A virtual card you fill with USDT, and everything that costs

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

EMCD is a virtual card that spends a balance you load yourself, and the only way to load it, according to the card’s own help centre, is USDT from the EMCD wallet. That single sentence tells you most of what you need to know before you start. If you already hold USDT and are comfortable converting it and living inside one provider’s ecosystem, EMCD does one narrow job and does it at a price. If you wanted an ordinary-looking bank card to spend from your salary, this is not that, and the gap between the two is where almost every disappointment with this kind of card comes from.

EMCD works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

My score for EMCD is 4.9 out of 10. That is not a judgement on the company or its intentions. It is a judgement on how thin the card is today: no physical card, no cash machine, no 3-D Secure, one funding route, and a help centre that disagrees with the card’s own page about which card network is running it. All of that may change, and the provider describes an active product. But you are the one spending the money today, so you are the one who has to live with today’s version.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict: 4.9 out of 10

EMCD suits a narrow and quite specific person: someone who already holds USDT, is willing to convert it into a card balance, and wants to spend that balance online at merchants that accept virtual cards. The audience note that comes with this score is simply that this is the group it was designed around, and it is worth being honest about that rather than pretending the card is general-purpose.

It does not suit several larger groups. It does not suit anyone who needs cash from a machine, because withdrawals are not supported yet. It does not suit anyone whose merchant requires 3-D Secure, because the card has no 3-D Secure and those merchants will decline. It does not suit anyone whose daily spending exceeds a few thousand dollars a month unless they pay for the Premium tier, and it does not suit anyone who wants to hold a balance in a currency other than the US dollar without paying a conversion charge on every purchase outside the dollar zone.

Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Works wherever Mastercard is accepted, except 13 countries: Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen, China
Cost 2 / 10 Plus issuance $19, Premium $25; maintenance $5 a month; top-up 1.5%; purchase 1.5% + $0.50; conversion outside USD 3%; unofficial: top-up 2.5%
Top-up options 4 / 10 Only USDT from the wallet’s main account, network not disclosed; top-up from $20
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Issuer and legal entity not named, network described inconsistently (Visa and Mastercard); Trustpilot EMCD: account blocks after KYC, slow support
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual only; Apple Pay and Google Pay listed but marked as coming; no ATM; no 3-D Secure
Total 4.9 / 10

The two highest and lowest numbers tell the same story from opposite ends. Availability is genuinely wide, and cost is genuinely expensive. A card that works almost everywhere but takes a percentage plus a fixed fee on every single purchase is not a card you use lightly; it is a card you use when you have no better option for that particular payment.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, in most of the world, with one important caveat about the card network and a long list of exceptions.

The card’s own page says the card works “worldwide” wherever cards are accepted. The help centre gives the narrower and more useful version: the card works wherever Mastercard is accepted, except that payments are not available in Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen, China. That is thirteen countries.

There is also a notice on the page saying some EMCD services are unavailable in certain jurisdictions, without naming which ones. The help-centre article on this was previously reported to list Russia as restricted. If you live somewhere that is not on the named list but might fall under that unnamed notice, you have no way to check from the public pages alone, and that is a question for support before you commit money.

Two things are not stated on the public pages: what the legal entity behind the card is, and which country registered it. The card page does not name the issuer or list any licences. That is not automatically a red flag, since plenty of legitimate programmes are run by licensed companies that do not front the marketing, but it does mean you are being asked to trust a structure you cannot inspect from here.

How to get it

You verify your identity, fund the account, and the card appears in your app. The card is virtual. There is no physical card to wait for, and the card page is explicit about that: currently only virtual cards are offered. So there is no delivery to track and no shipping fee.

The order process requires a $15 funding that stays in the balance rather than being spent on a fee. Identity verification is described as standard EMCD verification needing an ID document. Whether proof of address is required and what age threshold applies are not stated on the public pages.

After your first top-up, mandatory identity verification kicks in. You need a valid government ID, the check usually takes a few minutes, and the card then activates automatically. If verification fails, the advice is to retry with a different document.

