The card works, the fees bite, the reviews worry

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Trastra card, the euro card funded from the Mover wallet, is one of those products that solves a real problem for a specific person while staying hard to recommend to everyone else. On the mechanics it holds together: a prepaid Visa debit card you can load from crypto, spend anywhere Visa is accepted, and draw euros from ATMs across Europe, with no foreign-exchange charge on euro purchases inside the EEA. On the cost side it asks more than many rivals: EUR 9.00 to order the card, EUR 15.00 a year to keep it, and 3% the moment you pay in a currency other than the euro. And on the trust side the picture is genuinely mixed — 2.0 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 747 reviews, with recurring stories of frozen balances and refused withdrawals, plus unverified reports of insolvency letters aimed at a related entity.

Trastra works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

If you are an EEA resident who already holds crypto and wants a euro card without a traditional bank account, this one does the job. If you are outside Europe, hold no crypto, or just want a cheap everyday debit card, this is not the card for you — and I would say so before you read another paragraph.

The score: 4.1 out of 10, and why

Here is the whole card in one table, criterion by criterion, with my reasons in plain words. The numbers are the numbers; the explanations are mine.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Trastra starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why, in short
Who can get it 5 / 10 Open in 31 listed countries, among them Germany, France and the UK; the promise is “will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area (EEA)”, but for non-European residents the answer is “Not at the moment.”
Cost 3 / 10 Order the card EUR 9.00, keep it EUR 15.00 a year, pay 3% when the purchase is not in euros, withdraw euros EUR 2.25; delivery is free.
Top-up options 4 / 10 You top up with crypto inside the Mover wallet and the exchange to euros is free — but the coins and the networks are not named anywhere on the page.
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issued by UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ‘Contis’”, an e-money institution under Bank of Lithuania licence No. 53; Trustpilot 2.0 out of 5 across 747 reviews, with frozen funds, refused withdrawals and letters about the bankruptcy of a related company.
Everyday use 6 / 10 ATMs across Europe and a personal euro IBAN; unofficially it works with Google Pay and Apple Pay; no virtual card is named.
Total 4.1 / 10 A card that does one job cleanly, priced above its peers, on top of a service with real complaint volume.

The everyday-use mark is the highest and it is deserved: an ATM network and a euro IBAN are exactly what makes a card feel normal. The cost mark is the lowest, and it is the one most likely to change your decision, because unlike the complaints — which you cannot verify from the outside — every euro figure is printed on the page. The top-up mark sits in the middle for a reason that will become obvious in a moment: the product is simple to describe and frustratingly vague to use.

Who they will give the card to

The rule reads as residence-based, not citizenship-based. The card is available in 31 listed countries, and Germany, France and the United Kingdom are among them. The company says it “will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area (EEA)”, so the direction of travel is more countries rather than fewer. For people living outside Europe the page gives a flat answer: “Not at the moment.”

That distinction matters more than it sounds. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often follow citizenship and country of birth rather than the address you type into a form. So a non-European living in France and a French citizen living in Asia are not in the same position, and the page only speaks to the first of those.

One thing I could not establish: the page says nothing about documents, proof of address or a minimum age. Those are normal requirements in this industry and will certainly apply somewhere in the sign-up, but I am not going to guess at them for you. What the page does put on record is the security side after you are in: a Visa identity check, 3D Secure, two-factor authentication and device authorisation.

How to get it

The card is described as a prepaid debit card, accepted at Visa merchants worldwide. That is the whole product in one sentence, and it is worth pausing on what a prepaid card means: the card spends a balance you have already loaded, and it cannot overdraw because there is nothing behind it. Money sits in an account until you spend it, and when it is gone the card simply stops.

Whether you get a physical card, a virtual one, or both is not stated, though the ATM function implies a plastic card in your hand. The currency is the euro, and the account comes with a dedicated personal euro IBAN.

