A Hong Kong card with 0% cross-border fees — but half the details are missing
PokePay is a crypto payment card that converts and loads a balance you top up with USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH, then spends that balance like an ordinary Visa. On paper it looks unusually generous: no monthly fee, no annual fee, and a 0% cross-border transaction fee. But underneath that headline sit a string of blanks. The issuing bank is not named. The crypto conversion spread is not disclosed. The ATM fee is not disclosed. And the site itself says its content is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong. I scored it 5.4 out of 10. It rewards Hong Kong residents who top up with USDT, and frustrates almost everyone else.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The verdict: 5.4 out of 10
Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion, with the mark each one earned:

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Site content is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong; unofficial reports say most countries work but the US is closed |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Monthly and annual fees are 0, cross-border fee 0%; but the virtual-card opening fee and FX rate are not officially disclosed |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH accepted; unofficial sources name five networks (ERC20, Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon, AVAX C-Chain) |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuing bank unnamed, licences self-declared; unofficial reports of a 2025 suspension wave; low third-party ratings |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Physical and virtual Visa, cash withdrawal offered; unofficial reports say Apple Pay is not supported |
That table is the honest shape of the card: excellent headline fees, thin top-up flexibility, and real doubt about reliability. Who it suits is narrow. If you live in Hong Kong and hold USDT, the 0% cross-border fee is genuinely attractive and the free monthly/annual cost is rare. If you live anywhere else, the site’s own residency statement makes the card’s availability uncertain before you even reach the fees.
Will they give you the card?
The blunt answer: the site is written for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong, and the United States is explicitly restricted. The site’s own words are that “the content of our website is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong”, and it adds that promotion outside Hong Kong may require permits. So the default position is that this is a Hong Kong card, not a global one.
Unofficial reporting, from an affiliate-style review site, tells a looser story: it says the card is “available in most countries” but that the United States is closed, and it flags a wave of account blocks in the second half of 2025. That page is not the card operator and I cannot confirm any of it, but the pattern — a card that markets itself broadly while the fine print narrows it to Hong Kong residents — is one to plan around. If you are not in Hong Kong, assume you will hit a wall at verification until proven otherwise.
How to get it
The route is straightforward on paper: you verify your identity, then choose a physical or virtual Visa. Identity verification (KYC) is required before you can use any service. The company insists the data you enter “must be exactly the same as the uploaded documents”, and the name must match your passport (usually in English). They recommend verifying in Google Chrome with your camera enabled; mismatches fail the check. Email verification is part of the flow.
Enhanced due diligence may also ask you for the source of your funds or wealth. The specific documents required, any proof-of-address or proof-of-age requirement, the verification tiers, and how long each step takes are not stated on the public pages, so I cannot give you a reliable timeline.
Unofficial sources describe KYC as free and taking under a minute through a provider called Didit (ID plus a face scan), with an age range of 18 to 80 in the app, and say you need a balance above 0 USD before verifying. Treat all of that as unconfirmed. What is confirmed is the hard identity check with exact-match data.
For the physical card, delivery takes about 10 to 30 working days depending on the country or region, and may take longer. Which countries it ships to, what delivery costs, and the replacement-card fee are not stated. You get a choice of a physical card or a virtual one, both Visa; the currency the card is denominated in is not stated.
Fees and limits: what it really costs
This is where PokePay genuinely stands out, and also where it is frustratingly vague. The headline numbers are excellent; several of the numbers that decide your actual cost are missing.

| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Monthly fee | 0 |
| Annual fee | 0 |
| Micro-transaction fees | None |
| Card opening fee | Not stated |
| Cross-border transaction fee | 0% |
| Crypto conversion fee / spread | Not stated |
| FX fee | Not stated |
| ATM cash-withdrawal fee | Not stated |
| Daily limit | 100,000 HKD |
| Minimum single transaction | 0.1 HKD |
| Monthly limit | Not stated |
The currency referenced in the limits is the Hong Kong dollar — the 100,000 HKD daily cap and the 0.1 HKD floor are both in HKD. The card’s own denominations and how other currencies are converted are not stated. There is a single tier: no account tiers are described on the site or in the FAQ, so you are not choosing a plan, there is just one.
The official FAQ also has a line about “no annual fee in the 0th year” that is unclear on its face, and the card-opening fee is still not officially stated. Unofficial reporting attributes “as low as 5 USD” for a virtual card to the official site, and says the app actually charged 5 USD in June 2026 despite a “free” banner. Treat the 5 USD as a plausible but unofficial floor for the virtual card.