The card is a virtual card. The card page calls it a Visa Platinum; the help centre says it runs on Mastercard, virtual and denominated in US dollars. Those two statements cannot both be true, and until the provider resolves it you should not assume you know which network your money moves across. The card currency is not stated on the card page either.

Cards are valid for two years, after which a new card with a new number is opened. That matters more than it sounds: a new number means anything you have stored the old one in has to be replaced.

One contradiction worth pausing on

Apple Pay and Google Pay are the two questions readers ask most, and here the provider contradicts itself in a way that will affect you. The FAQ says the card works with both. The feature list marks both as “Coming soon”. The help centre says they work. So one of those pages is ahead of the other, and the honest answer is: the support article says yes, the product page says not yet, and you should test it rather than plan around it.

What it really costs: Fees

This is where the 2 out of 10 comes from, and it is the section I would read twice before doing anything else. The card has three tiers: Active, free to issue; Plus at $19; and Premium at $25. Whether the $19 and $25 are one-off or recurring is not stated on the page.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a EMCD payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

A separate cost breakdown lists monthly maintenance at $5, closure at $15, top-up at 1.5%, purchase at 1.5% plus $0.50 per transaction, a declined payment at $1.50, a refund at $0.50, a reversal at $2.00, and a chargeback at $35. Non-dollar purchases may carry a 3% bank conversion fee.

Fee or limit Value
Active issuance Free
Plus issuance $19
Premium issuance $25
Monthly maintenance $5
Account closure $15
Top-up fee 1.5%
Purchase fee 1.5% + $0.50 per transaction
Declined payment $1.50
Refund $0.50
Reversal $2.00
Chargeback $35
Non-USD purchase (issuing bank) 3%

One page states “0% fees” on standard purchases for the Active tier. The fee schedule above contradicts it, and the schedule is the one that lists itemised amounts. So if you are on Active, you should assume the itemised schedule applies until told otherwise, not the “0%” marketing line.

An unofficial third-party source lists a 2.5% top-up and conversion fee, no monthly or annual fee, and no FX fees. That is not confirmed by the card, and it disagrees with the official schedule on both the top-up percentage and the monthly fee. Treat it as a data point, not a plan.

What three ordinary payments actually cost

Walk with me through three everyday situations and apply the numbers above.

A $30 supermarket shop. The purchase fee is 1.5% of $30, which is $0.45, plus $0.50, so $0.95 on a $30 basket. Add 1.5% if you topped up from USDT in the same week, and add 3% if the shop is not in the dollar zone and your issuing bank applies its own conversion. That last one is the one people are surprised by: you can pay 1.5% to the provider and another 3% to the bank without either of them being dishonest.

A $12 coffee shop. The fixed $0.50 is a significant part of the cost, and the percentage is $0.18. Your effective cost is $0.68, before any top-up fee. This is a higher proportion of the total than on larger payments.

A $400 flight. The purchase fee is $6.00 plus $0.50, so $6.50. Here the percentage finally feels proportionate, which is the tell: this card only makes sense for payments large enough to absorb the fixed charge. If you are imagining using it for coffee and groceries, the arithmetic is against you.

Two more numbers belong here. The card balance is held in US dollars, and whether you can hold a multi-currency balance is not stated. And ATM withdrawals are not available: the help centre says the card does not currently support cash withdrawals, and the FAQ says withdrawals “will be” available once a physical card launches. Cash machine fees are therefore not a current cost, because there is no cash machine use to charge for.

Limits are worth reading as the real ceiling on this card. Plus has limits of $1,000 per transaction, $3,000 daily and $10,000 monthly. Premium has $10,000, $50,000 and $400,000. You can hold up to two active cards at once, and you can set limits yourself in the app. No numeric limits are published for the Active tier, though a Light and Active article exist in the help centre with amounts I did not read.