Delivery is free, to the 31 listed countries, which on the card’s own wording is the EEA in progress. How long delivery takes, and what a replacement costs if you lose it in a canal, are not stated — so budget for the second one being a surprise.

The steps themselves are not a puzzle: you would start from the Mover side, complete whatever verification the sign-up asks for, order the card, and load it. How to activate the card, whether a first top-up is required before it ships, and how to add it to a phone wallet are all questions I could not answer from the page.

Fees: what a Trastra payment really costs

This is the section that decides the card for most people, so here is every figure the card publishes, in one table, with no arithmetic of my own.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Trastra payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Payment account creation Free
Card order EUR 9.00, taken from your first top-up
Card delivery Free
Card management fee EUR 15.00 per year; the page says this is “not charged by Mover”; first charge within 45 days of ordering
Purchase not in EUR (online or offline) 3%
Crypto to EUR exchange Free, rate set at the transaction
Card-to-card transfer EUR 0.20
Euro cash withdrawal (ATM) EUR 2.25
Non-euro or outside-EEA cash withdrawal EUR 2.25 plus 3%
Balance inquiry EUR 0.35
PIN change EUR 0.40
Maximum card balance EUR 8,000
Daily card spend EUR 7,700
Daily ATM withdrawal EUR 300
Overall daily spend (purchases plus ATM) EUR 8,000
Weekly, monthly, annual limits None stated

A few everyday payments, walked through, because that is where fees hide.

A coffee in Berlin, paid in euros. This is the clean case. The purchase is in EUR, so the 3% does not apply, the card balance is already in euros, and nothing is converted. You pay the price on the till.

A subscription billed in dollars. Here the 3% applies, because the purchase is not in EUR — online or offline, the page does not distinguish. Add to that whatever the merchant’s own currency pricing does to your statement, and you have a recurring 3% drag on any dollar-denominated service you keep.

Cash from a machine in Paris. A euro withdrawal costs EUR 2.25. That is a flat price, and on a EUR 20 withdrawal it is a serious percentage; on EUR 100 it is more tolerable. Withdraw euros and the same machine costs EUR 2.25 plus 3% — and some ATM operators add their own fee on top, which the card does not control.

The ATM daily limit of EUR 300 and the overall daily spend of EUR 8,000 are worth noticing. The EUR 300 a day cash ceiling is low enough that a holiday or a rented car deposit will not work from one machine in one day. The EUR 8,000 balance ceiling means this is a spending tool, not a place to hold money.

What I could not find: the fee for closing the account, or any cost for moving a balance back into crypto. If either exists, it is not on the page.

How to top it up

Topping up is the whole idea, and it is where the card is clearest about the concept and vaguest about the detail. You top up “using cryptocurrencies in your Mover wallet”. The exchange from crypto to euro is marked “Free”, with the rate set at the moment of the transaction.

Which coins and which networks are not named. That is not a small gap. On any other network, sending a token to an address that does not support it is how funds go missing: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on an unsupported network, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee attached. The same applies to the gas fee — the cost of the deposit itself — which the blockchain charges and the card provider does not.

The EUR 9.00 card order fee comes out of your first top-up. The page notes it can be covered by Smart Treasury bonuses. The top-up minimum is not stated, and neither is whether you can load by bank transfer instead of crypto. If you can, that would change the picture for anyone without crypto to spend, which is exactly the audience the card’s own marketing seems not to be targeting.

Spending out is straightforward — the card pays merchants, works at ATMs, and can “transfer money to local banks” through its euro IBAN. The reverse path, folding a balance back into crypto, has no stated fee, which is a question to ask before you commit.

Paying with it every day

There are apps for Android and iOS, and a web app at app.viamover.com. Store ratings I did not read, so I cannot tell you whether people rate the app well or badly.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are the question most people ask next. Here I have to be careful: the card page does not say. What exists is Trastra’s own self-description on its Trustpilot company page, which says the card can be used with both. Treat that as unofficial and not confirmed by the card. If a phone wallet matters to you, that is a direct question for support, not something to take from me.

