Karta card, reviewed from the reader's side: who gets one, what it costs, and where it stumbles
Karta is a Visa card, virtual and physical, that you apply for and use through a mini-app inside Telegram. You top it up with stablecoins on several networks, or with regular bank transfers, and the card spends from a pre-loaded balance wherever Visa is taken. The company behind it, Karta Finance Inc., describes itself as serving 200-plus countries and territories, and the way you reach it — a Telegram bot, then a quick in-app check — is part of the appeal for readers who do not want a long online form or a bank visit.
This review walks through the card the way you would meet it: who can get one, what it costs in real spending, how the top-up flow works, where it works well day to day, and where the published information runs out. I look at it as someone who has read the card’s own pages and a handful of third-party reports, and I tell you plainly what is stated, what is not, and what I would check before committing funds.
The conditions below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Karta earns 7.9 out of 10 in my scoring. The card is genuinely easy to start (a Telegram bot, an in-app verification, a stablecoin transfer), the top-up side is unusually wide (USDT and USDC across nine networks, plus several fiat rails), and the Visa Signature line is mainstream enough for everyday use including Apple Pay and Google Pay. Where it loses points is on transparency: the issuer is not named, the company’s “not a bank” status is not the same as a banking licence, the fees on top of the headline 1.5% are not all spelled out, and third-party reviewers have called its marketing claims misleading.
If you are comfortable in Telegram, you want a Visa you can fund from a self-custody wallet, and you do not need a bank behind the card, Karta is a reasonable option. If you need a clearly named, locally regulated issuer with detailed fee tables and a published dispute process, the card is harder to evaluate.
| Criterion | Score | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Works in 200+ countries and territories where Visa is accepted; availability depends on local regulations and partner coverage |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Virtual Visa activation 5.00 USDT, physical from 100.00 USDT; crypto top-up free; card payments 1.5%; ATM 1.5% + 1 USDT |
| Top-up options | 10 / 10 | USDT or USDC on Tron (TRC-20), Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base, Solana; plus ACH, SWIFT, SEPA, PIX, SPEI |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Karta Finance Inc., not a bank, issuer not named; Trustpilot 3.9 from 25 reviews, complaints centre on high fees; third-party sites flag “0% commission” and “25% cashback” claims as misleading |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Visa Signature virtual and physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM worldwide |
Who it suits. People who already live in Telegram, hold stablecoins in a self-custody wallet, and want a card that converts at the moment of payment rather than the moment of top-up. It is also a fit for readers in countries where ordinary banking is hard or where they specifically do not want a local bank card.
Who it does not suit. Readers who need the protection of a named, locally regulated bank, who want a full table of fees and limits before they sign up, or who want a debit card linked to a salary account. If you need a clear dispute process, published branch-level KYC tiers, or a card that you can comfortably use at a car rental desk or a hotel hold, look further down the list of alternatives.
Who will they give you the card
Karta says it works “in 200+ countries and territories where Visa is accepted.” That is the headline availability, and it is the answer you get when you ask whether the card is available in your country. The fine print immediately under that line says availability “depends on local regulations and partner coverage,” which is the card’s way of saying that the headline is not a promise — your country may be on the list in theory and still not supported in practice.
Two details the card does not spell out: whether eligibility is based on your citizenship or on where you actually live, and what happens if you move. Third-party listings (unofficial and not confirmed by the card) suggest the in-app sign-up takes an email, a phone number, and an identity document, and that proof of address and a selfie are not required. Treat that as guidance, not as a published policy, because it comes from a third-party site with no date shown.
The single, practical gate is the in-app “quick verification” the card advertises — it says the check “takes up to 5 minutes” inside the Telegram mini-app. The card does not publish the documents it asks for, the age minimum, the reasons it might reject you, or whether there is a second, more detailed check after you top up or start spending. That silence is worth bearing in mind: a “5-minute” check does not usually mean the deepest possible KYC, and a number of crypto card programmes trigger a fuller review when spending crosses a threshold.
For most readers the answer to “can I get one where I live?” is: probably yes, if Telegram is reachable where you are, if you can produce some form of government-issued ID, and if your country is not on a sanctions or restricted list. The part you cannot check in advance is whether the card will work at your usual merchants — that depends on the BIN and on the issuing partner, neither of which the card names publicly.
How to get it
The whole sign-up runs inside Telegram, which is the single most distinctive thing about Karta. You do not go to a website and fill in a form; you start a chat with the Karta Telegram bot, complete the in-app verification, and then top up the card to activate it. The published sequence is three steps: start the bot, verify, top up to activate the virtual card.