How to Top up

Top up with USDT, from the Coinhold Wallet’s main account, and that is the whole method. The network is not stated anywhere on the public pages, which is the single most important operational fact you need and the one you will have to ask support for yourself.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up EMCD starts with a transfer to the right network

Minimum first top-up is $20, and the top-up fee is 1.5%. Of the first top-up, $15 is held as reserve until your total card spending exceeds $2,500. That reserve is not a fee, but it is money you cannot spend at the start, and if you are funding the card with exactly the minimum you will spend part of it on nothing.

Top-ups come from USDT in the main account and typically land within three to five minutes. The terms depend on your card plan and may change. You cannot top up by card number. Who pays the network fee for the transfer is not stated.

There are two more constraints about getting money back out, and they are the ones I would not gloss over. A free transfer from the card balance back to the main account is not supported. When you close the account, the remaining US dollar balance is converted to USDT and credited to your main EMCD account. And the issuing bank may close the card if the balance is $20 or less, or if there is no activity for 30 days.

Read those three together and you see the shape of the product: money goes in as USDT, money comes out as USDT, and if you go quiet the card may be closed and your balance converted. There is no free exit, and the inactivity rule means an unused card can end on its own.

Because the network is not disclosed, the risk of sending USDT on the wrong chain is entirely on you, and blockchain transfers are irreversible. Get this one right before you send anything, and ask support which networks are supported for the deposit specifically.

Paying with it every day

The card is managed in the EMCD app. You can freeze and unfreeze it, set limits, and report loss or unauthorised transactions to support for a reissue.

Apple Pay and Google Pay: the help centre says the card works with both; the feature list on the card page marks both as “Coming soon”. Cashback is not mentioned anywhere in the materials, so treat any expectation of rewards as unfounded. Blocked merchants are not stated on the card page, but the help centre lists blocked categories: fuel, ride-hailing, AI subscriptions, money transfers, crypto exchanges, gambling, brokerage, and most entertainment except cinemas and theatres.

That list is worth reading twice, because two of those categories are everyday. No fuel means no filling the car. No ride-hailing means no app-based taxis. Those are not exotic categories; for a lot of people they are the majority of card spending, and the fact that the categories are blocked by the issuer’s policy rather than by law does not help you at the till.

There is no 3-D Secure on this card. Online merchants that require it will decline the payment. That is the single most common technical reason a crypto virtual card gets refused, and it is not a fault you can fix from the app.

Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards anyway, because the merchant can look up the card’s issuing institution and country from the number’s first six or eight digits. If that country differs from your billing address, some shops apply extra scrutiny. A declined payment also leaves a hold on funds that can persist for days, and here that hold would cost you $1.50.

Refund, reversal and chargeback fees are listed at $0.50, $2.00 and $35 respectively. The dispute procedure and the time frames are not stated. The $35 chargeback fee is high enough that I would not open a dispute over a small purchase without first finding out what the process costs you in practice.

What can go wrong

Start with the complaints, because they are the most concrete evidence available.

Trustpilot reviews for EMCD as a company are mixed. As of 20 October 2026 the page showed 190 reviews with the headline score hidden “due to a breach of guidelines”, and the visible distribution was 83% five-star and 11% one-star; EMCD says it removed fake reviews. The recurring themes are accounts blocked or banned after KYC or AML review between November 2025 and April 2026, slow KYC and document checks in November 2025, referral and welcome bonuses unpaid without KYC in November 2025, slow or missing support replies between November 2025 and March 2026, and US users blocked since 1 May 2025.

Positive reviews cite 12% annual interest and fast payouts, and a 2025 review says it always paid. No complaint specific to the Coinhold or EMCD card was found, and no Reddit threads. No official incidents were found either. So: the company-level complaints are real and dated, but they are about the exchange and account side more than the card.

Then the structural risks. The card is custodial, meaning EMCD and Coinhold hold the credentials and the balance, so you must trust them completely with the funds you have loaded. Whether customer funds are safeguarded or insured is not stated. Because the card has no 3-D Secure, there is no extra identity step on online payments, and the protections that shift liability under 3-D Secure do not apply to you here.

