WantToPay review

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

WantToPay is a virtual payment card aimed at people who hold crypto, want to spend it like a regular card, and would rather not wrestle with a full bank onboarding. It runs as a Telegram Mini App and a website, it is virtual-only, and it is priced in rubles on the front end while the card itself settles in US dollars. The pitch is “top up with crypto, pay at a shop or online, done”. The reality is more particular than that, and the rest of this review walks through it in order: who can get it, what it costs in practice, how topping up works, what daily spending looks like, where the risks sit, and what to consider instead.

WantToPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

WantToPay earns 4.5 out of 10 in this review. That score is a balance, not a verdict on a single dimension. The product does one thing, a Telegram-native virtual card you fund with crypto or rubles, and it does it without asking for a proof of address. For that specific audience it is a workable tool. For anyone who wants a physical card, cash access, a wide range of supported countries, or a programme with a clearly identified issuer, the gaps start to dominate the picture. Below is the breakdown by criterion.

Criterion Score Why it lands there
Who can get it 6 / 10 Countries and residency rules aren’t disclosed on the home page; new users 18+ get a promo, and the number of supported countries isn’t published.
Cost 2 / 10 Four tiers from 990 RUB to 3,490 RUB to issue, a $6 monthly service fee on three of them, and 7–9% crypto top-up fees on the lower tiers; the published comparison table is short on detail.
Top-up options 6 / 10 Rubles by phone number or bank card, plus BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC and TON. The specific networks for each token are not named on the public page.
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 The operator is WTP Technology Limited in Hong Kong, and the card issuer isn’t named publicly; Trustpilot has 274 reviews, and recurring complaint themes are cards that stop working and funds that become hard to reach.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual only, no physical card, no ATM access; Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay are limited to the Smart and Pro tiers.

The audience this card fits, judging from how it’s pitched, is a Telegram user paying foreign services by virtual card and willing to manage the limitations in exchange for a quick sign-up. If that is not you, the next sections will help you decide how far off the mark it lands.

Will they give you the card

WantToPay’s home page does not list the countries it serves, and the terms index does not publish a residency table either. The only public eligibility line is the promo for new users 18 and over, which the company itself states. In plain terms: the card is sold as a global Telegram-first product, but the practical list of accepted countries lives inside the sign-up flow and may change as the issuer’s risk policy changes. If you are checking from a specific country, the only honest way to find out whether you’ll be served is to start the Telegram Mini App and see what Sumsub, the KYC partner, accepts.

A few things follow from this. You will not find a “supported countries” page to consult before you install anything. You will not get a country list to compare against your passport’s issuing country. And if the sign-up denies you, the reason is most likely to be a Sumsub rule rather than a WantToPay country list you can read in advance. For a reader whose main concern is “will this work where I live?”, the answer is “probably, but try before you commit any meaningful balance to it.”

How to get it

The full product is built around a Telegram Mini App, with a website as a secondary surface. There is no App Store or Google Play app. If you want a WantToPay card, you start in Telegram, and the rest of the onboarding happens there.

Identity verification is handled by Sumsub under what WantToPay describes as a “one document” check. The published KYC steps cover an email, phone confirmation, a photo of an ID document (passport, foreign passport or driver’s licence, both sides if it is an ID card or licence), and a selfie that may include a blink or a head turn. The company says it does not keep copies of the document, and a separate explicit point in the KYC description is that proof of address is not part of the official steps. WantToPay states that processing usually takes a few minutes, and that rejections most often come down to photo quality, with a recommendation to contact support after several failed attempts. Specific rejection codes are not listed.

The card itself is virtual and digital only: it is issued inside the Telegram Mini App, there is no physical card, and there is no delivery to wait for. WantToPay’s own comparison table calls out USD as the primary card currency and 3D Secure for online payments. The network is not specified on the public pages. A third-party write-up reports that Smart cards have US terms and that some Prepaid and Easy cards carry Singapore BIN ranges, and that the network itself is not named in those terms; that detail is unofficial and not confirmed by WantToPay.

