Kontigo card, reviewed from the outside
Kontigo markets itself as the first international credit and debit card paid in USDC, the US-dollar stablecoin, and built around the idea that your crypto earns yield while you spend it. That pitch sounds clean, but as a review reader you should know that most of the practical details, such as where the card is issued, what it actually costs day to day, and which network it runs on, are not stated on Kontigo’s public pages. This review walks through what is published, what is not, and what that gap means if you are considering the card.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Kontigo sits at 4.7 out of 10 in my scoring. The product idea is genuinely interesting: a card that draws directly from a USDC balance you control, with yield attached. The reality, however, is thin on disclosed detail, and that pulls the score down hard on cost, top-up and everyday use. A reader who already holds USDC and wants a self-custody spending route may find it appealing; a reader who needs predictable fees, a clear list of supported countries, or a card they can hand to a merchant without explaining what USDC is will probably not.
| Criterion | Score | Why it scores that way |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | The card’s issuing countries are not stated; the footer lists several Latin American countries plus the US and Spain, but those are not tied to card availability. Sanctioned and high-risk jurisdictions are excluded. |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issuance, monthly, conversion, FX and ATM fees are not disclosed on the public site. The home page advertises send, receive and top-up in USDC “without commissions,” but the real spread and fees appear only in the app. |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Card purchases are paid from a USDC balance, and the app runs on the Base network. Other coins and other networks are not named. |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Kontigo, Inc. is a Delaware corporation, but the card’s issuer, BIN sponsor and any licences are not named. A third-party report describes a hack that drained around 340,905 USDC from 1,005 accounts; the company says refunds were processed. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Card form factor, mobile wallet support and ATM behaviour are not stated. The site mentions hybrid, credit and debit cards but not which one you actually get, nor on which network. |
| Total | 4.7 / 10 |
The audience this card seems aimed at is a Latin American user who is already saving and spending in USDC and who values the self-custody framing. If that is you, the rest of this review will tell you what to check before you sign up.
Will they give you the card
The first thing I look for on any card page is a list of the countries where the card is actually issued, and on Kontigo that list is absent. The terms say availability “depends on the country of residence” and that users in sanctioned or high-risk jurisdictions are not permitted, but they do not name the countries the card is available in.
What the public site does show is a footer labelled “Países” with Argentina, Bolivia, Brasil, Chile, Colombia, El Salvador, España, Estados Unidos, México and Perú. The footer does not explicitly tie these to card issuance, so I would not treat it as a list of supported countries on its own. The combination of “not stated” on the card page and a list in the footer is ambiguous, and the official terms do not resolve it.
If you live in one of those countries you may be eligible; if you do not, the terms give you no positive answer to rely on. In practice you will only know for sure after you start a sign-up and hit the identity check.
The terms are also clear that sanctioned and high-risk jurisdictions are not permitted, which is standard for any regulated financial product. Where Kontigo differs is that the line is not backed up by a published list of the countries that count as sanctioned or high-risk for the purposes of the card. You will find out only at the verification step.
How to get it
The public site does not walk you through the sign-up flow for the card. The general terms say identity must be verified before you use any service, and that verification may include name, date of birth, address, nationality, ID documents and financial information. The terms also allow Kontigo to run sanctions and credit checks, and they limit you to one account per user.
The help centre lists topics named “Niveles Kontigo” (levels), “Kontigo Cash,” “Kochinitos” and “Kontigo Credit,” which suggests there are account tiers, but the public pages do not describe what each tier unlocks. The developer documentation mentions that deposit methods depend on the KYC level achieved, but it does not list what those levels are or what each one lets you do. Processing time, rejection reasons and the steps specific to the card are not stated.
A Spanish-language third-party piece says users can obtain a stablecoin card with Bitcoin cashback and a 10 percent USDC yield, framed as promotional. That claim is unofficial and not confirmed by Kontigo, so I would not plan around it.
In short, the only published route into the card is the standard identity check, and the rest of the journey is behind the app.
Fees: what it really costs
The most important section of this review, and also the thinnest. Kontigo’s terms say fees, commissions and spreads are shown in the app and may change. The home page advertises that you can send, receive and top up in USDC “without commissions,” but the public site does not break out what you pay when you actually spend.

| Fee or limit | What Kontigo says |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | not stated |
| Monthly or annual fee | not stated |
| Crypto conversion / spread | shown in the app, not published |
| FX fee on non-USDC spend | not stated |
| ATM withdrawals | not stated |
| Daily spending limit | not stated |
| Monthly spending limit | not stated |
Three everyday payments to think through:
- A coffee in your local currency. You pay from a USDC balance. The price is whatever the merchant charges in local currency, plus whatever FX and conversion spread the app applies at the moment of authorisation. None of those numbers are public.
- A subscription in US dollars. If the merchant bills in USD you may avoid an FX step, but the conversion from USDC to USD still happens, and the spread is not disclosed.