The card may be closed on you for inactivity or a low balance, as described in the funding section. And the largest single uncertainty is the identity of the issuer and legal entity, which is not named on the card page, combined with the network contradiction between the card page and the help centre. An unnamed issuer is not the same as an unlicensed one, but it removes a question you would otherwise be able to answer before you load money.

Add the general category risks that apply to any custodial crypto card: custodial platforms have a history of failure, including Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin Network bridge, and holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk that a self-custody wallet does not. Transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on an unsupported network can be lost. And stablecoins can depeg, which would hit your balance directly.

What to take instead

Three alternatives, each with a different shape, so the right one depends on what you actually need. My scores for them are 6.0, 6.4 and 6.2 respectively, all above this card’s.

Bybit Card scores 6.0. It offers virtual and physical cards across a long list of regions including Kazakhstan, Georgia, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Argentina and Asia Pacific, with the application asking for your country of residence and registering interest if it is unsupported. It is explicitly not for European Economic Area customers. Virtual issuance is free in all regions until further notice; physical issuance costs vary by region, from none in Brazil and Mexico to 29.99 USD in Australia. There is no annual fee. Crypto conversion is 0.9% on top of the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, and 0.5% in Argentina. FX is 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil and 1% in Peru. Cashback from 5 October 2026 runs from 2% at the Base tier to 10% at Infinite, with monthly caps and spend thresholds. The catch for you: it is not available in the EEA, and it draws on the Funding Account rather than having its own balance.

Coinbase Card scores 6.4. It is a Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical, available in all US states except Hawaii, following United States identity rules. There are zero spending fees and no annual fees, and crypto on the Coinbase balance can be spent directly, converted to US dollars. Optional crypto rewards are available on every purchase for US card users. The catch is obvious if you are outside the United States: it is US-only.

OKX scores 6.2. It launched in the EU plus Norway on 28 January 2026, excluding Iceland and Liechtenstein, and runs a euro-denominated virtual Mastercard debit card linked to OKX Pay, issued through an unnamed European licensed payment provider. There is no card fee, no transaction fee and no OKX FX fee; the conversion spread is reported as 0.1% by a May 2026 explainer against 0.4% in the launch release. You fund it with USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay; other coins must be converted first, there is no auto top-up, and a payment is declined if the balance is insufficient. Cashback is only on USDG purchases, from 2% capped at 10 euros a month up to 10% capped at 1,000.

EMCD Bybit Card Coinbase Card OKX
Score 4.9 6.0 6.4 6.2
Physical card Not yet Yes, phased Yes Not mentioned
Where Wherever Mastercard is accepted, except 13 countries Not for EEA customers US states except Hawaii EU plus Norway, no Iceland or Liechtenstein
Funding USDT from wallet main account Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn Bank link or Coinbase crypto balance USDC or USDG in OKX Pay
Card fee $5 a month maintenance No annual fee No annual fee None
Rewards Not mentioned 2% to 10% cashback by tier Optional crypto rewards, US users Cashback on USDG only

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend EMCD to a person who already sits on USDT in the EMCD wallet, who spends in modest amounts online, who does not need cash, and who has accepted that every purchase carries a percentage plus a fixed fee. For that person, 4.9 feels almost generous, because the card does something most banks still will not: let you turn a stablecoin balance into everyday card payments.

I would not recommend it to anyone optimising card cost. The 1.5% plus $0.50 purchase fee, the 1.5% top-up fee, the possible 3% conversion fee and the $5 monthly maintenance stack into a running cost that no fiat debit card charges. If your goal is cheap everyday spending, this is the wrong instrument.

I would hold off if any of these apply to you: you need cash from a machine, your merchants require 3-D Secure, you buy fuel or ride-hailing, you are in the United States, you spend more than the tier limits, or you cannot get a straight answer from support about the issuer and the USDT network. On that last point I would treat silence as an answer. An unnamed issuing entity and an undisclosed transfer network are two gaps that together mean you are being asked to load money before you can see the structure. Ask, and see whether you get a clear reply.