What that means for you in practice:
- Start the bot. The card lives inside Telegram, so you do everything from a chat with the Karta bot. There is no web form and no app download required for the basic flow.
- Verify. The “quick verification” runs in the same Telegram interface. The card says it takes up to 5 minutes. The card’s own pages do not list the documents requested. Third-party listings (unofficial) say you will be asked for an email, a phone number and an identity document, and not for a proof of address or a selfie — but treat that as third-party guidance, not as the card’s published requirement.
- Top up to activate. The virtual card activates when you fund it. The activation cost is 5.00 USDT, and the FAQ on the card’s pages shows “30 USDT 5 USDT” with what looks like an old price struck through, which I read as the current activation price being 5.00 USDT.
Once the virtual card is active, you can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay and start spending. The physical card is a separate product, activated from 100.00 USDT. The card does not publish how the physical card is delivered, how long delivery takes, what it costs to ship, or what a replacement costs — so if any of those matter to you, ask support before you pay the activation amount.
The card does not publish the KYC levels it uses, the unlocks at each level, or the reasons the bot might reject an application. That makes the published “5-minute verification” a little hard to read. It is reasonable to assume the bot uses a third-party identity check, and that a fuller review can follow if your spending pattern changes.
What it really costs: Fees
The headline cost of Karta is straightforward, but only if you read it carefully. The card does not publish a single table of “all the fees”; instead, you find the prices on different pages of the site. Here is what I was able to put together from the card’s own pages.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual Visa activation | 5.00 USDT |
| Physical Visa activation | from 100.00 USDT |
| Virtual accounts | free |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Crypto top-up | free |
| Card payment | 1.5% |
| SEPA bank transfer (EUR) | 1.5% + EUR 2 |
| SWIFT (USD) | 1.4% + $2 |
| Send to external crypto wallet | network fee only |
| ATM withdrawal | 1.5% + 1 USDT |
| Free ATM allowance | not stated |
| FX fee (separate from the 1.5% payment fee) | not stated |
| Daily / monthly spend limits | not stated |
A few things from that table deserve a second look.
The 1.5% card payment fee is on top of the network conversion. When you pay in a currency that is not the card’s base currency, Visa does the conversion at its wholesale rate, and the card adds 1.5% on top. The card does not publish a separate “FX fee” line, which means the 1.5% is the only published percentage the card charges you — but it also means the card does not show you what the conversion spread is, only what the card’s own fee is.
The activation price has a strike-through. The FAQ shows “30 USDT 5 USDT,” which I read as the old price (30 USDT) crossed out and the new one (5 USDT) shown. I have taken 5.00 USDT as the current virtual activation price. If the old price is what the system actually charges you at sign-up, that is a fee I cannot see you coming.
Third-party listings, not the card, claim higher limits and free ATMs. One third-party site says the Karta Virtual Visa has no daily or monthly limit, the Personal Visa Signature has a $25,000 daily spend limit, ATM withdrawals are “unlimited,” and the ATM fee is “free.” The card’s own pages say the ATM fee is 1.5% + 1 USDT, and the limits are not stated. I treat the third-party numbers as unverified and go with the card’s own statements.
There is no published monthly or annual fee. That is helpful if true, but a fee that is “not stated” is not the same as a fee that does not exist; it is a fee the card has chosen not to publish. If you want certainty, ask the bot.
What the costs feel like in three real payments:
- A EUR 50 supermarket shop paid with USDT balance. The card converts USDT to EUR at the card’s rate, then charges 1.5% on the EUR 50, so EUR 0.75. The ATM was not involved, so the 1 USDT ATM leg does not apply. You also paid the on-chain fee for the top-up, which is set by the network, not by the card.
- A US$100 online subscription paid in USDT. The card charges 1.5% on the US$100, so US$1.50. If the merchant’s settlement currency is not the card’s base, the 1.5% is the only published fee; the conversion is whatever rate the card presents at checkout.
- A US$200 ATM withdrawal in cash, in a foreign currency. The card charges 1.5% + 1 USDT, so US$3.00 + 1 USDT. There is no published free allowance. The on-chain fee for topping up is the only other cost, and that was paid when you funded the card.
If you spend mostly online, in the card’s base currency, and you top up with USDT on Tron (where the network fee is the lowest), the published fees look reasonable for a crypto-funded Visa. If you take cash out of ATMs in foreign currencies, the 1.5% + 1 USDT per withdrawal will add up quickly.
How to top it up: Top up
The top-up side is where Karta is at its strongest. The card accepts USDT or USDC on nine networks — Tron (TRC-20), Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base, and Solana — and it also accepts fiat through ACH, SWIFT, domestic wire (USD), SEPA (EUR), PIX (BRL), bank transfer (COP), and SPEI (MXN), with the fiat options varying by country.