New users who complete verification within seven days of registration get a 30% promo on the Easy tier. Beyond that, the rest of the pricing and the tier choice sit one step further on, in the costs section below.

What it really costs: Fees

The headline prices look modest. The full picture is more layered, and the costs table is the first place to look.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a WantToPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Issuance: Prepaid Fixed denomination, $10 to $200, no monthly fee
Issuance: Easy 990 RUB (around $10)
Issuance: Smart 1,590 RUB
Issuance: Pro 3,490 RUB (around $35)
Monthly service fee: Easy, Smart, Pro $6
Successful transaction fee Prepaid/Easy $0.25–$0.50; Smart $0.50–$1.00 plus 0.2% on contactless; Pro $0.50 plus 1% of payment amount
Failed transaction fee Prepaid/Easy $0.25–$0.50; Smart $0.40–$1.00; Pro $1
Crypto top-up fee Easy 9%, Smart 7%; Prepaid takes a fixed denomination, no top-up
RUB top-up “At the app rate”; fee not stated
Daily purchase limit Prepaid up to $20,000; Easy up to $50,000
Single transaction cap Prepaid $10,000; Easy $20,000; Smart $25,000
Monthly limit Pro $50,000/month; other tiers not stated
Card validity Prepaid and Easy 24 months; Smart 36–60 months; Pro not stated
ATM / cash withdrawal Not supported
Physical card Not offered

A third-party review also describes a “Plus” subscription priced at 690 RUB or 6 USDT per 30 days, with longer packages at 1,860, 3,310 and 4,100 RUB for three, six and twelve months, and notes that one subscription covers all of a user’s cards. That subscription is most likely the $6 monthly fee shown above. The same source is the only public reference to it, so it should be treated as unofficial until WantToPay publishes a matching line in its own pricing.

To make the numbers less abstract, three everyday payments:

The pattern is that the lower tiers look cheap to issue but penalise you on every top-up, and the upper tiers are the opposite: more to issue and to keep, but cheaper to fund. For someone paying a small handful of foreign subscriptions a month, the Pro fee structure is honest about the costs. For someone who wants to fund the card once and let it sit, the $6 monthly service fee is the bill to watch.

How to top it up: Top up options

WantToPay supports two top-up routes on the Easy and Smart tiers, and one on Prepaid. On Prepaid, you buy a fixed-denomination card for $10 to $200, and that is the entire top-up story: there is no adding to it later. On Easy and Smart, you can fund the card in rubles by an instant transfer to a phone number or from a Russian bank card, and you can fund it in crypto using Bitcoin, Ethereum, BNB, USDT, USDC and TON. The home page lists BTC, USDT, USDC and TON as the headline options, with ETH and BNB shown elsewhere in the product. Bank cards cannot be used to receive payments, only to send.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up WantToPay starts with a transfer to the right network

The minimum deposit is $10 on every tier. Crypto top-ups are routed through Cryptomus, and WantToPay emphasises that a new set of payment details is generated for every top-up: a transfer to a previously used address, the company says, “cannot be returned”. That is a real risk in this category. If your wallet or exchange reuses a previous address by default, or if you copy a stale address from your history, the funds can be sent to a destination WantToPay no longer controls. Treat each top-up’s address as single-use.

The networks on which the tokens are accepted are not named on the public page, which is the most significant gap in the funding story. USDT, for example, exists on Ethereum (ERC-20), Tron (TRC-20), Solana, Polygon and others, and they are not interchangeable: sending USDT on the wrong network to a deposit address that expects a different one is the classic way to lose money in this category. The only safe read of the public material is that you must use the network shown on the deposit screen in the app at the moment of the top-up, and not assume. WantToPay does not state who pays the on-chain network fee (the gas or bandwidth cost of the transfer itself), so assume it is you.

