Ledger Cl: cheap to hold, free to spend, but the support record is the weak spot

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Ledger Cl card is one of those crypto cards built for people who already keep their coins in a hardware wallet. If that is you, the appeal is obvious: you hold the keys, you load a balance through the Ledger Wallet app, and then you spend it like an ordinary card in a shop, with Apple Pay or Google Pay in the mix. The price on paper is hard to argue with — zero to hold, zero to issue in the EU fee document, and no foreign-currency fee on card payments in the eurozone scheme.

Ledger Cl works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

But the number I have to give it is 5.9 out of 10, and the reason is not fees. It is trust. The complaints pattern around this card — frozen balances, weeks-long compliance reviews, support passing you between Ledger and the issuing bank — is exactly the pattern that turns a cheap card into an expensive one when the money is stuck. So read this review as someone who thinks the product design is good and the operational record is thin.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.9 / 10

Let me put the sub-scores on the table before I say anything else, because the shape of this number matters more than the number itself. One line is excellent and one is genuinely poor, and they pull in opposite directions.

Criterion Mark Why, in short
Who can get it 7 / 10 Available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico and Brazil
Cost 5 / 10 Official EU document from 2023: issue €0, servicing €0, card payment in foreign currency €0 plus 0%; ATM €3.00 plus 1.5%. Unofficial pages quote 1.75% conversion and a 2% spend fee, and the two disagree
Top-up options 7 / 10 BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and other coins from a Ledger wallet; the networks are not named
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issuers UAB Monavate and Monavate Ltd are named; complaints about freezes, blocked funds and reviews running 60+ days; an unverified claim about Baanx/Monavate insolvency
Everyday use 8 / 10 Free virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATMs worldwide; unofficial sources also list a physical Visa

Total: 5.9 / 10.

So who is this for? It suits a Ledger owner who already has the hardware, keeps the balance modest, spends most of it rather than parking it, and can afford to be without the money for a while if compliance decides to take a look. It suits people who want to walk into a café and tap, not people who want a bank. And it suits people who are already comfortable with the fact that their balance, once loaded, is held by someone else’s institution rather than by them.

Who is it not for? It is not for anyone whose income depends on the card clearing overnight, because a frozen balance with a 60-day review is not a hypothetical in the complaint record. It is not for people who want a physical card they can hand over at a shop — the official product page describes a free virtual card, and a physical Visa appears only in third-party listings. And it is not for anyone who needs to know, in advance and in writing, exactly what the conversion costs, because that is precisely the figure the official product pages do not give you.

Will they give you the card?

The card’s own words: “Currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico and Brazil.” That is a good spread — it covers most of Europe, the UK, North America and a decent slice of Latin America. If you are in one of those places, you are in the intended audience.

Here is what the same statement does not tell you, and I want to be plain about it rather than guess. Whether eligibility follows citizenship or residence is not stated. Whether residents of Russia or Belarus can get it is not stated. Those are not footnotes; for anyone in the wrong region they are the whole question, and you will only get a real answer by attempting the sign-up and reading what comes back. I am not going to fill that silence with a guess, because a wrong guess here is expensive.

One structural point helps you interpret any friction. In the EU the issuer is UAB Monavate, in Lithuania; in the UK it is Monavate Ltd; in the US the Visa debit comes from Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC. So “which country am I in” quietly means “which bank is underwriting me”, and the rules, the complaint handling and the risk appetite are not identical across those three.

How to get it

The honest answer is that the published pages are thin here. Identity verification before the card is issued is described in the terms — Section 4.2 says the issuer verifies identity before issuing the card or opening the e-wallet — but the levels, the documents, the processing time and the reasons for rejection are not stated. What documents you will actually need is not stated on the card’s own pages.

A third-party site, cryptocards.so, published in 2026, describes the process as email, phone and an identity document, with no proof of address and no selfie. Take that as unofficial: it is one external site, and the card does not confirm it. It is worth reading because it sets expectations low, and worth not relying on because an unofficial description is not a promise.

On the card itself, what is confirmed is a free virtual card, with the page also mentioning Visa debit in the US. Physical form is not described, and the currency the card is denominated in is not stated — which matters more than it sounds, because a card denominated in euros will make your life complicated if you mostly spend in dollars.