For someone already in crypto, the practical flow is: you choose a network, you send USDT or USDC from your self-custody wallet to the address the bot shows you, and the card credits your balance. The card does not charge for the top-up; the only cost is the on-chain network fee (gas, bandwidth), which is set by the blockchain and not by Karta.
A few things to know before you send anything:
- The network you choose has to be the network you actually use. USDT on Ethereum and USDT on Tron are two different tokens, even though they share a name and a price. If you send USDT on Ethereum to an address the bot gave you for Tron, the funds can be lost. A third-party report on the card (unverified) flags exactly this kind of mistake as a common reason for support tickets. The card does not publish a list of networks the bot will refuse to recover funds from.
- ERC-20 USDT needs ETH for gas. If you fund with USDT on Ethereum and your wallet has no ETH, the transaction will not go through. Tron is usually the cheapest network for small USDT transfers; Ethereum and the L2s cost more in gas.
- USDC on Tron is not a native option. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so if you want to send USDC on Tron, you are not in fact sending a Circle-issued USDC. The card lists “USDC” in the supported tokens, but on Tron what you can send is the TRC-20 version that has been wrapped by other issuers, not native Circle USDC. If you want the real, attested USDC, send it on Ethereum, Base, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Solana, or another Circle-supported chain.
- Bank withdrawals are “coming soon.” You can send crypto out to external wallets for the network fee only, but the card does not currently offer a bank withdrawal to a regular account — that is a stated “coming soon” feature. If you need to move money out of the card and back to a bank, the published path is to top up, spend, or send out as crypto.
- Closure of the card balance is not described. The card does not say what happens to a remaining balance if the programme closes, you close your account, or the card issuer ends the relationship. Given the FTX and WaveCrest precedents, that is worth asking before you leave a large balance on the card.
A minimum top-up amount is not stated, so the practical minimum is the network fee plus whatever the sending wallet charges.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, Karta behaves like a fairly ordinary Visa: a virtual card you can add to Apple Pay or Google Pay, a physical card you can use at point of sale and at ATMs, and a balance that converts at the moment of payment. The card is a Visa Signature, which means the network benefits of that tier (higher travel and concierge service levels) are nominally available, though what is actually delivered is set by the issuing partner, which the card does not name.
A few practical points:
- Mobile wallets. The card says it is “compatible with Apple Pay, Google Pay,” and both work with a tokenised device number, so the real card number is not stored on Apple’s or Google’s servers. If you lose your phone, the token can be revoked without reissuing the card.
- Merchant categories. The card does not publish a list of restricted merchant categories. Many Visa programmes block gambling (MCC 7995), and some block cryptocurrency purchases, adult content, or specific country lists. Without a published list, the only way to know whether your merchant is allowed is to try.
- Cashback. The card says “the more they spend, the more you earn” — a rate and a payout currency are not published. A third-party aggregator says the “25% cashback” claim is widely seen as misleading and that the cashback is paid in an illiquid token; the card’s own pages do not give a rate I can quote.
- Referral rewards. The card does publish the rewards currency: KARAT points, with 1 KARAT = 0.01 USDT. That is a real, published rate; what is not published is whether KARAT is redeemable anywhere outside the card’s own programme.
- Disputes and chargebacks. The card does not publish its dispute process. Visa’s chargeback framework applies to the card, but the practical experience (how to open a case, how long it takes, what evidence is required) is set by the issuer, which is unnamed. Treat that as a gap, not as a feature.
- The app is a Telegram mini-app. That is the only published entry point; the card does not mention an App Store or Google Play listing, and a third-party aggregator (unverified) gives the Android app 3.0 stars with no number of ratings shown.
For most everyday use — a coffee, a train ticket, an online subscription, a contactless payment on a phone — the card behaves like a normal prepaid Visa. The two places where it can disappoint are a hotel or car rental hold (where the hold may exceed the published “no limit” claim, and where the card type and BIN may be declined by the merchant) and a foreign ATM (where the 1.5% + 1 USDT per withdrawal adds up).
What can go wrong
The risks of a card like this are not unique to Karta, but they sit in different places.
The company is “not a bank.” Karta Finance Inc. is registered at 221 W 10th St, 4th Floor, Wilmington, DE 19801, USA. The card’s own pages say it is “not a bank” and not FDIC insured. The card programme is run through “regulated financial and card-issuing partners,” and the issuing bank is not named. The licences the partners hold are not listed. That means you are trusting an unnamed issuer and an unnamed programme manager with the balance you load onto the card.