A virtual card is not named anywhere on the page. If you need one for online payments — a card that never touches a terminal — you do not have confirmation that it exists.

Rewards are another silence worth naming. One source describes crypto cashback, and the card page describes none. I would plan on none. The card is a tool, not a loyalty programme.

Disputes, chargebacks, and what happens when a payment goes wrong are not stated. For a prepaid product that is a real gap, because prepaid-card coverage varies by scheme and should not be assumed.

And one general point that will decide whether your card works at the till: prepaid and foreign-issued card numbers are visible to merchants. The first six or eight digits of any card identify the institution and country that issued it, and a shop can look it up. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign numbers for that reason alone. A Lithuanian-issued card can look “foreign” in a shop anywhere, and there is nothing you can do about it.

What can go wrong

Start with the reviews, because that is where the substance of the risk sits.

Trustpilot shows 2.0 out of 5 from 747 reviews. Broken out, 65% are five-star and 23% one-star, and only 7 reviews fall in the last 12 months. The pattern in the reports is consistent enough to take seriously: blocked or frozen funds and denied withdrawals through 2025; support that replies with copy-paste answers between January and May 2025; a maintenance window during which the balance was inaccessible between March and June 2025; and worries about insolvency and closure in the same window. Read that carefully — these reviews concern the Trastra service, not necessarily the Mover card, and they are user reports, not findings.

On insolvency specifically, I found no dated official news. What exists is third-party material from Trustpilot users, unverified: a March 2025 email referring to “Initiation of Insolvency Proceedings” against a related entity, and May 2025 claims that the company is closing, with police information about bankruptcy proceedings. I am reporting these as what users wrote, not as what happened.

Now the company structure, which is where a lot of card confusion usually lives. Mover partnered with Trastra. Holyheld Labs is described as an authorised partner of Trastra Inc. The card itself is issued by UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ‘Contis’”, which holds e-money institution licence No. 53 from the Bank of Lithuania. In EU terms an electronic money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets but cannot lend, and can serve the whole EEA on a licence granted in one member state. Separately, the crypto side of the product sits under its own regulation — MiCA took legal effect in June 2023, its stablecoin rules applied from 30 June 2024 and the rest from 30 December 2024. A crypto card often depends on two licences, and this one has both pieces named.

Security, as stated: every transaction verified by Visa and 3D Secure, login by wallet password plus a two-factor one-time code, and approval by email for a new device or browser. Funds are held in a segregated account. That last point is protective and has a shadow — the page says the product is “not covered by the Deposit Insurance System of the Republic of Lithuania”. Segregated is not the same as insured. This is the pattern for the category: safeguarded funds are not bank deposits, and deposit guarantee schemes may not reach them.

Support is an email, [email protected], with a knowledge centre at faq.viamover.com. Languages and hours are not stated.

One practical risk that has nothing to do with the company: a declined payment can leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to seven. Combined with an EUR 8,000 balance ceiling and no frozen-card control mentioned anywhere, that is worth knowing before you rely on the balance.

What to take instead

I want to be clear about one thing first: these are different products, not a ranking of the same thing. Trastra is a prepaid card fed by crypto. Gemini is a credit card paid off in fiat, with rewards in crypto. Lava is a card with a Bitcoin-back promise and no FX fees. RedotPay is a crypto-funded card with a much longer country list and a tiered fee structure. Comparing them is comparing a bicycle to a train, and pretending otherwise helps nobody. So here is what each does instead, with the same care.