The fee document does say something about the physical side, and I will flag a caveat: in the EU Fee Information Document the row alignment in the extracted text is partly ambiguous, so the figures — issuing of a debit card €0.00, replacement debit card €5.00, card cancellation €3.50 — may not sit under the labels you would expect. Delivery times are not stated.

The practical sequence, then: sign up, complete identity verification, receive a free virtual card in the app, and add it to your phone wallet. If you were hoping for a plastic card in the post with your name embossed on it, that is the part the official material does not promise.

Fees: what a Ledger Cl payment really costs

This is the section where I have the most to say and the least to rely on. The card’s own product pages carry no amounts at all. The fees live in the legal documents — the Platform Fees, the Fee Information Document and the US Customer Fees — which I did not read line by line. So treat the numbers below as what the EU fee document published on 03/11/2023 by UAB Monavate actually says, and be aware of how old that document is.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Ledger Cl payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Card issuance (EU fee document) €0.00
Monthly maintenance €0.00
Card payment in pounds €0.00
Card payment in a foreign currency €0.00 plus 0% of transaction value
Replacement card €5.00
Card cancellation €3.50
ATM cash withdrawal, domestic (euro) €2.50 per withdrawal
ATM cash withdrawal, foreign currency €3.00 plus 1.5% of transaction value
ATM balance enquiry €0.35
Monthly and daily limits Not stated in the official terms

Now the part that should make you pause. cryptocards.so, in 2026, lists monthly fee free, card issuance free, FX fee free and top-up fee free — which is consistent with the EU fee document on the first two. But the same page’s “cons” section cites “1.75% conversion + 2% spend fee”, and Reddit commenters in a ledgerwallet thread mention a 2% spending fee. Those are not confirmed by the card, they are undated or only dated to a site snapshot, and they directly contradict the zero figures.

Which do I believe? I believe neither without checking. The zero-fee figures come from a document dated November 2023 and describe a specific EU issuer scheme. The 1.75% and 2% figures come from unofficial listings and forum chatter. The most likely explanation is that the conversion cost is not a “fee” at all but the spread between the crypto-to-fiat rate you get and the mid-market rate, and that different surfaces — the app, the network rails, the card scheme — price it differently. But “most likely explanation” is my inference, not the card’s statement.

Let me make this concrete with three everyday payments, so you can see which line items actually bite.

Buying a coffee in Paris. If your balance is in euros, this is the cheapest case: a card payment in a foreign currency is €0.00 plus 0% of the transaction value, and card payment in pounds is listed at €0.00. Your cost here is whatever you paid to turn crypto into euros in the first place. The blockchain network fee for the deposit that funded the balance was charged by the network, not by the card provider.

Paying for a $60 subscription from a euro balance. This is where the real cost hides. Your balance converts at the time of purchase, and the terms say that if the balance in the payment currency is missing, another currency balance is converted at a rate and with a fee — the amount of which is not stated. That single sentence is the difference between a free foreign-currency payment and one with a hidden markup. Get a written answer on it before you rely on this for a subscription.

Withdrawing €200 in cash in Tokyo. Here the card’s own numbers apply directly: €3.00 plus 1.5% of the transaction value, so €3.00 plus €3.00, €6.00 in fees on €200. The unofficial listing says the ATM fee is 1.5% and the withdrawal limit is $2,000. ATMs are available “worldwide” per the card, in local currencies. This is by far the most expensive way to use the card, and it is where I would tell most people to just not.

On limits: the terms say the issuer may set limits on loading the e-wallet and on payments from time to time, and no amounts are given. The unofficial figures are daily spend $15,000, monthly spend unlimited, ATM withdrawal $2,000. On tiers, there is one product and no paid tier — you are not being upsold anything, which is genuinely rare and worth noting.

Top up: moving crypto onto the card

This is the part the card does best. You fund the card from a Ledger signer through the Ledger Wallet app, and the supported assets named are BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and more. The product page states no top-up fee and no minimum. The EU Fee Information Document lists no load fee for the cards. The official top-up options score is 7 out of 10, and it loses points for one reason: the networks are not specified.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Ledger Cl starts with a transfer to the right network

That omission is not pedantry. If you hold USDC, you may be choosing between Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon, Arbitrum and dozens of others, and the stablecoin you have is not the same asset on each of them. Getting it wrong can mean a deposit that arrives nowhere. The general principle worth holding in your head: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Check the supported network in the app before you send, every time, because “it worked last time” is not evidence about this one.