Trustpilot is mixed. The card has 3.9 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 25 reviews (read on 2026-10-20). The themes the reviews raise are high fees, and “too little transparent information before registration” — both consistent with what I found on the card’s own pages, where a single table of fees and limits does not exist.
Third-party aggregators flag the marketing. A third-party review site (Crypto Cards, no date shown) scores Karta Virtual Visa 4.0 out of 10 and calls the “0% commission” and “25% cashback” claims misleading, the cashback paid in an illiquid token, and notes extra fees for non-US users. The same source rates the Android app at 3.0 stars. I treat those as unverified third-party views, but I have not seen a published rebuttal from Karta.
Self-custody has its own risks. The card is described as linked to a self-custody wallet, which is good for the part where the funds stay in your wallet until the moment of payment. It is bad for the part where you, the user, are solely responsible for the seed phrase, for clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses, and for sending on the right network to the right address. Crypto transfers are irreversible: a stablecoin sent to the wrong network or wrong address is not coming back by default.
Stablecoins are not risk-free. USDT and USDC aim to track the US dollar, but stablecoins have depegged before (TerraUSD in May 2022, USDC briefly in March 2023). Tether says it can freeze tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list. If you keep a large balance in stablecoins on a self-custody wallet ready to top up the card, you are taking the stablecoin risk and the card risk at the same time.
Programme closures happen. Visa’s global agreement with FTX was terminated in November 2022; WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in 2018 and the cards it issued were closed. The card does not publish a closure plan. The published behaviour in past closures is a notice period, then new loads stop, then spending stops, then a window to withdraw the remaining balance — but a card programme can be closed faster than a user can act.
Security features that are not stated. The card lists self-custody wallet, 3-D Secure, encrypted transactions and PIN protection. It does not mention 2FA, an in-app card freeze, or insurance on the stored balance. If those matter to you, ask the bot before you load a large balance.
What to take instead
I scored the three alternatives below using the same rubric, and none of them beats Karta on the overall score. Each one makes a different trade, and you may find that the trade suits you better.
| Card | Score | Best fit | Weak spot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Karta | 7.9 / 10 | Telegram-first users with multi-network USDT | Issuer not named, fees partly unpublished |
| MaxSwap | 5.2 / 10 | Users who want a Mastercard with a long list of supported tokens | High top-up fee (4.5% + $1), virtual only |
| Tegro | 4.7 / 10 | Users who only need USDT on Tron and want a low-cost virtual card | Only one funding network, deposit fee 4% |
| Worldwide | 4.2 / 10 | Users who want a card funded by fiat bank transfer | Card programme is largely Russian-language and fee structure is not in USD |
MaxSwap is a virtual-only Mastercard, with a long list of supported tokens (ADA, ALGO, AVAX, BCH, BNB, BTC, DOT, ETH, HBAR, HT, KRRX, LINK, LTC, MATIC, NEAR, SHIB, SUSHI, TON, TRX, UNI, USDC, USDT, XLM, XRP). The card costs US$50 with a US$25 first deposit required, for a total issuance of about US$75. The top-up fee is 4.5% plus US$1 per top-up, and each transaction is US$0.25 plus 0.4%. If you need a Mastercard, a wide token list, and you do not mind the high top-up fee, MaxSwap is a fit; if you want a low-cost daily card, it is not.
Tegro is a virtual Visa funded by USDT on Tron only — if you hold USDT on any other network, Tegro requires you to convert to TRC-20 first. The card costs US$13 to issue, with a US$50 minimum card amount, so a US$50 card costs about US$65 in total. There are no subscriptions or monthly fees, but the deposit fee is 4% of the amount. The trade is simple: you get a low-fee virtual Visa, and you accept that the funding path is Tron-only.
Worldwide is a Telegram mini-app card. The tiers are Standard (from 2,900 RUB/year), Premium (from 3,900 RUB/year), Promo (2,390 RUB issue, 0 RUB maintenance in the first year, 0% top-up fee), and Business (from 12,900 RUB/year). Top-up is by SBP (Russia’s Fast Payment System) from any Russian card or account, credited in 1–3 minutes, and the per-card operation fee is 0.00 USD. The card is funded in fiat rather than crypto, and the website and the App Store listings are largely in Russian. The fit is a user who wants a SBP-funded Mastercard; outside that, the value is much harder to see.
If you are choosing between the four, the simplest rule of thumb: Karta for a Telegram-first, USDT/USDC-funded Visa; Tegro if you specifically need a low-fee Tron-only virtual Visa; MaxSwap if you specifically need a Mastercard with a long token list; and Worldwide if you are paying in rubles and topping up by SBP.