Gemini — score 4.9 / 10. A Mastercard World Elite credit card, so it is not prepaid and not funded from a crypto balance; you pay it off in fiat. No annual fee; the issuance fee is not stated. No foreign transaction fees, and crypto conversion does not apply in the usual sense because the rewards are what arrive in crypto. Rewards: 4% on gas, electric vehicles and transit on the first $300 a month, 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% other, paid instantly in Bitcoin or 50-plus cryptocurrencies on Gemini and changeable at any time; 10% Vault Rewards at some merchants, capped and varying. Referral: $50 crypto each, $250 per five referrals, up to 50 a year. Who can get it is not stated on the card page. If you want crypto back rather than crypto spent, this is the shape of product that does it.

Lava — score 7.1 / 10. The best-scoring card on this list, and the one whose fee story most directly undercuts Trastra: “no annual fees”, “no FX fees, and no FX spread”, and no exchange fees or spread on buying or selling Bitcoin per the page. Spend at 150 million merchants in 150-plus countries. You deposit in local currency or stablecoins. And you “earn up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase” — conditions not stated. Network, physical or virtual form, and eligibility are all not stated.

RedotPay — score 6.9 / 10. The most complicated of the four, and the most explicit about who it will and will not serve. It offers virtual and physical cards, USD and HKD versions. Its cost structure: virtual card application 10.00 USD, physical 100.00 USD (non-cancellable and non-refundable once paid), virtual replacement 5.00 USD first and 10.00 USD each later, no monthly or annual account fee, and a Pro tier at 12.90 USD monthly or 129.00 USD annual. Transaction fee 1.00%, waived for the default currency, 1.20% for a non-default currency; small authorisations of 1.00 USD or less are free for the first five per card per month then 0.2 USD; declined transactions free for the first three a month then 0.5 USD. A welcome reward of 5 USD cannot be used toward the issuance fee. On eligibility, two official lists word it differently, and I would rather show you both than pick one: the KYC list bars citizens of a long set including the United States, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Zimbabwe; a separate card-issuance list dated 28 August 2026 adds India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey as places whose residents are ineligible for both virtual and physical cards and cannot be billing addresses. Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE are on neither.

Trastra Gemini Lava RedotPay
Score 4.1 / 10 4.9 / 10 7.1 / 10 6.9 / 10
Card type Prepaid Visa debit Mastercard World Elite credit Card, network not stated Virtual and physical
How it is funded Crypto in the Mover wallet Fiat, repaid as a credit card Local currency or stablecoins On-chain crypto, or card purchase of ETH, USDC, USDT
Annual fee EUR 15.00 No annual fee “no annual fees” None; Pro from 12.90 USD a month
Ordering the card EUR 9.00 Not stated Not stated 10.00 USD virtual, 100.00 USD physical
Paying in another currency 3% No foreign transaction fees “no FX fees, and no FX spread” 1.20% (1.00% default currency)
Cash withdrawal EUR 2.25 euro; EUR 2.25 plus 3% otherwise Not stated Not stated Not stated
Rewards None on the page Up to 4% in categories, paid in crypto “up to 5% back in bitcoin” 5 USD welcome reward, no cashback rate stated

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Trastra to one person: someone living in one of the 31 listed EEA countries who already holds crypto in a Mover wallet, spends most of their money in euros, and wants a card that does not depend on a traditional bank approving them. For that person the card is coherent — load crypto, get euros, spend euros, and the 3% only appears if they travel or buy something priced in another currency, which is not their daily pattern.

I would not recommend it to someone who wants to travel. The ATM allowance, the EUR 2.25 plus 3% outside the euro area, and the EUR 300 daily cash ceiling are a poor fit for a trip.

I would not recommend it to anyone starting from nothing. You cannot buy your way into this card with a bank transfer as far as the page reveals; the entry point is crypto in Mover.

And I would weigh the reviews seriously before loading it. The issuer is a licensed e-money institution in Lithuania and the funds are said to be segregated, which is more protection than many products in this category offer. But 2.0 out of 5 from 747 reviews, with frozen balances and refused withdrawals as a recurring theme, is not a signal I would hand to someone who needs their money to behave predictably. If you do go in, keep a balance you can afford to be uncomfortable about, and use the email support to ask the questions the page leaves open — virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, top-up minimum, closure fee.