One more thing the product page mentions: credit lines with rates “starting at 0%” depending on country. A credit line is not the same thing as a top-up from your own crypto, and the difference matters for your risk. I would treat any borrowing arrangement as a separate decision with its own reading, not as a feature of the card.

On getting money back off, the UK issuer’s terms say funds can be withdrawn from the e-wallet through the personal login area, minus pending transactions, and a fee may apply — the detail sits with cl-cards.com/legal. Withdrawing everything does not close the account. Closing requires one month’s written notice and payment of the relevant fees; after closure, funds can be redeemed for up to six years; and if money is still sitting there twelve months after the agreement ends, a maintenance fee starts being deducted. That last clause is the one to set a calendar reminder about.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, this card is pleasant in a way most crypto cards are not. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, so the commonest tap-to-pay flows work. The card is managed in the Card section of the Ledger Wallet app on iOS and Android, which means one place for your cold storage and your spending. The Ledger Wallet app’s App Store listing shows a 4.9 average across 564 reviews in a third-party snapshot updated 10 July 2026 — worth knowing that is a Brazil storefront figure and an app-level rating, not a rating for this card.

Then there is the reward: 1% back, paid in BTC or USDC in the US and in BTC or USDT elsewhere, calculated monthly on your total card spend. A flat 1% is a real, if unexciting, rebate. It is also, notably, smaller than what one of the alternatives below offers, and larger than none.

On the things the card does not tell you: which merchants are blocked is not stated. If gambling is your thing, note that MCC 7995 covers casinos, betting and lotteries, and many issuers block it as policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer. Since this card’s blocked list is not published, you should not assume a bet slips through.

Two practical frictions are worth naming. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because a BIN lookup reveals the card type and the issuer country — which is why a Lithuanian or British BIN can look “foreign” to a shop elsewhere. And Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of your billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines at some online checkouts. If a subscription mysteriously fails, that is a likely reason.

If a transaction goes wrong, the terms are reasonable: on request the issuer refunds the amount including fees. Two exceptions — no refund if you acted fraudulently or with gross negligence, or if you do not report within one month of the transaction. Complaints go to [email protected]. The card-network chargeback procedure and its time frames are not stated, so do not assume a standard chargeback timetable applies.

What can go wrong

This is the weakest part of the card and the reason the total is 5.9 and not 7.5, so I will give it real space rather than a paragraph of hedging.

Trustpilot for CL Card sits around 3.5 to 3.8 out of 5 across roughly 247 to 256 reviews, and the company replies to between about 41% and 69% of negative reviews, slowly — one review describes replies every four to six days. That combination, mediocre rating and slow response, is the pattern that matters. The recurring themes are not random: account freezes and compliance reviews described as running “up to 60+ days”, blocked or unreturned balances from 2023 and later, support bouncing users between Ledger and Baanx, identity verification failures, and phishing emails impersonating the card. A one-star rating on the Baanx page (2.5 out of 5 from six reviews) reports a Ledger device purchase declined twice. Reddit users in r/ledgerwallet note that Baanx can block the card account and the balance, and mention a 2% spending fee. I found no official incidents.

There is also an unverified aggregator claim of Baanx/Monavate insolvency in 2026 — April to May in one telling. A second source did not confirm it, so I am not presenting it as fact. But you should know it is circulating, because if it is true it would be catastrophic and if it is false it would still depress support.

Now the structural point that explains most of the above. The card and the credit line are custodial through the issuer: the e-wallet is held by Monavate, not by you. Your Ledger signer is not required for the card to work, though it is recommended. The terms say funds are not protected by the UK FSCS and are instead safeguarded under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011. That is real protection, but it is a different thing from deposit insurance, and if the issuer fails you are a creditor of an e-money institution rather than a depositor with a bank.

This is worth understanding properly, because it is the single most common misunderstanding about cards like this. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely; and a seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key that anyone who obtains it can use to restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, a stolen key has no built-in recovery, and the network cannot freeze or return anything. Custodial platforms have a real history of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). You are choosing which counterparty to trust, and here it is a Lithuanian e-money issuer and a UK company, not the Ledger device you paid for.

Two further regulatory facts shape what a freeze means. EU rules require an institution to refrain from a transaction or relationship where due diligence cannot be completed and, where necessary, to end existing relationships — that is the legal reason accounts close or freeze pending documents. And nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening is often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as address. A frozen account is not necessarily an accusation against you; it is often a rule firing at a mismatch.