Who I would recommend it to
If you already hold stablecoins in a self-custody wallet, you live inside Telegram, and you want a Visa you can fund from a phone in a few minutes without filling in a web form, Karta is a reasonable card to keep. The top-up coverage across nine networks is the strongest I have seen on a Telegram-first card, and the published 1.5% card payment fee is competitive with the better-known alternatives.
I would not recommend it as your primary card if any of the following is true: you need the protection of a clearly named, locally regulated bank; you want a published table of every fee and limit before you sign up; you take a lot of cash out of ATMs (the 1.5% + 1 USDT per withdrawal adds up); you want a card that you can hand to a hotel or car rental desk without fear of a long hold or a decline based on the card’s BIN; or you want a published dispute process with a clear contact for chargebacks.
For those readers, the right next step is to compare Karta’s published numbers with at least one of the alternatives above, and to ask the Karta bot directly for the things the website does not publish — the daily and monthly limits, the FX fee on foreign-currency payments, the KYC document list, the dispute process, and the closure plan. The card is good enough to be worth that conversation; it is not yet at the point where the website alone tells the whole story.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Karta card?
Karta is a Visa card, available as virtual and physical, that you apply for and use through a Telegram mini-app. You fund it with USDT or USDC on several networks, or with fiat through bank transfer rails, and the card spends from a pre-loaded balance wherever Visa is taken. The company behind it is Karta Finance Inc., registered in Delaware, USA, and the card is described as “not a bank.”
How does the Karta card work?
You start a chat with the Karta Telegram bot, complete a quick in-app verification, and top up the card with crypto to activate the virtual version. The virtual card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay and used online or in store. The physical card is a separate product, activated from 100.00 USDT. Each card payment converts the stablecoin balance at the moment of purchase, and the card charges 1.5% on the payment.
Is Karta a bank?
No. Karta Finance Inc., the company behind the card, says on its own pages that it is “not a bank” and is not FDIC insured. The card programme is run through “regulated financial and card-issuing partners,” but the card does not name the issuing bank or list the licences those partners hold.
Who owns Karta?
Karta Finance Inc. is the company behind the card, with a registered address of 221 W 10th St, 4th Floor, Wilmington, DE 19801, USA. The card’s own pages do not name the founders, the parent company, or the issuing bank.
Is the Karta card available in my country?
Karta says the card works in 200+ countries and territories where Visa is accepted, and adds that availability “depends on local regulations and partner coverage.” The card does not publish a list of supported countries, and it does not say whether eligibility is based on your citizenship or your country of residence. The practical answer is: you can start the bot almost anywhere Telegram is reachable, and the in-app verification will tell you whether you can complete it.
How do I get a Karta card?
You start the Karta Telegram bot, complete the in-app verification (the card says it takes up to 5 minutes), and top up the card to activate the virtual version. The virtual card activation is 5.00 USDT; the physical card is activated from 100.00 USDT. The card does not publish the documents the verification will ask for, the age minimum, or the reasons an application might be rejected.
Does the Karta card require KYC?
The card advertises a “quick verification” inside the Telegram app, with the published time being “up to 5 minutes.” The documents the verification asks for are not listed on the card’s own pages. A third-party listing (unofficial and not confirmed by the card) says it requires an email, a phone number, and an identity document, and does not require proof of address or a selfie.
How do I top up the Karta card?
You send USDT or USDC from a self-custody wallet to the address the bot shows you, on one of nine supported networks (Tron, Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base, Solana). The card does not charge a top-up fee; you only pay the on-chain network fee. You can also top up by bank transfer through ACH, SWIFT, SEPA, PIX, or SPEI, depending on your country. The card does not publish a minimum top-up amount.
How do I add the Karta card to Apple Wallet?
Once the virtual card is active, you add it through the card’s interface inside Telegram. The card says it is “compatible with Apple Pay, Google Pay.” The tokenised device number is stored in the phone’s Secure Element, not on Apple’s servers, so each contactless payment uses a one-time dynamic security code and the real card number is not shared with the merchant.
Is the Karta card safe?
The card lists a self-custody wallet, 3-D Secure, encrypted transactions, and PIN protection as its safety features. It does not mention 2FA, an in-app card freeze, or insurance on the stored balance. The card is “not a bank” and is not FDIC insured, and the issuing bank is not named. Trustpilot scores it 3.9 out of 5 from 25 reviews, and third-party sites flag some of the marketing claims as misleading. For a balanced view, weigh the published safety features against the missing ones and the “not a bank” status before you load a large balance.
Virtual cards – cryptocardsranked
Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team