Ruble top-ups go in “at the app rate” with the fee not stated. That second clause is the part to watch. Crypto top-ups are charged at 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart. The crypto top-up fee for Pro is not stated, and the trade-off is the higher issuance and monthly costs already described. Credits are usually immediate and can take up to 180 minutes. The card also has an “internal balance” feature, which is what funds land in if the card provider has a technical failure, or if you ask support to move money there. You can move internal balance back to a Prepaid, Easy, Smart or Pro card at any time, for free, with a $2 minimum and a $500 daily cap; you cannot add money to internal balance from a card.

Paying with it every day

The card is virtual and works online at any merchant that accepts a Visa-range or Mastercard-range number, with the caveat that the network is not publicly named. Three-D Secure is enabled for online payments. The Smart tier supports Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, and Pro inherits the same set; Easy and Prepaid do not have tokenised wallet support on the public list. There is no physical card, and no ATM access; the card is not designed for cash withdrawal, and a third-party source confirms that funds cannot be pulled out at an ATM. A third-party write-up also notes a refusal code, #D005, that the system returns for prohibited merchant categories — crypto exchanges, casinos, adult content, mining, e-wallets and government bodies — and lists gambling and donations as prohibited; the same source flags Brawl Stars, Genshin Impact, the Epic Games Store and the PlayStation Store as not payable on any tariff, and says Apple Pay is restricted to Smart in practice. None of that is on WantToPay’s own pages, and it should be treated as unofficial.

What this means in practice is that the card behaves like a prepaid USD card for online and mobile-wallet spending, within the merchant categories the programme accepts. There is no published cashback, no rewards programme and no points structure. The app itself is a Telegram Mini App, with no App Store or Google Play listing, so all of the card management — checking the balance, viewing transactions, freezing the card if the option exists — happens inside Telegram. App ratings are not stated because the app is not on a store.

A few quiet things to know. The card’s base currency is USD, so a payment in euros, pounds or another currency will pass through a conversion that the comparison table does not break out. WantToPay states that RUB top-ups are converted at the app rate, but it does not publish a separate currency-conversion commission line for spending in non-USD currencies, so that margin is implicit. A declined authorisation can leave a temporary hold on the available balance, and a hold can take several days to clear — that is true of the category rather than of this card, but it bites prepaid-card users the most because it ties up money they may need.

What can go wrong

WantToPay’s home page is short on the kind of detail a more established issuer would publish. The operator is WTP Technology Limited, registered in Hong Kong as company number 76394774. The card issuer is not named on the public pages; a third-party source notes that the BIN regions in use are the United States and Singapore and that the issuing bank or e-money institution behind them is not disclosed. That opacity is a feature of the category — many crypto card programmes are marketed under a crypto brand while a licensed bank or e-money institution sits behind them — but it does mean a reader cannot look up the issuer in a public register the way they could for, say, a UK EMI.

On the safety side, the public material states that 3D Secure is used for online payments and that Sumsub performs KYC without retaining document copies. WantToPay does not publish a custody model for the crypto you deposit, does not state whether in-app card freeze is available, does not mention two-factor authentication, and does not describe spending controls or insurance. None of those absences is proof that the features don’t exist, and a few may live inside the Telegram Mini App without being documented publicly, but the safe read is that they are unconfirmed.

Trustpilot is the main public reputation surface for the company. WantToPay’s own homepage claims a 4.6 rating. The Trustpilot page, as read on 2026-10-20, does not display a TrustScore (“unavailable due to a breach of our guidelines”, with fake reviews removed), and lists 274 reviews, 152 of them in the last 12 months; the visible mix is 85% five-star and 13% one-star, and the company has replied to roughly 3% of negative reviews. The recurring complaint themes are payments being declined, top-ups taking anywhere from ten minutes to nearly an hour, refusals to refund the issue fee, and refunds that took several months before being returned. There are also positive reviews that praise fast virtual-card issuing and responsive support. Many of the positive reviews are short, and some come from accounts that have only ever posted once, which is a soft signal rather than a verdict.