- A cash withdrawal at an ATM. The site does not state whether the card supports ATM cash out, what the fee is, or whether there is a daily cap.
This is a card that asks you to commit to a balance and a flow before it tells you the price. If you are not comfortable discovering the cost in the app on the day, this is a hard product to evaluate in advance.
One more note on currencies: the terms say fiat accepted includes USD and other local currencies shown in the platform, and that liquidated balances may be held in a fiat currency Kontigo chooses (for example USD). The card’s billing currency is not stated.
Top up: how to fund the card
The card’s spending is paid directly from your USDC balance, and the app runs on Base, the Ethereum layer-2 network. That is the clearest part of the funding story, and it is also the limit of it.

- You top up in USDC. Other coins are not stated as accepted for the card, and the home page language is consistently USDC.
- The network is Base. The app uses it because the card draws from a self-custodied USDC balance; Base is where the wallet lives. Other networks are not named, so do not assume you can send USDC from, say, Ethereum mainnet or Polygon and have it land cleanly.
- Top-up is advertised as commission-free on the home page, but as with the rest of the fee picture, the real cost is the spread and the on-chain network fee paid to the Base network itself, not to Kontigo.
- Withdrawals out are described in the terms. You can transfer digital assets to an external wallet “when that feature is available,” and after account closure you have a reasonable period (the terms give 30 days as an example) to instruct the withdrawal. If you do not, Kontigo may sell the assets and hold the proceeds in a fiat currency it chooses, with no interest paid. Closing the account requires no pending obligations and either a zero balance or a withdrawal already instructed.
The practical takeaway: treat Base USDC as the only funding rail until Kontigo publishes more, and never send USDC on a different network to the deposit address you are given. A transfer on the wrong network is, in general, lost or requires manual support intervention that may not succeed.
Paying with it every day
The site speaks of a hybrid, credit and debit card but does not say which one a typical applicant receives, nor on which network (Visa or Mastercard). That makes everyday use hard to describe with confidence. A few things are stated, and a few things are not.
- Yield. The card is marketed as one “that earns yield,” meaning the USDC balance accrues a return. The rate and how the yield is paid out are not stated.
- Cashback. No cashback rate is published. The unofficial third-party mention of Bitcoin cashback is not confirmed by Kontigo.
- Mobile wallets. Apple Pay and Google Pay support are not stated. Given the self-custody model and the network choice, I would not assume tokenisation is available until the app confirms it.
- Blocked merchant categories. The site does not publish a list of blocked MCCs, so I cannot tell you in advance whether a specific type of merchant (gambling, crypto purchases, and so on) will be declined.
- App. The app is on Google Play and the App Store, and the site cites “over 10,000” user reviews. The store rating itself is not stated.
- Disputes. The terms call for good-faith negotiation of up to 15 business days after written notice, and then the courts of Delaware. Local consumer protection authorities remain available. The terms do not mention chargebacks as a feature. They do tell you to report unrecognised transactions as soon as possible.
The combination of “self-custody,” “transactions are generally final” and “courts of Delaware” is a reminder that if something goes wrong, the dispute path is not the standard chargeback one most cardholders are used to.
What can go wrong
This is where the review needs to slow down. The risks here are not theoretical, and they are not the same risks you would weigh on a bank-issued card.
Self-custody and irreversibility. The footer says users hold assets in their own custody, and the terms add that assets may be in a self-custodied wallet or with third-party custodians. Kontigo cannot access or recover your private keys, and you alone are responsible for your credentials. Transactions on a blockchain are generally final. If a phishing attack, clipboard-hijacking malware or a lost seed phrase drains your wallet, the network cannot freeze or return the funds.
Company and issuer opacity. Kontigo, Inc. is a Delaware corporation. The card’s issuer, BIN sponsor and any licences are not named on the public site, and the footer adds that Kontigo does not provide financial services or take deposits and that assets are held in user custody. That is consistent with a programme-manager model, where Kontigo markets the card while a licensed bank or e-money institution sits behind it, but the licensed party is not identified. For a card product this is a meaningful gap: the entity that actually has to honour your transactions is not stated.
Reported security incident. A third-party source, not verified by me, describes a hack that drained 340,905.28 USDC from 1,005 user accounts; the company said refunds were processed. Treat the figures as unofficial until Kontigo confirms them, but the shape of the story, a self-custody product with a drain event and a refund commitment, is exactly the kind of thing to ask the support team about before you load meaningful funds. The same source mentions a US$20M seed round in December 2025.
No 2FA, freeze or insurance stated. The site does not state whether the app supports 2FA, whether you can freeze the card, or whether there is any insurance on balances. The general terms point at “communication via in-app messages, push, email, SMS, messaging apps” and the help centre shows a WhatsApp contact channel, but no direct phone, chat or email line is listed.
Language and support. Help-centre pages are in Spanish, with English article pages also available. If your working language is something else, support will be an extra step.
Programme risk. Crypto card programmes have been shut down before when a network or issuer pulled support. The terms give Kontigo room to change fees and features, and they do not promise a specific notice period for changes. Read the terms for the change-of-terms language before you commit.