Frequently asked questions

What is EMCD card?

EMCD is a virtual payment card that spends a balance you load yourself. You convert or deposit funds into a card balance and the card draws down that balance, so it cannot overdraw. The card is currently virtual only, with no physical version available yet, and it is described as a Visa Platinum on the card page while the help centre says Mastercard. The balance is held in US dollars, and the only funding route described is USDT from the EMCD wallet’s main account.

Is EMCD a bank?

Not as far as the public pages say. EMCD’s card page does not name the legal entity, the registration country, the card issuer or any licence. That is different from saying it is not regulated, but it means you cannot check the structure from the card’s own materials. An unofficial third-party listing also names an issuer not identified and lists the platform as Coinhold, offered by EMCD.io.

Who can get the EMCD card?

The card works wherever Mastercard is accepted, with thirteen exceptions where payments are not available: Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen and China. A separate notice says some EMCD services are unavailable in certain jurisdictions without naming them. Identity verification is required, with a valid government ID, and the age threshold and proof-of-address requirement are not stated on the public pages.

How do I get and activate the EMCD card?

You verify your identity in the app, fund the account with at least $20 of USDT, and the virtual card appears. The order itself requires $15 of funding that stays in your balance. Mandatory verification after the first top-up takes a few minutes with a valid government ID, and the card then activates automatically. If verification fails, retry with a different document. Cards are valid two years, after which a new card with a new number is issued.

Is the EMCD card free?

No, not really. The Active tier is free to issue, but there is $5 monthly maintenance on the account, Plus costs $19 and Premium $25 to issue. The purchase fee is 1.5% plus $0.50 per transaction, the top-up fee is 1.5%, closure costs $15, and a declined payment costs $1.50. One page advertises “0% fees” on Active, but the itemised fee schedule contradicts it, and the schedule is the more specific document.

How do I top up the EMCD card, and can I take money out?

You top up with USDT from the Coinhold Wallet’s main account, minimum $20, with a 1.5% fee, typically arriving in three to five minutes. The network is not stated on the public pages, so ask support before sending, because a wrong network means an irreversible loss. Free transfer back to the main account is not supported; on closure the remaining balance is converted to USDT and credited to your main account.

Can I use the EMCD card in Apple Pay and Google Pay?

Conflicting answers. The help centre says the card works with both Apple Pay and Google Pay, while the feature list on the card page marks both as “Coming soon”. Test it with a small payment rather than planning around it. Separately, the help centre lists blocked merchant categories including fuel, ride-hailing, crypto exchanges, gambling, money transfers, brokerage, AI subscriptions and most entertainment except cinemas and theatres.

Is EMCD card safe?

The card is custodial, so the provider holds the credentials and you must trust it completely; whether funds are safeguarded or insured is not stated. The card has no 3-D Secure, so merchants requiring it will decline and you lose the liability shift that authentication provides. The card page does not name the issuer or legal entity. Company-level Trustpilot reviews include accounts blocked after KYC and slow support replies, and US users have been blocked since 1 May 2025.

Can I withdraw money from an ATM?

No. Cash withdrawals are not currently supported, and the FAQ says withdrawals “will be” available once a physical card launches. There is no physical card at present either, so this is the clearest gap between EMCD and an ordinary bank card. Plan on spending the balance online only, and remember the $20-or-less and 30-day inactivity rules that can get the card closed on you.

Is the EMCD card worth it?

Worth it if you already hold USDT and want to convert a balance into online card payments. Not worth it if you are trying to reduce everyday spending costs: the purchase fee, top-up fee, possible 3% conversion fee and $5 monthly maintenance add up to more than any normal debit card charges. My overall score is 4.9 out of 10, with the strongest mark for availability and the weakest for cost, and that contrast is the honest summary of the product.

Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team