A Solana-settled Visa card with real fee transparency and no cash option

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have been searching for an ordinary bank card and not finding one — because of where you live, what documents you hold, or simply because your bank will not open an account — a crypto card is one of the routes people end up looking at. Xplace is one of those routes. It is a Visa card, in four tiers from free to $999 a year, that spends a stablecoin balance sitting on the Solana network, and it also offers a credit mode where the card borrows against holdings you keep there. I went through the card’s public pages, its card terms and what its users say, and this is what I found — including the places where the card itself does not tell you something, and where what circulates online contradicts what is written in the terms.

Xplace works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 7.7 out of 10, and the gaps are not where you would expect

I scored Xplace 7.7 out of 10. That is a good score for this category, not a perfect one, and the shape of it matters more than the number. Xplace scores 9 on who can get the card, 8 on cost, 8 on top-up options, 6 on reliability and complaints, and 7 on everyday use. Those marks are the honest summary: this card is easy to get, unusually transparent on fees in writing, and flexible about what you can load — but it comes with a thin physical-card story, no cash at all, and a support record that users complain about.

Who it suits: you already live and transact on Solana, you want to spend stablecoins day to day without juggling exchange accounts for every coffee, and you would rather see a fees table in the terms than guess. Someone who wants credit against holdings, understands that this is a loan and not free money, and can live without an ATM.

Who it does not suit: you need cash withdrawals. The card terms say cash advances are not available, and that includes ATMs. If your card’s main job is to get money out at a cash machine, Xplace cannot do it, and no tier will change that. It also does not suit anyone who needs a card in their hand quickly: the virtual card is instant, but the physical card is only live for Silver, with Gold and Platinum described as coming soon, and delivery quoted at 7–14 business days depending on the region. And if your country is on the wrong side of the eligibility line, nothing else on this page matters.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 The card publishes no country list and says only that “services are not available in all jurisdictions”; Visa acceptance is 160+ countries, which is a broad net with a soft edge to it
Cost 8 / 10 Basic is free, Silver $99 a year, Gold $249, Platinum $999; the card terms show 0% Foreign Exchange Fee, 0% Cross Border Fee and 0% Foreign Transaction Fee, and there is no origination fee on borrowing — but there is no cash option at all
Top-up options 8 / 10 Deposits in BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks, all on Solana, which is a genuinely wide choice for a single network
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Trustpilot 4.1 out of 5 across 56 reviews, Google Play 3.5; complaints cluster around hidden fees and support responsiveness, which is exactly what a card’s front page should not be generating
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual card instantly, physical card for Silver with Gold and Platinum “coming soon”, Apple Pay and Google Pay built in — balanced against the total absence of cash withdrawals
Total 7.7 / 10 A strong card for stablecoin spenders, a poor fit for anyone who needs cash

A word on the audience the card is clearly built for: Solana users who want to spend stablecoins or use credit. That is not a small niche — it is one of the busiest chains in crypto — but it does mean your life has to be compatible with Solana for this to be convenient rather than fiddly.

Will they give you the card?

Partly, and the honest answer is that the card itself will not tell you in a way you can rely on. There is no country list on the public pages. What is stated is that “services are not available in all jurisdictions” and that Visa is accepted in 160+ countries. That second number is about where the card works once you have it, not about whether you can open an account — a distinction that catches a lot of people out when they read marketing pages.

What circulates on third-party sites goes further. According to CryptoCardHub (24 Aug 2026), 162 countries are listed as available and 34 are closed, with Russia and India named among those where XPlace accounts are “explicitly unavailable”. That is unofficial information, not confirmed by the card, and the same source makes a point I would underline in my own review: a negative list does not prove that every country absent from it is actually onboardable. An unlisted country may be open, may be closed, may be open to applications that are then refused. If your country is not on any list you can find, the only reliable test is whether the sign-up flow accepts your details and your documents.

So the practical answer to “will they give me the card” is: probably, if you are in a normal market and your documents are normal; but you will not be able to check from the outside, and if your country is one of a handful that are restricted, no amount of reading will substitute for asking. One more thing the card does not state: nothing in its public pages spells out whether nationality, residence, or both govern eligibility. For anyone whose situation is complicated — a citizen of one country living in another — that gap is worth asking about before you upload documents.