To make the costs concrete, here is what a few everyday payments would look like and which fees would apply, based on what is (and is not) disclosed:
- A coffee or a sandwich in the local currency. No monthly or annual fee applies, and no micro-transaction fee. But because the crypto conversion spread and the FX fee are not disclosed, you cannot know in advance exactly how much of your stablecoin value reaches the merchant’s price.
- An online subscription billed in a foreign currency. The 0% cross-border transaction fee genuinely applies here — that is the card’s best feature. But the FX markup is not stated, and if the card converts from crypto first, the conversion spread applies too. Neither number is public.
- Withdrawing cash at an ATM. The card mentions “payments and cash withdrawals”, but the withdrawal fee and your allowance are not stated officially. Unofficial sources say the ATM fee is not disclosed either, and call heavy ATM use a poor fit for this card.
So the honest summary: your fixed monthly cost is zero and the cross-border surcharge is zero, but the two costs that vary with each purchase — the crypto spread and the FX markup — are exactly the ones the public pages leave blank.
How to top it up
You fund the card with cryptocurrency: “recharging with cryptocurrencies such as USDT, USDC, BTC, and ETH”. No top-up fee or minimum is listed, so a deposit fee is not something the card advertises. Crypto recharges — USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH — usually credit to your card balance in about 15 minutes; if they have not arrived after 30 minutes, the company says to contact support. The specific networks you can deposit on are not stated on the official pages, though unofficial sources name five of them: ERC20, Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon, and AVAX C-Chain.
Alongside crypto, the card names a range of payment platforms — WeChat, PayPal, Alipay, Wise — and for overseas accounts it lists SWIFT, SEPA, and local clearing methods. The fees for these are described as “disclosed before a transaction or published on the Website or a Fees Schedule”, but the Terms themselves contain no amounts.
Getting your money back out is the part to read carefully. Your account can be closed via the website or support, but only once there are no pending transactions or amounts owed. Remaining funds are returned after AML and CTF (anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorist-financing) checks. The card can also suspend or freeze your account and balance, in listed circumstances, without prior notice. The fee for withdrawing your balance to a crypto wallet or a bank account is not stated. Unofficial sources add that an ERC20 deposit may carry a surcharge of +5 USDT, while Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon, and AVAX C-Chain carry no such surcharge — worth confirming before you send on the expensive network.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day, the card behaves like an ordinary Visa: a physical card and a virtual one, plus cash withdrawals. What you spend comes out of the balance you loaded, so the card cannot overdraw. The card currency is not stated. There is a mobile app on iOS (App Store HK, id6741506101) and Android (Google Play), plus an APK download and a web login at app.pokepay.cc. The App Store HK rating is 3.9 out of 5 from 15 ratings; I did not read the Google Play rating.
A few everyday details are worth knowing:
- Wallets. The card says nothing about linking to a crypto wallet, and there is no mention of Apple Pay or Google Pay in the official material. Unofficial user reports say adding the card to Apple Wallet returns “this card is not supported”, and that Steam also does not work with it. That is a real gap for anyone used to tapping a phone.
- Rewards. The only official word is “generous rewards”, with no rate, currency, or conditions given. Unofficial reports describe a 3% cashback banner on the first purchase, time-limited.
- Refunds and disputes. Ordinary merchants refund in 3 to 7 working days; airlines, hotels, and travel agencies take 7 to 14; online payment platforms 3 to 10; cross-border transactions 7 to 30; and chargebacks can run 30 to 90 days. Complaints go to a designated contact (a placeholder in the Terms), and Canadian law governs.
None of this makes the card unusable day to day. But the Apple Pay gap in particular will decide the card for or against you if you are the kind of person who pays by phone.
What can go wrong
Reliability is where PokePay scores lowest, and the reasons are structural rather than cosmetic.
- The issuing bank is not named. You do not know which institution stands behind the card. That makes the usual consumer protections — chargebacks, deposit insurance, clear complaint routes — harder to pin down.
- Your funds are custodial and uninsured. User funds are held separately from the company’s operating money, but they are explicitly “not deposits” and not insured by CDIC or any deposit-insurance scheme. The site says it monitors 24/7, custodies funds through partner banks, screens transactions for AML, and encrypts data — but the balance you hold is not a bank deposit, and if the operator fails, there is no deposit guarantee behind it.
- Self-declared licences. The company lists registrations for Hong Kong, the United States (FINTRAC), Canada, Ontario (MSB), and Poland (VASP). FINTRAC itself notes that registration is not an endorsement. The copyright notice is PokePay Technology Co., Ltd.; the issuing bank is still unnamed.