Support runs through a Telegram bot, @WantToPaySupportBot, between 07:00 and 00:00 GMT+3, with email at [email protected]. Pro customers also get VIP support. An AI assistant called “Ask” sits in the knowledge base for simpler questions. The presence of a bot-only support channel matters: a Telegram user will find it frictionless, a non-Telegram user will find it a real obstacle.

A small but important detail: WantToPay states that when a card expires, it is deleted together with any remaining balance. There is no mention of a grace period, a balance transfer or a refund of unused funds at expiry. A reader who tops up a card and lets it sit for two years is accepting that the remaining balance will be lost when the validity runs out.

What to take instead

If WantToPay’s specific trade-offs — virtual-only, no cash, Hong Kong operator, $6 monthly service fee, 7–9% crypto top-up fees on the lower tiers — are the wrong shape for your situation, a few alternatives in the same general category are worth weighing. None of them is a perfect substitute, and each has its own gaps; the point of the table is to put the choices side by side rather than to crown a winner.

Card Score Card form Issuer region Key funding routes Cashback Standout gap
WantToPay 4.5 / 10 Virtual only Hong Kong operator; BIN regions USA and Singapore (unofficial) RUB by phone, BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON None stated No physical card, no cash, 7–9% top-up fees on lower tiers
Bitrefill 6.8 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa EU, EUR card BTC, Lightning, ETH, USDC, USDT, SOL, BASE, Polygon, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa, Mastercard, SEPA 2% (1% on deposit, 1% on purchase) Inactivity fee after 12 months; SEPA pay-in 1.99%
UPay 6.1 / 10 Virtual and physical, personal and business Claims 180+ countries BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC None stated on card page Cost and fee details not stated publicly; KYC limited to same-country ID documents
Kemy 6.0 / 10 Unlimited virtual, one physical Mastercard 190+ countries USDT, USDC on “main networks”, BTC, ETH, SOL via on/off-ramp, mobile money, virtual bank accounts None mentioned $15 issuance and $2/month for virtual; $250 issuance and $10/month for physical; 3.5% + $1 transaction fee on virtual

If your priority is a card you can hold in your hand and tap at a shop, Bitrefill is the strongest alternative in this list: it offers a physical Visa, publishes a transparent 2% cashback, and supports a wider range of funding networks, but it does charge a 1.99% SEPA pay-in fee and applies an inactivity fee after a year of no spending. If your priority is a broader merchant category mix and lower per-transaction friction, UPay’s claim of 180+ countries is attractive, but its public pricing is thin, and the KYC rule that limits accepted ID documents to those issued by the same country as the user is a real constraint for some readers. If you want a physical Mastercard with contactless and a wide set of countries, Kemy is a possibility, but the $250 issuance fee for the physical card and the 3.5% + $1 transaction fee on the virtual card are the prices to plan around.

Who I would recommend it to

WantToPay is a niche product, and the best way to decide whether it fits is to be honest about which of its limitations you can live with. If you are a Telegram user, comfortable with crypto top-ups and the per-top-up address churn that comes with them, and you want a virtual USD card to pay a handful of foreign subscriptions a month, the Smart or Pro tier is a workable tool. The Pro tier, in particular, is the one where the costs line up: no crypto top-up fee, the higher monthly service fee notwithstanding, and the wallet support that a phone-based user expects.

If you want a physical card, you should look elsewhere; there isn’t one. If you want to take cash out at an ATM, you should look elsewhere; the card does not support it. If your main concern is the regulatory clarity of the issuer, you should look elsewhere; the public material does not name the issuer, and a third-party source flags BIN regions in the US and Singapore without naming the licensed entity behind them. If you want a wide merchant category mix, you should look elsewhere; the unofficial refusal-code list and the merchant-category exclusions are tight.