How to get it

The stated process is “register and verify”, and the card says this takes minutes. The virtual card activates instantly after sign-up. That is the whole of what is published. What is not stated: which documents are required, whether proof of address is required, the age threshold, any verification tiers, how long review actually takes in practice, and the grounds on which an application could be refused. I would rather tell you that plainly than invent a checklist the card does not publish.

On the card itself: it is a Visa, available as a virtual card that appears immediately, and as a physical card. The physical Silver is live; Gold and Platinum physical cards are marked as coming soon. Delivery is quoted at 7–14 business days depending on the region. Delivery countries are not stated, delivery cost is not stated, and the replacement fee is listed in the terms only as “fees for Card issuance or replacement” without an amount — so if you lose the card, the price of a new one is something you would have to ask support.

There are two spending modes, and this is the part of Xplace that differs most from ordinary cards. Cash mode spends your stablecoin balance directly. Credit mode borrows against the holdings you keep with Xplace. The second one is a loan, not a feature of the card — you are taking on interest and, depending on the collateral, the risk that it is liquidated. I will come back to this in the risks section, because it is where I would be most careful.

The card currency is not stated. That is not a small omission: it determines what you see on your statement and how a foreign purchase is treated.

Fees and the true cost of a purchase

Here is where Xplace does something I wish more cards did. The card terms contain a table showing 0% Foreign Exchange Fee on non-USD transactions, 0% Cross Border Fee and 0% Foreign Transaction Fee. The card also says there is no hidden spread and no FX games when you spend a stablecoin balance. On paper, that makes Xplace one of the cheapest cards in this category to spend from.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Xplace payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Two caveats sit on top of that, and you should hold both.

The first is that the card’s own front page says only “0% FX on Platinum”. If you read the marketing page rather than the terms, you could reasonably conclude that the zero-fee treatment belongs to the top tier alone. The terms state the zero fees without a tier qualifier. Official third-party comparison data, from CryptoCardHub citing an app comparison in August 2026, lists FX by tier as: Basic not confirmed, Silver 0.5%, Gold 0.25%, Platinum 0% — which directly contradicts the terms. I cannot reconcile those two, and I would not want to guess. If FX cost matters to you, ask Xplace which reading is correct before you commit $249 or more a year.

The second caveat is that the conversion fee itself is not stated. “No hidden spread” is a promise about the exchange rate; it is not a published conversion charge.

Item What the card and its terms say
Issuance — Basic Free
Annual fee — Silver $99/y
Annual fee — Gold $249/y
Annual fee — Platinum $999/y
Borrowing origination fee None (“No origination fee”)
Conversion fee Not stated
Foreign Exchange Fee 0% (non-USD) per the card terms table; page itself says only “0% FX on Platinum”
Cross Border Fee 0% per the card terms table
Foreign Transaction Fee 0% per the card terms table
ATM / cash advance Not available under the card terms; any ATM fee amount is not stated
Monthly spending limit Basic $2,000 · Silver $20,000 · Gold $200,000 · Platinum $750,000
Who sets the limit “Your spending limit is generally set by Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ”; the issuer may set additional limits and may change them at any time

Three everyday payments, and what applies to each.

A coffee in your own country. You tap, the merchant receives a normal card payment, and the balance behind it is stablecoins. Nothing is stated to be charged beyond the payment itself, and the “no hidden spread” line applies.

A subscription in a currency other than dollars. The terms say the card association converts foreign-currency transactions into US dollars, with the fee table showing 0% across the FX, cross-border and foreign-transaction lines. There is still a conversion at whatever rate the network applies on the day, and the card’s own conversion fee is not stated.

Anything at a cash machine. It fails. Cash advances and balance transfers are not available under the card terms, so this is not a fee question but a capability question.

What the tiers add on top of the fee, and here is the full picture: Basic at no cost gives a $2,000 monthly limit and 0.5% Credit-mode cashback, with no lounge and no Fast Track. Silver at $99 a year gives $20,000, 1% cashback, standard concierge and one free lounge visit a year. Gold at $249 gives $200,000, 1.5%, a personal concierge, four lounge visits and two Fast Track entries a year. Platinum at $999 gives $750,000, 2%, VIP priority concierge, unlimited lounges and five Fast Track entries a year.

That is the shape of it: you are mostly buying a limit. If you are spending more than $2,000 a month, Silver at $99 is where the card starts to make sense; if you are spending far more and using concierge or lounge access, the higher tiers earn their keep; if you are spending a little, Basic is genuinely free.