What I could not verify: app-based freeze controls, two-factor authentication and spending limits are not stated. The terms do require you to report a lost or stolen card immediately so it can be blocked, and I could not find whether the app lets you do that yourself between the two. Treat the security features as unknown rather than absent.

I am not going to promise safety or anonymity here, and I would push back on anyone who does. These are KYC-verified, issuer-backed, network-routed cards. Under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from the merchant to your bank or, per its critics, to you — and Apple Pay only replaces the card number with a device-specific number, so tokenisation protects the number, not the balance behind it.

One last operational risk that is not specific to this card but applies to it: card programmes do close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. It is not a prediction about Cl; it is the base rate you are accepting.

What to take instead

If the Cl’s problem is support and freezing, the alternatives below all score higher on the total. None of them is a safe harbour, but they are worth comparing honestly — and note that two of the three have published richer fee information than Cl does, which is itself a form of quality.

Alternative Score What it costs What it funds from Rewards
MetaMask 7.1 / 10 Virtual free, no annual or maintenance fee; Metal $199/year Linea, Base, Monad, Solana; mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, USDT Cashback in mUSD: Virtual 1%; Metal headline 3%, footnote caps 3% at the first $10,000 then 1%; plus $FLY bonus 5X (Virtual) / 7X (Metal)
KAST 6.1 / 10 Annual membership: Standard 0 USD, Premium 1,000 USD, Private 10,000 USD; extra virtual card 2 USD; Standard physical 0 USD plus 40 USD delivery; inactivity fee 1 USD/month after 12 months USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, TRON USD cashback: 1.5% on first 2,000 USD/month (Standard), 2% on 10,000 (Premium), 3% on 40,000 (Private); points +1% / +2%
Zeal 6.1 / 10 Not stated; no fee schedule published Balances in the card Safe in EUR/USD/GBP on Gnosis Chain and Celo; exact coins not stated Up to 4% cashback paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, must be held in the card Safe; rates can change

MetaMask is the strongest of the three and the closest competitor for someone who wants spend without freezing anxiety, though it makes the opposite trade: instead of a Ledger signer, it is a self-custody wallet, so keeping your own keys means keeping your own responsibility. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories — Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay are among them — with proof of residency required, other regions on a waitlist, and US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed per the FAQ. It is a Mastercard, virtual first and instantly, with a Metal version pre-orderable after Virtual approval and one card per user. The issuer is Monavate and the card provider is Crypto Life. On fees: “minimal fee for each transaction”, amount not published, no additional MetaMask fees, no foreign transaction fee and the Mastercard rate is used. A note for you if you are comparing: its residency requirement is explicitly stated, which Cl’s is not, and its ineligible regions “limit sign-ups, not spending”.

KAST is the fee-transparency champion of this group — a 0% top-up, 0% USD card spend, 0% transaction fee, 0% for Apple and Google Pay — and then a real FX fee of 0.5% to 1.75% depending on your residence country, the transaction country and the card programme, plus 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD and 0.50 USD for a declined transaction. Its residence rules are the most honestly written of the three: if your country is not listed, KAST is not available; living in a supported country but holding an ID from a restricted region may still make you ineligible; dual citizens with a supported-country ID may pass; only your own ID counts and a VPN does not bypass. Its tiers are expensive above Standard, and its Terms say acceptable tokens are “currently USDT and USDC”, which conflicts with the PYUSD and RLUSD the app lists.

Zeal is the one to watch rather than to sign up for today. You can spend in 150+ countries, and the card programme is live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. It charges no additional FX fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM may still apply. But no fee schedule is published on zeal.app or the App Store, physical cards are not stated, and the reward requires you to hold GNO in the card Safe to qualify. A 6.1 with this little published information is a very different proposition from a 6.1 with a full table.

If your reason for wanting the Cl is specifically that you run a Ledger device and want no extra exposure, then the honest comparison is not against these three at all — it is against a plain debit card funded by fiat. No crypto card matches a free bank card on reliability, and that is not a defect of these products; it is what paying with crypto for convenience costs.

Who I would recommend it to

Three groups, in order.

First, and most simply: if you already own a Ledger device and treat it as your cold storage, and you want a spending float rather than a savings account, this card does what it says at a cost that is hard to beat. Load what you can afford to have temporarily unavailable, spend it on ordinary things, top it up when it runs low.