For a reader who is unbanked or underbanked and whose main need is a virtual card to pay online services, WantToPay is one of several options in this category, and the comparison table above is a starting point for weighing it. The right next step is to install the Telegram Mini App, run a Sumsub verification, look at the deposit networks on screen at the moment of your first top-up, and only then commit a balance you are prepared to leave on the card for its full validity. The single most useful habit this card rewards is reading the deposit screen on every top-up rather than relying on memory.

Frequently asked questions

What is the WantToPay card?

The WantToPay card is a virtual prepaid card issued through a Telegram Mini App, with the card’s base currency in US dollars. It is sold under four tiers (Prepaid, Easy, Smart, Pro), and you fund it with rubles or with crypto such as BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, BNB and TON, then spend the resulting balance at online merchants that accept the card’s network.

How does the WantToPay card work?

You create an account inside the Telegram Mini App, complete Sumsub identity verification, choose a tier, top up the card in rubles or crypto, and the converted balance becomes your spending limit. The card settles in USD at the merchant, with 3D Secure on online payments, and the Smart and Pro tiers add Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay support.

Is WantToPay a bank?

No. WantToPay is operated by WTP Technology Limited, a Hong Kong-registered company, and the licensed card issuer is not named on the public pages. A third-party source notes that the BIN ranges in use sit in the United States and Singapore, but the issuing bank or e-money institution is not disclosed in WantToPay’s official documentation.

Is the WantToPay card available in my country?

The home page and the terms index do not publish a country list. The product is positioned for a global Telegram audience, with a public eligibility line for new users 18 and over, and the practical country check happens inside the Sumsub flow at sign-up. If the sign-up rejects you, the reason is most likely to be a Sumsub rule rather than a published WantToPay list.

How do I get a WantToPay card?

Open the Telegram Mini App or the website, complete Sumsub verification with an ID document and a selfie, choose a tier, and pay the issuance fee in rubles. There is no App Store or Google Play app, and no physical card to wait for; the virtual card details are generated inside the Mini App.

Does the WantToPay card require KYC?

Yes. KYC is handled by Sumsub, and the published steps cover an email, phone confirmation, a photo of an ID document (passport, foreign passport or driver’s licence, both sides for an ID card or licence), and a selfie. WantToPay states it does not retain document copies, and that proof of address is not part of the official KYC steps. Processing is described as usually taking a few minutes, with rejections most often tied to photo quality.

How do I top up the WantToPay card?

On the Easy and Smart tiers, you can top up with rubles by phone-number transfer or from a Russian bank card, or in crypto with BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC and TON. Each top-up generates a new set of payment details, and the company states that a transfer to a previously used address cannot be returned; the specific blockchain networks are not named on the public page, so the deposit screen in the app at the moment of the top-up is the only safe source for which network to use.

How do I withdraw money from WantToPay?

The card is not designed for cash withdrawal and there is no ATM access. WantToPay does not describe a withdrawal flow to a bank account or to a crypto address, and a third-party source confirms that funds cannot be taken out at an ATM. Funds on an expired card are deleted together with the card, with no grace period or refund described.

Is the WantToPay card safe?

WantToPay states that 3D Secure is used for online payments and that Sumsub handles KYC without retaining document copies. The company does not publish a custody model, in-app card freeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls or insurance, so the safe read is that those features are unconfirmed rather than confirmed. The card is prepaid, so it cannot overdraw, and the main practical risks are the operator and the issuer, both of which are partly or fully undisclosed on the public pages.

Is the WantToPay card worth it?

It depends on what you want from it. For a Telegram user paying a small number of foreign subscriptions in USD from crypto, the Pro tier is an honest fit: no crypto top-up fee, wallet support, and the trade-off is a $6 monthly service fee. For a reader who wants a physical card, cash access, a clearly identified issuer, or a broad merchant category mix, the gaps dominate and a Bitrefill, UPay or Kemy comparison is worth the time. The single most useful habit this card rewards is reading the deposit screen on every top-up rather than relying on memory.

Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team