How to top up

This is the card’s strongest practical feature and the reason it scored 8. You deposit BTC (as cbBTC), ETH (as wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT or xStocks, and all of it happens on the Solana network. Being able to hold and spend JitoSOL or xStocks — tokenised assets, not just dollars — is not something most cards in this category offer.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Xplace starts with a transfer to the right network

A general warning that applies to any card with this setup, and to Xplace particularly: blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network Xplace does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost, or need manual recovery through support with no guarantee. One detail worth knowing from the wider category: gas fees on Ethereum must be paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot actually send it. On Solana this problem is smaller, which is one of the practical arguments for a Solana-based card.

What is not stated: the deposit or top-up fee, the minimum top-up, and whether there are any fiat top-up options at all — bank transfer, card, or otherwise. That last one is the question I would ask first if you are not already holding crypto. The card markets itself to people who have assets on Solana, and everything about the top-up design reflects that.

On withdrawals, the card says you can “withdraw the moment you decide” with “no lock-ups”. The same page also says withdrawals depend on protocol liquidity and may be temporarily limited during market stress, which is the honest version of the same promise. Withdrawal fees are not stated, and what happens to a balance if you close your card is not stated — the terms only tell you to surrender or destroy the card.

Paying with it every day

The virtual card activates instantly and is the practical daily tool. Apple Pay and Google Pay are described as native, which means you can add the card to your phone wallet and pay without handling plastic — and given the state of the physical card, that is probably how most people will use Xplace.

The app is on the Apple App Store and Google Play. Ratings are not shown on the official page; the official site just links to both stores.

Blocked merchants are worth reading before you assume anything works. The card’s footer links to a “Blocked Merchants” document, and its contents are specific rather than vague. Automatically declined merchant category codes include explosives, small arms, wire transfers, pawn shops, gambling and lotteries, money transfer services, escort and massage services, and political, labour and religious organisations. Named merchants blocked include eToro, Skrill, Neteller, Wish.com, MoonPay and Wise, plus a “dynamic list” that can change.

That list has teeth for anyone who moves money rather than spending it. If part of your use of a card is moving funds between services, several of the standard routes are closed here — and it is worth checking against your own habits before you rely on it. This is a policy block, not a law: many issuers block gambling and similar categories by choice, and the list differs from issuer to issuer.

Cashback in Credit mode is by tier: 0.5% on Basic, 1% on Silver, 1.5% on Gold, 2% on Platinum, paid in USDC to your wallet at settlement. Cashback in Cash mode is not stated — so if you spend your balance, do not assume the same rate applies.

One thing every card user needs and not everyone reads: you must report any disputed charge or error within 60 days of the charge being posted. Chargebacks resolved in your favour are credited to your XPlace account. Sixty days is not long, and it runs from when the charge appears, not from when you notice it.

What can go wrong

The credit mode is a loan, and that is where the real exposure sits. A secondary guide, penchan.co, reviewed 2 Oct 2026 and unverified, describes Credit Mode as a collateral-backed loan with interest and liquidation risk. The same source says the Drift lending protocol was hacked, affecting users, and that XPlace moved to Kamino in May. Independent of whether every detail there is current, the structure is the point: if you borrow against holdings, a sharp fall in the collateral can trigger a sale at the worst possible moment. Treat Credit Mode as a credit product and read its terms as one.

Support and fee transparency are the loudest complaints. Trustpilot shows x.place at 4.1 out of 5 across 56 reviews as I read it on 20 Oct 2026, with themes including September 2026 reports of hidden fees (two stars), slow support in August and September, incoming SEPA transfers rejected in October 2026 without a stated reason, and one user unable to add the card to Apple Wallet in September. Google Play sits at 3.5 out of 5 across 35 ratings. There is also a separate user report giving roughly 4.4 out of 5 from 10 reviews on x.place and 4.3 out of 5 from 9 on xplace.finance, Google Play 3.6 out of 5 from 40 reviews with at least one scam claim — lower review counts, but the direction is consistent. No Reddit threads were found, which tells you less than it sounds. Official incident reports are not stated, and no regulatory actions are listed.