What to take instead
If the Kontigo idea appeals but the disclosure gaps worry you, three alternatives to weigh. They are more transparent on the cost side, and each is honest about its own limits.
RedotPay (6.9 / 10). A virtual or physical card on Visa, with USD and HKD billing options, and a published fee table. The KYC list is explicit, and the card-issuance list is dated and named. The trade-off is a higher entry cost (10 USD virtual, 100 USD physical) and a 1 percent conversion fee by default.
Bitpanda (6.5 / 10). A physical Visa debit in EUR, available to residents of euro-area countries with a verified account. Account opening, monthly cost and the first shipment are free, the FX fee is EUR 0 with a Visa mark-up on top, and the asset you spend is auto-converted to EUR at payment. Cashback is published in a range, with the lower figure being 1 percent on crypto.
Wirex (6.7 / 10). A virtual and physical Visa (and in some regions Mastercard) card with a published fee table by region and a published cryptoback rate from 0.5 percent to 8 percent in WXT, depending on tier. The marketing text claims no annual or foreign exchange fees, though the FX rate shown at confirmation is the real number. Top-up accepts SEPA, Faster Payments, ACH and PIX, and spending can draw on cash, stablecoins or other cryptocurrencies.
Each of these names an issuer, names its regulator where relevant, and publishes its fee table. None of them is a perfect substitute for Kontigo’s self-custody model, and each has its own country restrictions, so check those before you switch.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Kontigo to a reader who already lives in USDC, who is comfortable with a self-custody wallet on Base, and who is happy to discover the real cost of a payment inside the app on the day. If you specifically want yield on a balance you control and a card that draws on it without an intermediate custodian, Kontigo’s pitch is one of the few that lines up with that.
I would not recommend it to a reader who needs an issuance country list before they apply, who needs a published fee table to plan a budget, who plans to use a mobile wallet day to day, or who expects a standard chargeback dispute path if a merchant fails to deliver. The combination of “issuer not named,” “fees shown in the app” and “courts of Delaware” makes this a card to adopt with eyes open and a balance you can afford to see misbehave.
If those limits sound like too much, the alternatives above are more transparent on most of the same dimensions. If they sound fine, the next step is to start the sign-up, run the identity check, and look at the in-app fee screen before you load a balance that matters.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kontigo card?
The Kontigo card is a payment card tied to a USDC stablecoin balance held in self-custody, marketed as the first international credit and debit card paid in USDC that earns yield on the balance. The card form factor, network and issuer are not stated on the public site.
How does the Kontigo card work?
Card purchases draw directly from a USDC balance in the user’s own wallet, and the app runs on the Base network. At payment, USDC is converted to the merchant’s currency; the rate and any spread are shown in the app rather than on the website.
Is Kontigo a bank?
No. The footer states that Kontigo does not provide financial services or take deposits, and that assets are held in user custody. Kontigo, Inc. is a Delaware corporation, but the card’s issuer and any banking or e-money licence are not named on the public pages.
Who owns Kontigo?
Kontigo, Inc. is identified as a Delaware corporation on the site. A third-party report mentions a US$20 million seed round in December 2025, but the investor names and the full ownership picture are not on Kontigo’s public pages.
Is the Kontigo card available in my country?
The card’s issuing countries are not stated. The footer lists Argentina, Bolivia, Brasil, Chile, Colombia, El Salvador, España, Estados Unidos, México and Perú under “Países,” but does not explicitly tie those to card availability, and the terms only say availability depends on country of residence and excludes sanctioned or high-risk jurisdictions.
How do I top up the Kontigo card?
You top up in USDC, and the app runs on Base. The home page advertises top-up in USDC as commission-free, but you still pay the on-chain network fee to Base. Other coins and other networks are not stated as supported for the card, and a deposit on the wrong network may be lost.
Does the Kontigo card require KYC?
Yes. The terms say identity must be verified before you use any service, and that the check can include name, date of birth, address, nationality, ID documents and financial information, plus sanctions and credit screening. One account per user.
Is the Kontigo card safe?
The site describes a self-custody model where you hold the keys, and the terms say transactions are generally final. A third-party report describes a hack that drained around 340,905 USDC from 1,005 accounts, with the company saying refunds were processed; treat those figures as unofficial. Standard features like 2FA, card freeze and insurance are not stated.
Can I add the Kontigo card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Mobile wallet support is not stated on the public site. The card form factor, network and tokenisation options are not described, so I would not assume Apple Pay or Google Pay works until the app confirms it.
How do I close my Kontigo account?
The terms say you can close the account once there are no pending obligations and either a zero balance or a withdrawal already instructed. Digital assets can be transferred to an external wallet “when that feature is available,” and after closure you typically have around 30 days to instruct the withdrawal before Kontigo may sell the assets and hold the proceeds in a fiat currency of its choice.
App and neobank cards – cryptocardsranked
Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team