Second, if your priority is tap-to-pay convenience — Apple Pay, Google Pay, a free virtual card in a phone you already carry — and you live in one of the named regions. The 1% back is a small bonus, not the reason.

Third, if you are comfortable with the custodial structure and have read the complaints section above and still want it. That is a legitimate choice, not a naive one, and I would rather you make it with the freeze risk in view than with the 0% fees in front of your face.

And to be explicit about who I would not: anyone for whom a frozen balance is a crisis, anyone who needs a physical card for in-person situations where a phone is awkward or dead, anyone outside the listed regions guessing at eligibility, and anyone who needs a guaranteed published conversion rate. On that last point, if you cannot get the conversion and spend fee confirmed in writing, size your experiment accordingly — and if the answer matters to you, ask cl-cards.com and keep the reply.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Ledger Cl card?

It is a payment card from Ledger, provided by Baanx, that lets you spend a crypto balance through the Ledger Wallet app. You load BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and other coins from a Ledger signer, and the card behaves like a prepaid card drawing on that balance. The issuers named are UAB Monavate for EU customers, Monavate Ltd for the UK, and Cross River Bank for the US Visa debit.

How does the Ledger Cl card work in practice?

You fund a balance, and the card spends from it. Crypto-to-fiat conversion happens at the time of purchase, and ATM withdrawals come out in local currency. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and the card is managed in the Card section of the Ledger Wallet app on iOS and Android. The balance is custodial: the e-wallet is held by the issuer, not by you.

Is Ledger Cl a bank?

No, and that distinction protects you. The card is a payment service issued by an electronic money institution or a bank, not a bank account. Under the EU terms the funds are not protected by the UK FSCS; they are safeguarded under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011. That is genuine protection, but it is not the same as deposit insurance, so your money sits differently than it would in a bank current account.

Which countries can get the card?

The card states it is currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico and Brazil. Whether eligibility follows citizenship or residence is not stated, and neither is the position for residents of Russia or Belarus. If you are outside the listed regions, the only reliable answer comes from attempting the sign-up and reading the response you get back.

Does the Ledger Cl card require KYC?

Yes. The terms, Section 4.2, say the issuer verifies your identity before issuing the card or opening the e-wallet. The levels, the exact documents, the processing time and the rejection reasons are not stated on the card’s own pages. A third-party site published in 2026 describes email, phone and an identity document with no proof of address and no selfie — treat that as unofficial and unconfirmed.

What does it cost to hold and use the card?

In the EU fee document dated 03/11/2023: issue €0.00, monthly maintenance €0.00, card payment in pounds €0.00, and a foreign-currency card payment €0.00 plus 0% of the transaction value. A replacement card is €5.00 and cancellation €3.50. ATM cash withdrawal in euro is €2.50, foreign currency €3.00 plus 1.5%, and a balance enquiry €0.35. Unofficial pages also cite a 1.75% conversion and 2% spend fee, which the card does not confirm.

How do I top up the card?

You fund it from a Ledger signer through the Ledger Wallet app, with BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and more named as supported. No top-up fee and no minimum appear on the product page, and the EU fee document lists no load fee. The catch is that the networks are not specified, so check which one the app expects before sending, because a transfer to the wrong network or address can be lost irrecoverably.

Can I add it to Apple Pay?

Yes. Apple Pay is supported, as is Google Pay, which is the main argument for using this card as your everyday spender. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, and each payment uses a one-time code. Note that the issuer can still restrict the tokenised number for certain channels, so a card that works in your phone can still behave differently elsewhere.

Is Ledger Cl safe and is the money insured?

The card is KYC-verified and issued by regulated institutions, but your balance is custodial, so you are trusting the issuer. Funds are safeguarded under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 rather than covered by the FSCS. There is also a live record of account freezes and blocked balances on Trustpilot, at around 3.5 to 3.8 out of 5 across 247 to 256 reviews, with compliance reviews described as lasting 60+ days.

Is it worth it, and how should I decide?

Decide on the basis of what you are buying. If you want the cheapest way to spend a crypto balance you already hold, with a free virtual card and 1% back, it is worth it. If you want a physical card, a published conversion rate, or a promise that your money will be available tomorrow, it is not — the physical Visa appears only in third-party listings and no limit or conversion figures are published officially. MetaMask scores 7.1 and KAST and Zeal 6.1 against the Cl’s 5.9.

Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team