The company behind the card is a programme manager, not a bank. Xplace is run by Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ, Meydan Free Zone, Dubai, UAE, licence no. 2527237.01. The card is issued by Third National under a programme managed by Signify Holdings, Inc. The site says plainly that Xplace is not a bank, licensed lender or investment firm. That structure is normal for this category — the card network routes payments, the issuer holds the programme, and the crypto brand markets it — but it means your contract is with a chain of entities, and if the programme is wound down, you get a notice period, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. Visa terminated its agreements with FTX in November 2022 and that card programme was wound down; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer for crypto brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018. It has happened.

Non-custodial claims cut both ways. The card states that “XPlace does not hold your funds” and “XPlace cannot freeze, seize, or move your funds”. Take that at face value and it is a real advantage: you keep control of the assets. But note what is not stated alongside it — two-factor authentication, in-app card freeze, spending controls, and insurance are all not stated. So the assets being beyond the company’s reach does not mean the card credentials are. The usual safeguards for a payment card are not documented here, which is a gap in a product whose selling point is control.

Terms you are asked to accept late. International card terms from October 2025 list penalty fees, including a late payment fee of up to $40 and a returned payment fee of $29. Those are credit-mode amounts, and they are the kind of figure you only notice when you have already missed something.

Practical card failures. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address a buyer types against the issuer’s records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which is one reason an online payment can fail on a card issued from Dubai. And merchants can decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright, because the card’s first six or eight digits identify the issuing institution and country and some shops apply extra scrutiny when it does not match the billing address. None of that is Xplace’s fault, and all of it will happen to some people.

Taxes are yours. In the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so spending crypto on goods and services generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction — which means each card payment funded from crypto can be its own disposal. I am not giving tax advice; I am telling you it exists so it does not surprise you. Elsewhere the treatment differs, and this is worth checking where you live.

What to take instead

None of these is a straight swap. Xplace’s combination — Solana deposits including tokenised assets, four tiers, zero fees in the terms, and a credit mode — is not something the alternatives match feature for feature. Here is how they compare on the things that decide it.

Card Score Where it is available Card and fees What it costs you to join
Xplace 7.7 / 10 Country list not stated; services “not available in all jurisdictions”; unofficial: 162 available, 34 closed, Russia and India named Visa, virtual instant and physical (Silver live, Gold and Platinum coming soon); 0% FX, cross-border and foreign-transaction fees per terms; no cash advances Basic free; Silver $99/y, Gold $249/y, Platinum $999/y
Nexo 6.3 / 10 Residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”; no list on the page Virtual and physical, issued by DiPocket UAB; FX 0.2% on weekdays for EEA/UK/CH and 2% elsewhere, 0.7% and 2.5% at weekends; crypto conversion fee not stated No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; virtual card needs at least $50 in the account; physical card needs a balance above $5,000 and the Gold tier
ether.fi 6.7 / 10 Listed jurisdictions only — Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, UAE, UK, plus 31 US states; “if your jurisdiction is not listed, you will not be able to apply” Visa, virtual and physical; FX on top of base rate by tier — Core 0.5%, Luxe 0.25%, Pinnacle and VIP none; EUR purchases at 0% Core members normally get one free virtual card; the first virtual card costs $10 in regional-pricing countries; monthly and annual fees not stated
Exa 6.2 / 10 45 countries including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and UAE, plus 31 US states; 18 ineligible countries including Russia, by the card’s own wording Russian residents cannot be issued a card Virtual Visa Signature; fees not stated, though the help centre has an article on associated fees and costs Marketed as free, with no amounts on the page

Where Nexo wins: a stated European footprint rather than an unstated one, a genuinely free card with no annual charge at any tier, and a cashback scheme that is larger than Xplace’s — 2% in NEXO tokens on Platinum, 1% on Gold, 0.7% on Silver, 0.5% on Base. But cashback only applies in Credit Mode, and only if you hold more than $5,000 in digital assets; the FX fee is real and higher at weekends. If you are in the EEA and want a card with a clear legal perimeter, Nexo is the less ambiguous choice.

Where ether.fi wins: it publishes an actual list of jurisdictions, so you know before you apply. Its cashback is higher still — 3% up to $2,000 a month on Core, stepping down to 1% then 0.5%, and up to $10,000 or $50,000 at higher tiers — paid in ETHFI with a seven-day lock, then claimable. It also has explicit exclusions including ATM withdrawals and gambling merchant codes. Its crypto conversion fee is not stated.

