, investments, top-ups, PayPal, gambling, and quasi-cash transactions.
One review says crypto-funded payments earn 2% with a 30 EUR cap since end of 2025 — partly consistent with the official 2% press release announcement.
What the official pages don’t state:
- Wallet support details or blocked merchant categories (MCC)
- App quality or user experience
- Chargeback or dispute process
- Whether the 1% or 2% rate applies to which transactions
For everyday use, the wallet support and merchant acceptance are solid. Just check whether Saveback matters to you — the 15 EUR/month cap on the 1% tier is modest.
What Can Go Wrong
The card itself has a clean complaint record, but the broader Trade Republic service has real friction points.
The good news: No complaint found about the card’s crypto spending specifically. The visible Trustpilot reviews are mostly positive; the latest (20 Oct 2026) includes “Card works worldwide.”
The problems that exist:
- Slow or hard-to-reach support — general Trade Republic complaint, not card-specific
- High crypto spreads — general complaint about the brokerage side
- Hard-to-resolve account blocks — general complaint
- Rising BaFin complaints — German press reports, date unclear
- A July 2026 Portuguese complaint — user sent crypto to a deposit address without network warning (this is a top-up issue, not a card payment issue)
- Saveback terms changes — GIGA reports Trade Republic changed Saveback terms and a user lost their 1% (unofficial, date not specified)
The support situation is particularly relevant if something goes wrong with a card payment. The customer service link exists, but channels, languages (Russian), and hours aren’t readable on the public pages.
What’s not stated officially: Security features, support hours, or what happens during disputes.
The general support issues are the biggest risk for card users — not card-specific problems, but the friction you hit when something needs fixing.
Alternatives to Consider
RedotPay (6.9/10) — for users outside the EU who need broader country coverage. Virtual card 10 USD, physical 100 USD. Transaction fee 1%, non-default currency 1.20%. 5 USD welcome reward. Top-up via on-chain crypto or credit card purchase in-app. Has strict KYC country lists (46+ countries excluded).
Bitpanda (6.5/10) — for euro-area residents who want a simpler physical card. Visa debit, EUR only, one active card. Reissue 5.90 EUR. Spends from a chosen asset (crypto, precious metals, or EUR) converted at payment. 1% cashback on crypto spending (page summary says “up to 2%” — unreconciled).
Wirex (6.7/10) — for users in the UK, EEA, APAC, or Singapore. Virtual and physical cards. Card issuance free in most regions. Metal card available (Visa Signature debit). Cryptoback in WXT: Standard 0.5%, Premium 3%, Elite up to 8%. No annual or FX fees claimed, though the FX rate is shown in-app. Cash withdrawals not permitted in Singapore.
Trade Republic wins if: You’re an EU resident with crypto already on the platform and value the free ATM withdrawals and direct crypto spending.
RedotPay wins if: You’re outside the EU and need broader geographic coverage, though the fees are higher.
Bitpanda wins if: You want a simpler, EUR-only card with straightforward crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment time.
Wirex wins if: You’re in the UK or APAC and want the metal card tier with higher cashback rates.
Who I’d Recommend It To
I’d recommend the Trade Republic Card to EU residents who:
- Already hold crypto with Trade Republic and want to spend it directly
- Need a reliable Visa card for everyday use (coffee, groceries, travel)
- Want free ATM withdrawals over 100 EUR
- Value Apple Pay and Google Pay integration
- Don’t mind unofficial fee information and variable Saveback terms
I’d steer you toward RedotPay, Bitpanda or Wirex if:
- You’re outside the EU and want confirmed country eligibility
- You need published, official fee schedules
- You want clearer KYC requirements upfront
- You’re in the US or UK
The card itself is well-built and reliable. The friction is in the gaps — unofficial fee information, undisclosed country lists, and the general support issues that Trade Republic has.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Trade Republic Card?
The Trade Republic Card is a Visa payment card issued by Trade Republic Bank GmbH in Berlin that lets you spend crypto held in your Trade Republic brokerage account directly at merchants. You don’t need to manually convert to fiat first — the card draws on your crypto balance. Third-party reviews confirm Apple Pay, Google Pay, and three card versions: virtual, Classic, and a metal “Mirror” version.
How does the Trade Republic Card work?
You open a Trade Republic account, get verified, and request the card in-app. When you pay, the crypto in your account is converted at the transaction moment. A press release confirms you can spend crypto directly, though the supported coin list isn’t officially disclosed. The virtual card is reportedly usable immediately after account opening, while physical Classic and Mirror cards arrive by post.
Is Trade Republic a bank?
Trade Republic operates through Trade Republic Bank GmbH, a German bank entity based in Berlin at Brunnenstrasse 19-21, 10119 Berlin. This bank entity issues the card. However, the readable official pages don’t specify the licence details or the BIN sponsor structure, so the full regulatory picture isn’t clear from what’s publicly stated.
Who owns Trade Republic?
Trade Republic is a German fintech broker, known initially as a stock trading platform before expanding into crypto. The card is issued by Trade Republic Bank GmbH in Berlin. The company is regulated in Germany and operates across the EU through its German banking licence, serving customers in multiple European markets through localized site versions.
Is the Trade Republic Card available in my country?
The card is a Germany/EU product — Trade Republic operates en-de and en-nl site versions, which suggests EU market focus. However, the official pages don’t list eligible countries explicitly. If you’re in the EU, your chances are good. If you’re outside the EU, the answer is almost certainly no, though you’d need to start an application to confirm. The official country list is simply not disclosed in readable pages.
Can I use the Trade Republic Card in the United States?
Almost certainly not. Trade Republic is a German/EU product and doesn’t serve US customers. If you’re in the US, you’d need a US-compatible crypto card instead. RedotPay explicitly excludes US citizens from their KYC process. For US residents, look at US-based options like Coinbase Card or Cash App Card instead.
How do I top up the Trade Republic Card?
If you already hold crypto with Trade Republic, you don’t need to top up — just spend directly. If you’re adding fiat, unofficial sources say SEPA bank transfers are free, while topping up by card, Apple Pay, or Google Pay costs 1% of the amount. Use SEPA transfers to avoid that fee. The official pages don’t detail top-up limits or methods in readable text.
Is the Trade Republic Card free?
Unofficial reviews (kreditkartenheld.com, July 2026) say the virtual card is free, the Classic card costs 5 EUR one-time, and the metal Mirror card costs 50 EUR one-time. There are reportedly no annual or monthly fees. The official Trade Republic pages don’t publish these amounts, so all fee information comes from third-party sources rather than the card issuer itself.
How do I add the Trade Republic Card to Apple Wallet?
Third-party German reviews (neuebanken.de, 2026) say Apple Pay is supported and the card can be added directly in the Trade Republic app. The process is typically: open the app, go to your card settings, select “Add to Apple Wallet,” and confirm via Face ID. Official Trade Republic pages don’t detail the exact steps in readable text.
Is the Trade Republic Card worth it?
For EU residents who already hold crypto with Trade Republic, yes — the combination of free ATM withdrawals over 100 EUR, direct crypto spending, and no annual fee makes it worthwhile. The main caveats are that many fee details are unofficial, Saveback caps are modest (15 EUR/month on the 1% tier per unofficial reports), and general Trade Republic support issues exist. If you’re outside the EU or need confirmed fee schedules, the alternatives may serve you better.
*Review compiled from official Trade Republic pages, press releases, user reviews, and third-party German financial blogs. All fees and limits not marked “unofficial” come from Trade Republic’s own materials; those marked unofficial are from third-party sources and should be verified with the issuer. Conditions current as of the date of review.*
App and neobank cards – cryptocardsranked
Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team