- Accounts can be frozen or closed. The Terms allow PokePay to suspend or freeze your account and balance, in listed circumstances, without prior notice, and funds are returned only after AML/CTF checks. Crypto transfers are irreversible in general, so recovering a misdirected deposit has no guarantee.
- Card security. The card locks after repeated wrong CVV or expiry attempts, or after three wrong PIN entries, and customer service unlocks it after verification. Multi-factor authentication is recommended, not required — so turn it on yourself. A declined online payment can also leave a hold on your funds for several days.
- Complaints and reviews. The Trustpilot page I found is for pokeapay.com (possibly a different entity), with 2.8 out of 5 from only 3 reviews; there is no pokepay.com page. One 1-star reviewer calls the app “fake” and says verification passed without showing the full face. Unofficial reporting adds that slow support response is the most consistent complaint, that the app charged a 5 USD opening fee despite a “limited-time free” banner, and — most seriously — that there was a wave of account suspensions in the second half of 2025, after which the company said funds would be returned within about 10 business days. That suspension claim is a single unverified source, so I present it as a signal to be cautious, not as established fact.
What to take instead
If PokePay’s residency wording or its unnamed issuing bank gives you pause, there are better-documented alternatives. Here is how the three main ones compare, each with its own score:
| Card | Score | Who can get it | Card and fees | Top-up and extras |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RedotPay | 6.9 / 10 | Long restricted-country list; card-issuance list also blocks residents of India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore, Turkey | Virtual $10, physical $100 (non-refundable); 1% transaction fee, 1.2% for non-default currency | Crypto deposit, free to card balance; USDT-TRC20 minimum 1 USDT; $5 welcome reward |
| Wirex | 6.7 / 10 | Card availability depends on region; service area “Worldwide (130+ countries)” | Virtual and physical; issuance free in listed regions; metal card 45 GBP; “no annual or foreign exchange fees” | Spend from cash, stablecoins, crypto; Cryptoback 0.5% to “up to 8%” on the metal card |
| Bitpanda | 6.5 / 10 | Requires verified account and residence in a euro-area country | Physical Visa debit, EUR only; free opening, first shipment free; reissue ~€5.90–€9.90 | Spends from a chosen crypto/metal/EUR asset; 1% (or “up to 2%”) cashback on crypto spending |
A few differences are worth pulling out, because they are the ones that decide it for a real person:
- Eligibility. RedotPay publishes the longest and most explicit eligibility lists — including a 47-place card-issuance list that names residents of India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore, and Turkey as ineligible for both card types. Wirex advertises worldwide availability. Bitpanda is the narrowest: euro-area residence only, and users verified via “Bankident” cannot order. PokePay, by contrast, tells you it is for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong.
- Cost to start. PokePay’s monthly and annual fees are 0, which is cheaper than RedotPay’s tiered pricing and Wirex’s metal card. But RedotPay charges a flat $10 (virtual) or $100 (physical) to issue, and Bitpanda’s reissue is around €6–€10 — so the “free” comparison depends on how long you keep the card.
- How you pay. RedotPay has the clearest transaction fee (1%, 1.2% for non-default currency, with small waivers). Bitpanda is EUR-only, which removes FX entirely but also locks you into euro use. Wirex claims no foreign-exchange fee and pays cryptoback. PokePay’s 0% cross-border fee is the headline, but its conversion and FX costs are the ones left unpublished.
None of these is a recommendation to switch if Hong Kong residency and USDT are your situation; the 0% cross-border fee is hard to beat. But if you are outside Hong Kong or you simply want published numbers rather than promises, one of these three will at least tell you what you are paying.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend PokePay to a Hong Kong resident who already holds USDT, tops up in crypto, and spends across borders where a 0% cross-border fee is worth more to them than published conversion numbers. For that person the combination of no monthly fee, no annual fee, and no cross-border surcharge is genuinely good, and the choice between a physical and virtual Visa covers most of how they pay.
I would steer everyone else away, or at least toward reading the Terms first. If you are outside Hong Kong, the site’s own residency statement means your access is uncertain. If you care about Apple Pay, reports suggest the card will not work in Apple Wallet. If you are a heavy ATM user, the withdrawal fee is not disclosed. And if you want to know exactly what a purchase costs before you make it, the missing conversion spread and FX markup mean you cannot. For anyone with a real deposit planned, the unnamed issuing bank, the custodial uninsured balance, and the reported 2025 suspension wave are reasons to keep only what you can afford to have frozen. Test it with a small amount first — that is a judgment about prudence, not a suggestion to work around any rule.