FAQ

What is the Trastra card?

The Trastra card is a prepaid Visa debit card funded from a Mover crypto wallet. You convert crypto into a euro balance and the card spends that balance, so it cannot overdraw. It is accepted at Visa merchants worldwide, the account carries a dedicated personal euro IBAN, and cash withdrawals work at ATMs across Europe. It is issued by UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ‘Contis’”, a Lithuanian e-money institution.

How does the Trastra card work?

You top up using cryptocurrencies in your Mover wallet, the exchange to euros is free at the rate set at the transaction, and the card then spends the resulting euro balance. Purchases in euros carry no conversion charge; purchases in another currency cost 3%. Because it is prepaid, the card draws on money you have already loaded, which is both its safety property and its limitation — there is no overdraft.

Is Trastra a bank?

No. The card is issued by an electronic money institution, UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ‘Contis’”, which holds Bank of Lithuania e-money licence No. 53. An EMI can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets but cannot lend. Funds are said to sit in a segregated account, and the page states the product is “not covered by the Deposit Insurance System of the Republic of Lithuania”, so safeguarded does not mean deposit-insured.

Who owns Trastra?

Trastra Inc is the card brand. Mover is the wallet and partner, and Holyheld Labs is described as an authorised partner of Trastra Inc. The licence-holding issuer is a separate Lithuanian company, UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ‘Contis’”. If you are asking about reliability, that structure is the thing to understand: three names, one regulated issuer underneath.

Is the Trastra card available in my country?

It is available in 31 listed countries, including Germany, France and the United Kingdom, and the company says it “will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area (EEA)”. For non-European residents the page says “Not at the moment.” The rule reads as residence-based, and nationality is screened separately from residence, so your citizenship can matter independently of where you live.

How do I get and activate a Trastra card?

You would start with the Mover app, complete the verification the sign-up asks for, order the card for EUR 9.00 taken from your first top-up, and wait for free delivery to one of the 31 listed countries. How long delivery takes and how to activate the card are not stated on the page, and neither are the documents, proof of address or age requirement — so ask support directly rather than assume.

Does the Trastra card require KYC?

Almost certainly some form of it, though the page does not list the documents or say what verification is needed. What is documented is what happens afterwards: a Visa identity check, 3D Secure on transactions, two-factor login codes, and email approval of new devices and browsers. Under EU rules, customer due diligence normally covers identity, address, date of birth, nationality and a sanctions check, and an institution that cannot complete it may freeze or close the relationship.

How do I top up the Trastra card?

You top up with cryptocurrency in your Mover wallet, and the crypto-to-euro exchange is listed as free, with the rate set at the transaction. Which coins and which networks are supported is not named, which matters because a transfer on an unsupported network can be lost. The card order fee of EUR 9.00 comes out of the first top-up, and no top-up minimum is stated.

What are the Trastra card’s fees and limits?

Card order EUR 9.00, delivery free, EUR 15.00 per year to manage the card, 3% on purchases not in euros, EUR 2.25 for a euro ATM withdrawal, EUR 2.25 plus 3% for a non-euro or outside-EEA withdrawal, EUR 0.35 for a balance inquiry and EUR 0.40 to change a PIN. Limits: EUR 8,000 maximum balance, EUR 7,700 daily card spend, EUR 300 daily ATM withdrawals and EUR 8,000 overall daily spend.

Is the Trastra card safe, and is it worth it?

On paper the protections are reasonable: Visa and 3D Secure verification on every transaction, two-factor login, email approval for new devices, and funds in a segregated account. Against that, the product is not deposit-insured, and Trustpilot shows 2.0 out of 5 from 747 reviews with recurring reports of frozen funds and refused withdrawals. It is worth it only if euro spending from crypto is your actual use case and you can hold the balance lightly.

Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team