Moonwell closed its card with six weeks' notice

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you landed here searching for the Moonwell card, the first thing you should know is that you cannot get one, and the reason is not a waiting list or a regional restriction. The programme is over. Loading stopped on 8 July 2026, new issuance ended the same day, the cards themselves stopped working at midnight UTC on 8 August 2026, and the app, the dApp and withdrawals went dark on 6 September 2026. That is the whole story of the card, and almost none of it is a matter of opinion.

The Moonwell card programme no longer issues new cards

What is still worth reading is the second half: what happened to the money of people who already had one, what the closure itself demonstrates about how these programmes are built, and which cards now sit in the same place on the table if you were after this kind of card in the first place. I have gone through the record below rather than trying to sell you something, and I have marked clearly which facts come from the card’s own side and which are only third-party reports.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 2.3 out of 10, and the zeroes are structural

My score for the Moonwell card is 2.3 out of 10, and I want to be honest about what that number measures. It is not a judgement on how well the card worked when it existed. It measures what you can get from this card today, and today the answer is: nothing. There is no sign-up, no application, no card, no app, no balance to spend.

The two zeroes are the ones that matter. Who can get it scores 0, because issuance ended. Everyday use scores 0, because every card was cancelled on 8 August 2026 and the app has been offline since 6 September 2026. Top-up options scores 2 rather than 0 only because the mechanism existed until a few weeks ago and is worth describing for anyone who held one.

The 7 out of 10 for cost is the one mark that looks generous, and I want to be careful with it. Unofficial third-party reporting put the USDC loading fee at 0.5% and the foreign exchange fee at 1.5%. Those are not terrible numbers for this category. But you cannot pay a loading fee on a card that will not load, so the mark describes what the price list used to be, not an offer available to you.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 Programme closed: loading stopped and new issuance ended 8 July 2026; last day of use 8 August 2026
Cost 7 / 10 Unofficial: 0.5% USDC loading fee, 1.5% currency conversion
Top-up options 2 / 10 Loading stopped 8 July 2026; unofficial, historically on-chain USDC and borrow-and-load against Moonwell positions
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Card closed along with the Cypher infrastructure, acquired by Nium; fee-free withdrawal ran to 6 September 2026; no complaints about the card found
Everyday use 0 / 10 All cards cancelled 8 August 2026, app offline from 6 September 2026
Total 2.3 / 10 There is no product to rate; the score is a description of a closed programme

So who does this suit? Honestly, nobody looking for a card. The one group it does serve is former cardholders who need to confirm the closure details — dates, deadlines, support contacts — and I have written that part in full below. If you are one of them, read that section first. If you are here to compare crypto cards for use now, skip it and go to the alternatives.

What happened to the programme

Here is the sequence as the record has it. Most of it comes from the infrastructure provider, Cypher, in a notice dated 8 July 2026; the notice talks about Cypher’s own operation rather than Moonwell by name, but it describes the same card programme. Two figures are attributed to Crypto Briefing: that Moonwell says it is exploring new card providers with no timeline, and the figures I have quoted as unofficial below.

One thing you will notice if you go looking for the card: moonwell.fi has no card content at all. That is not a bug in your search. It means the official record on the card’s own site has been taken down rather than left in place with a closure notice, which is precisely why the third-party accounts matter.

What the card used to be, according to Crypto Briefing and Diario Bitcoin in 2026 — unofficial throughout, and not confirmed by the card’s own pages — was a Visa debit card spending on-chain USDC at 44 million+ merchants, launched in December 2024, available in more than 180 countries except New York and Vermont, with Apple Pay and Google Pay support, a 0.5% fee to load USDC and a 1.5% foreign exchange fee.

I have deliberately kept that paragraph short. There is no point listing what the card’s eligibility rules were, what it cost, which currencies it held, how long delivery took, what its tiers were or what its app looked like, because the card’s own pages do not state any of that any more, and repeating an archived third-party summary in detail would give it a weight the evidence no longer supports. If your question is one of those, the honest answer is that this card’s public record on those points is gone, and what you have read above is a dated third-party account rather than a specification.

If you already have the card

This is the section I would read twice if I were in this position, so let me take it slowly.

The thing to understand first is that your money was not, on this programme, sitting in Moonwell’s pocket in the way a bank deposit sits with a bank. It sat with Cypher, the card infrastructure provider, and Cypher describes its wallet as non-custodial: you hold the keys. That distinction matters for what happens next, because it means withdrawal was a matter of moving funds out of a wallet you control, not asking a company’s finance department to pay you.

Two hard facts follow, and neither is comfortable. First, the fee-free withdrawal window closed on 6 September 2026, which is already in the past as of today. Second, support has a defined end too: through 6 September 2026, then a transitional period of 60 days, so support is time-limited rather than permanent.

What you should check first, if this is you. Look at what you actually received before the dates passed, not what you think you are owed — reward claims had a deadline of their own. Then confirm with Cypher at [email protected], within the transitional window, what state your balance is in and whether the non-custodial route to your keys is still open. If funds are sitting in a wallet whose keys you never took control of, that is a conversation to have now rather than at the end of the support period. And if you hold USDC on a network, note that blockchain transfers are irreversible: sending on a network the receiving side does not support can mean the funds are simply lost, with no guarantee of manual recovery.