Frequently asked questions
What is PokePay card?
PokePay is a Visa payment card you fund with cryptocurrency. You top it up with USDT, USDC, BTC, or ETH, and the balance converts to spend like an ordinary card, in-store or online, with a physical and a virtual card. It is not a bank account — your balance is custodial, held separately from the company’s operating funds, and explicitly not a bank deposit or insured by CDIC or any deposit-insurance scheme. It charges no monthly or annual fee.
How does PokePay card work?
You deposit crypto to a card balance, the service converts or holds it as spendable value, and your Visa draws down that balance. Because it behaves like a prepaid card, it cannot overdraw. Deposits in USDT, USDC, BTC, or ETH usually credit in about 15 minutes; contact support if 30 minutes pass with nothing showing. The card advertises a 0% cross-border transaction fee. The crypto conversion spread and FX markup, however, are not disclosed, so the final cost of a purchase is not fully knowable in advance.
Is PokePay a bank?
No. PokePay is a crypto card provider, not a bank, and the issuing bank behind the Visa is not named on its public pages. The company is PokePay Technology Co., Ltd., which self-declares registrations in Hong Kong, Canada (FINTRAC and an Ontario MSB registration), the United States, and Poland (VASP). FINTRAC notes that registration is not an endorsement. Your balance is custodial and uninsured, held apart from operating funds, which is a different and weaker position than a bank deposit.
Who owns PokePay?
PokePay is operated by PokePay Technology Co., Ltd., the name in the site’s copyright notice. The company lists licences or registrations for Hong Kong, the United States, Canada, Ontario, and Poland. It is a private company and not a listed or state-owned institution. The ownership of the card programme itself sits with the issuing bank, which the site does not name. Because none of this is independently verified by the site’s own pages, treat the registrations as the company’s own claims.
Is PokePay card available in my country?
That depends heavily on where you are. The site’s own position is that its content is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong, and it notes that promotion outside Hong Kong may require permits. Unofficial sources say the card works in “most countries” but the United States is closed, and one version of that page also lists China as blocked. If you are outside Hong Kong, the safest assumption is that eligibility is uncertain until you have passed verification. Check the site’s residency wording yourself before you commit any money.
How do I get the PokePay card?
You register, complete identity verification (KYC), and then choose a physical or virtual Visa. KYC is required before using any service, and the data you enter must exactly match your uploaded documents and your passport name (usually English). They recommend Chrome with your camera on; mismatches fail the check, and enhanced checks may ask for the source of your funds. A physical card takes about 10 to 30 working days to arrive, possibly longer; delivery countries, cost, and replacement fees are not stated.
Does PokePay card require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification is mandatory before you can use the services, including email verification and a face/ID check. Your entered details must exactly match your documents and passport name. Multi-factor authentication is only recommended, not required, so enable it yourself. Unofficial sources say KYC is free and takes under a minute through a provider called Didit, with an age range of 18 to 80, but those specifics are not confirmed on the official pages.
How do I top up the PokePay card?
You top up mainly with cryptocurrency — USDT, USDC, BTC, or ETH — and no top-up fee or minimum is advertised. Crypto deposits usually appear in about 15 minutes; contact support if 30 minutes pass. The card also names payment platforms such as WeChat, PayPal, Alipay, and Wise, and lists SWIFT, SEPA, and local clearing for overseas accounts, with fees disclosed per transaction or on a fees schedule. Unofficial sources list five deposit networks (ERC20, Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon, AVAX C-Chain), with a possible +5 USDT surcharge on ERC20 but none on the others.
Is PokePay card free?
Mostly, on the recurring side: no monthly fee, no annual fee, and no micro-transaction fees, plus a 0% cross-border transaction fee. But “free” overstates it. The virtual-card opening fee is not officially stated (unofficial sources say “as low as 5 USD” and that the app actually charged 5 USD once), the crypto conversion spread and FX markup are not disclosed, and the ATM withdrawal fee is not stated. So there is no standing charge, but the variable cost of each purchase is not fully published either.
Is PokePay card safe and worth it?
It is a custodial card: your balance is held by the provider, is “not deposits”, and is not insured by CDIC or any deposit-insurance scheme. The site says it monitors 24/7, custodies funds through partner banks, and encrypts data, and the card locks after repeated wrong PIN or CVV attempts. Against that, the issuing bank is unnamed, the licences are self-declared, and there are unofficial reports of a suspension wave in late 2025 plus slow support. My take: worth it for a Hong Kong USDT user testing small amounts; not something to hold a large balance in.
App and neobank cards – cryptocardsranked
Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team