Where Exa wins: it is the most explicit about who it turns away — a list of 45 countries and 31 US states, plus 18 named ineligible countries — and it names which countries the card cannot be spent in, such as Russia. A card that tells you clearly when it will say no is worth something.

Where Xplace wins: deposits. BTC, ETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks, all on Solana, is a broader asset menu than any of the three, and xStocks in particular is not a stablecoin.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Xplace to someone who already runs their money on Solana, holds stablecoins they want to spend without converting through an exchange every time, and has a card history that ended badly or never started. The virtual card is instant, the wallets are built in, and the terms state zero FX, cross-border and foreign-transaction fees — which, if it holds across tiers as written, is the most genuinely cost-effective part of the offer.

I would recommend it with the credit mode only to someone who treats it as a loan: reads the interest terms, understands liquidation, and never borrows against assets they cannot afford to lose.

I would not recommend it to anyone who needs cash, who needs a physical card this week, who is not comfortable with on-chain transfers and the irreversibility that comes with them, or who needs a published country list before committing. I would also not recommend it to anyone who is uneasy about a brand that says it is not a bank, not a licensed lender and not an investment firm, holding a card programme through a third-party issuer — that is a legitimate preference, and this card is not for you.

And the one I would genuinely press on before signing up: ask Xplace which of two published FX readings is correct, and ask what the top-up fee is. Both are things you would rather know before you have money on the card than after.

Frequently asked questions

What is Xplace card?

Xplace is a Visa payment card that spends a crypto balance, mainly on the Solana network. It works in two modes: Cash mode, which spends your stablecoin balance directly, and Credit mode, which borrows against holdings you keep with the card. There is a free Basic tier and three paid ones, from $99 to $999 a year, and a virtual card you get instantly.

Is Xplace a bank?

No, and the site says so. Xplace is operated by Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ in Dubai’s Meydan Free Zone, licence no. 2527237.01, and the card is issued by Third National under a programme managed by Signify Holdings, Inc. The company states it is not a bank, licensed lender or investment firm.

Who owns Xplace?

Xplace is the consumer brand; the entity behind it is Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ, based in the Meydan Free Zone in Dubai, UAE. The card programme itself sits with Third National as issuer and Signify Holdings, Inc. as programme manager, with Visa as the network.

How do I get an Xplace card?

The card says you register and verify, and that it takes minutes. The virtual card then activates instantly. A physical card is live for the Silver tier, with Gold and Platinum marked as coming soon, and delivery quoted at 7–14 business days depending on region. Documents, age requirements and verification tiers are not stated.

Does Xplace require KYC?

The published process is “register and verify”, which implies identity checks, but the card does not state which documents are needed, whether proof of address is required, or what the age threshold is. It also does not publish verification tiers, processing times or grounds for refusal, so you cannot fully pre-check your own eligibility before starting.

What can I deposit into Xplace?

BTC as cbBTC, ETH as wETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks, all on the Solana network. The card does not state a deposit fee or a minimum top-up. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so sending on an unsupported network or to the wrong kind of address can mean losing the funds.

What does Xplace cost?

Basic is free; Silver is $99 a year, Gold $249 and Platinum $999. The card terms show a 0% Foreign Exchange Fee on non-USD spending, 0% Cross Border Fee and 0% Foreign Transaction Fee, and borrowing carries no origination fee. The conversion fee itself is not stated, and the front page says only “0% FX on Platinum”.

Can I withdraw cash or get money out?

No. Cash advances and balance transfers are not available under the card terms, which rules out ATM withdrawals entirely, and no tier changes that. The card says you can withdraw whenever you decide with no lock-ups, but also that withdrawals depend on protocol liquidity and may be temporarily limited in market stress.

Is Xplace safe to use?

The card states that XPlace does not hold your funds and cannot freeze, seize or move them, which means control stays with you. What is not stated is anything about card security: two-factor authentication, in-app freeze, spending controls and insurance are all undocumented. User ratings are mixed, with Trustpilot at 4.1 out of 5 and complaints about fees and support.

Is the Xplace card worth it?

For someone spending stablecoins regularly on Solana, the zero fee line in the terms, the instant virtual card and the built-in Apple Pay and Google Pay can justify even the Silver tier. Against that, you get no cash, no card until Silver, Gold and Platinum physical cards arrive, and a support record users complain about. Decide by whether you need cash — if you do, none of it works.

Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team