For the record, the card’s usual per-day details — ATM withdrawals, spending limits, top-up channels, dispute handling — are not stated anywhere now that the programme is closed. I am not going to guess at them, and I would not trust anyone who does.

Historically, and again unofficial: the card was funded with on-chain USDC, and it offered a “borrow-and-load” feature that let you borrow against your Moonwell lending positions and load the proceeds onto the card. If you used that, your exposure was to a lending position at the same moment your access to the card was ending, which is a timing problem worth understanding if you still hold collateral.

What can go wrong

The closure itself is the main risk here, and it is worth reading as a lesson about structure rather than about this particular brand.

The first risk is that the card you hold depends on companies you never chose. Your card number, your balance, your app and your support line were Cypher’s. Cypher was acquired by Nium, and that acquisition is what ended the programme. When the issuer or infrastructure provider is absorbed, the card goes with it — the crypto brand on the front of the app is not the party that decides whether your card works tomorrow.

The second risk is timing. You had roughly a month between the notice on 8 July 2026 and the last day of use on 8 August 2026, and a month to withdraw. That sequence — notice, then spending stops, then withdraw what is left — is the standard shape of a programme closure, not an unusual emergency. It is worth knowing that shape before you are inside one. If you do not read the notice, the dates make the decision for you.

The third risk is the one that has nothing to do with this card. On a self-custody-linked wallet you hold the keys, which removes custodian risk but transfers the whole burden to you: if you lose the seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words, and the unencrypted form of the private key — anyone who has it can restore the wallet and spend the funds, and cryptocurrency transfers are typically irreversible with no built-in recovery. Cypher also notes that AML law requires keeping identification and transaction records for at least five years after account closure. For your own protection, record what you held and where before the support window closes; you will not be able to ask this later.

On complaints, the honest answer is that I found nothing to report. No Trustpilot or Reddit complaints about this card surfaced in my searches as of 20 October 2026, and the Cypher notice does not mention Moonwell at all. That is not an endorsement — a card that existed for under two years and then closed attracts very little commentary, and silence about a dead product tells you little about how it behaved while it was live.

One background point belongs here, because it explains why card programmes can end without any wrongdoing at all. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. What happened here is smaller and blander than those, but the mechanism is the same one.

What to take instead

If you were reading about the Moonwell card because you want a card that turns crypto into everyday spending, the search should continue. These three are the nearest things currently on the table, and I have put them side by side below because the differences are structural rather than cosmetic — where you are eligible, what the card is attached to, and what the rewards actually are.

Nexo Xplace ether.fi
Score 6.3 / 10 7.7 / 10 6.7 / 10
Card Virtual and physical, Mastercard notice on page, issued by DiPocket UAB Visa; virtual instant, physical Silver live, Gold/Platinum coming soon, delivery 7-14 business days Visa; virtual and physical
Who can get it Residents and citizens of selected European countries, including the EEA and the UK; no country list on the page Country list not stated; Visa acceptance in 160+ countries Listed jurisdictions only, plus 31 US states; Belgium and Ireland eligible without physical delivery
Funding Nexo account, 100+ digital assets, Debit Mode uses stablecoins, crypto and FiatX Deposits on Solana: cbBTC, wETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT, xStocks Supported tokens to your own Safe as collateral, or spend the balance directly
Rewards Cashback in Credit Mode above $5,000 in digital assets: Platinum 2%/0.5%, Gold 1%/0.3%, Silver 0.7%/0.2%, Base 0.5%/0.1% Credit-mode cashback: Basic 0.5%, Silver 1%, Gold 1.5%, Platinum 2%, paid in USDC Cashback in ETHFI, locked 7 days: Core 3% to $2,000 monthly, Luxe 3% to $10,000, Pinnacle 3% to $50,000
Fees to watch FX 0.2% weekdays in EEA/UK/CH, 0.7% weekends; 2% and 2.5% rest of world; crypto conversion fee not stated 0% FX on Platinum; FX and conversion fee not stated for other tiers FX on top of base rate: Core 0.5%, Luxe 0.25%, Pinnacle and VIP none; crypto conversion fee not stated
Cost to hold No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; physical card needs balance above $5,000 and at least Gold tier Annual fee: Basic free, Silver $99, Gold $249, Platinum $999 Core members normally get one free virtual card; first virtual card $10 in regional-pricing countries

A few things I would weigh rather than score.

Nexo is the broadest option on paper — the only one of the three whose eligibility wording is residents *and* citizens of a described group — but its cashback is gated on holding more than $5,000 in digital assets and only applies in Credit Mode, which is borrowing, not spending. There is also a background point I would want you to know: Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML violations, with no official Nexo statement on Russians found. That is a reported news event, not a finding, and I am not offering it as legal advice — but you should not read a card’s “selected countries” wording without asking why some countries are excluded.

Xplace is the only one of the three with a published annual fee ladder that goes up to $999, and the only one with an explicit 0% FX promise — on Platinum, which is also the $999 tier. Its eligible-country list is not stated, and the physical Gold and Platinum cards are described as coming soon. Deposits are Solana-network assets, which is a real narrowing compared with a multi-chain card.

ether.fi is the most different in kind. The money sits in your own Safe as collateral, so the card is a spending front end to a wallet you control rather than a balance held for you. Rewards are the richest on paper — 3% cashback in ETHFI, locked seven days, with monthly ladders up to $50,000 on Pinnacle — but the currency is a token that locks, and ATM, cash advances, P2P and gambling merchant categories are excluded. Eligibility is a whitelist, and ether.fi’s own wording is blunt: if your jurisdiction is not listed, you will not be able to apply. Citizenship rules are not stated, and ATM withdrawals are blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar.

Two things apply to all three, and neither is a detail. First, a card is only as durable as the licence under it: in the EU an electronic money institution may issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend, and MiCA allows e-money tokens to be issued only by a credit institution or an EMI. A card programme commonly rests on two licences, and the crypto brand you see is often just the programme manager. Second, merchant acceptance is not uniform: some shops decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the issuer BIN reveals the card type and country, and address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. Neither point is specific to these three.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Moonwell card to exactly one kind of person, and it is not a person choosing a card. It is a former cardholder who needs to confirm the closure details — what happened to the balance, when support ends, whether rewards earned before 16 July 2026 were honoured. For that person this page has given you the dates, the contact and the questions to ask. I would tell you to ask them now, inside the transitional window, and to record what you held while the support line still exists.

To everyone else, my recommendation is to close this page and treat the Moonwell card as an example rather than a shortlist. It is a good illustration of why the boring question matters more than the exciting one. When you look at a crypto card, the first questions are not about cashback rates; they are about who holds the licence, who holds your keys, what happens to your balance if the issuer is sold, and how long the support line lasts. The Moonwell card had a sensible design by the standards of its category, and it still disappeared because the infrastructure underneath it was acquired. The brand on the front is not the thing that keeps the card alive.

If you want to keep looking, pick on the axis that actually constrains you — your country and citizenship, whether you want the balance in your own wallet or someone else’s, and whether the rewards are in a stablecoin or in the provider’s token. That will narrow three cards to one quickly, and one is a better use of your time than a fourth.

Frequently asked questions

What was the Moonwell card?

It was a Visa debit card that spent on-chain USDC, launched in December 2024 and reported at the time to work at 44 million+ merchants in more than 180 countries, with Apple Pay and Google Pay support. It was funded by loading USDC onto the card, and it also offered a “borrow-and-load” option against Moonwell lending positions. These details come from third-party reporting in 2026 and are not confirmed by the card’s own pages, which no longer describe the product.

Is Moonwell a bank?

No — and there is no good source saying it is. A card like this is normally issued by a bank or licensed electronic money institution, while the crypto brand acts as programme manager or front end. For this card, the infrastructure provider was Cypher, which issued through its own entity and was acquired by Nium. Moonwell’s own company and registration details are not stated in any of the material I reviewed.

Can I still get a Moonwell card?

No. Loading stopped and new issuance ended on 8 July 2026, and every card was cancelled from 00:00 UTC on 8 August 2026. The app and dApp went offline on 6 September 2026. There is no waiting list to join and no regional version that survived — the programme ended as a whole.

When did the Moonwell card stop working?

The last day to use the cards was 8 August 2026 at 00:00 UTC, and from that moment they were cancelled. Separately, the app and dApp and fee-free withdrawals closed on 6 September 2026. So there are two different deadlines, and they are not the same date.

What happened to money left on the Moonwell card?

It was withdrawable through the Cypher app or dApp at no fee until 6 September 2026, from a wallet described as non-custodial, meaning you hold the keys. Cypher support at [email protected] was available through 6 September 2026 and then during a 60-day transitional period. Rewards earned before 16 July 2026 were honoured if claimed before the deadline. Check what you actually received, and record your balance now.

Did the Moonwell card have fees?

Third-party reporting in 2026 put the USDC loading fee at 0.5% and the foreign exchange fee at 1.5%, and described spending as having no hidden spread on stablecoin balances. None of this is confirmed by the card’s own pages, which no longer state fees. And it is now academic: with loading and use both ended, there is nothing left to charge a fee on.

Was the Moonwell card safe to use?

I found no complaints about the card — no Trustpilot or Reddit complaints surfaced in my searches as of 20 October 2026 — and the Cypher closure notice does not mention Moonwell. That is not the same as a safety judgement. The programme was built on another company’s infrastructure, and that company’s acquisition is what closed the card, which is a structural risk no complaint record would show.

Is Moonwell replacing the card?

Possibly, on a longer timeline than most holders would like. Cypher says its team is building a successor platform on Nium’s infrastructure, and Moonwell is reported as exploring new card providers with no timeline given. Treat any expectation of a relaunch as unfounded until a card programme is actually open to applicants.

Is Moonwell still operating as a company?

Moonwell’s corporate status, registration and continued operation are not publicly stated. If your concern is about a position in a Moonwell lending market rather than about your card balance, check directly with the protocol.

Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team