The Nexo card read closely: who gets it, what it costs, and where it falls short
The Nexo card sits in an awkward middle ground. It is not a bank card from a bank you have known for years, and it is not a self-custody card where you keep your own keys either. It is a payment card, issued by a named e-money institution, that spends the balance sitting in your Nexo account — with the crypto flavour arriving through the assets you hold there, not through the card itself. That middle position produces both its strengths and its annoyances, and it is exactly what this review tries to pin down.
My overall verdict is 6.3 out of 10. That is not a dismissal. Nexo scores well on the everyday-use dimension (8/10) because the virtual card, Apple Pay, Google Pay and cash withdrawals all work in a way that feels ordinary once set up. It scores a 7 on cost, because there is genuinely no monthly or annual fee — the money leaves via FX fees, conversion and tier conditions instead of a subscription. But it scores only 5 on who can get it, because the official page never names a country list, and it scores 5 on reliability, because the recent record around Nexo — a Bulgarian police raid, a move to licensed partners under MiCA, unresolved questions about whether physical cards can be ordered at all — makes the card’s long-term home harder to call settled. In short: a competent card for a European who already holds a sizable crypto balance on Nexo and wants to spend it with cashback, and a poor fit for anyone who needs a card they can rely on for years or who wants clarity about the paperwork up front.
Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Selected European countries, EEA and the UK are named; no official country list is published, and a third-party list is unofficial and disputed |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | No monthly or annual fee and free issuance, but FX, a possible crypto swap and a $5,000 condition on the plastic card |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Spends from the Nexo account across 100+ assets, stablecoins and FiatX in Debit Mode; networks are not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Issuer named (DiPocket UAB, Bank of Lithuania); Trustpilot 4.4 but complaints about withdrawal delays, closed accounts, the Bulgarian raid and card-ordering confusion; no cardholder insurance found |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, ATM — but the physical card needs Gold tier and a $5,000 balance |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 | A good spend card for an existing Nexo holder; a paper trail with loose ends for everyone else |
Will they give you the card
The short answer is: only if you live in — and hold citizenship or residence tied to — a selected European country, and the page does not tell you exactly which ones. Nexo’s own wording covers “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom,” and it says the card is not available in certain jurisdictions without naming those either. Note the phrasing: it is citizens and residents, not residents alone. Both matter, because national screening is often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to where you live.

That is the whole of the official answer, and it is thinner than it looks. There is no published country list on the card page. If you want to know whether your country is on it before you sign up, you are relying on either the signup flow itself or third-party compilations. One widely-cited unofficial list, from a comparison site in August 2026, lists thirty countries as available — Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom — and marks Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States as restricted. I want to be clear that this is unofficial, not confirmed by Nexo, and the same source’s own framing admits the situation is disputed. If your country is on neither list, the honest answer is that you will not know until you try.
One more piece of context that belongs in this section, though it is news rather than a card fact. In 2025, Bulgarian police raided Nexo’s Sofia offices over alleged Russia-sanctions and anti-money-laundering violations. Nexo made no official statement about any Russians being found. This does not tell you whether you will pass KYC, but it is the kind of thing a reader deserves to know before depositing funds anywhere, and it is why the Bulgaria entry on the unofficial list deserves a second look rather than a shrug.
How to get it
Getting the card starts with one thing only: identity verification. Nexo requires a supported identity document issued in the EEA, the UK, or another eligible European country. That is the single published requirement I can find — beyond it, the page is genuinely silent. Proof of address is not stated. A minimum age is not stated. The number of verification tiers, how long processing takes, and the specific reasons a check can be rejected are all not stated on the card page. In practice you should expect to hand over more than a passport when prompted, because that is how customer due diligence works in this region, but I will not fill the card page’s silence with guesses.
There are two cards. The virtual card activates in the app and is the one most people will use first. The physical card is ordered in the app — under the Card tab, “Order Nexo Card” — at no additional cost, with standard delivery up to four weeks; it may arrive at your local Post Office, and it must be activated in the app once you have it. The country list for physical delivery and the cost of a replacement card are not stated, which is worth knowing before you set off needing a second one.
On the technical side, the page carries a Mastercard trademark notice but does not state the network explicitly. A third-party source in August 2026 names Mastercard, but that is unofficial and I could not confirm it on Nexo’s own page. The issuer is named and that is solid ground: DiPocket UAB, a Lithuanian entity authorised by the Bank of Lithuania. The card’s own currency is not stated; the fee tables are quoted in EUR and GBP, which suggests but does not confirm which currency your card will run in.
I will not walk you through any route to getting approved that the card does not publish, because there is nothing to walk through — and the limits section says so plainly when it matters.
What it really costs: Fees
There is no monthly fee, no annual fee and no inactivity fee. That is the headline, and it is genuinely true. Nexo also charges nothing to issue the virtual card, though it needs at least $50 in the account before the virtual card will activate. The physical card ships free — but only if you clear two conditions at once: at least the Gold tier and a balance above $5,000 in digital assets. Those two conditions, not any subscription, are where the cost of this card actually hides.

Where money really moves is in fees on the transaction itself and in the FX spread. The foreign-transaction fee is 0.2% on weekdays and 0.7% at weekends for EEA, UK and Switzerland, and 2% weekdays and 2.5% weekends for the rest of the world. The crypto conversion fee is not stated on the page — the card simply spends stablecoins, crypto or FiatX assets such as EURx, USDx and GBPx in Debit Mode. An unofficial third-party figure puts the Debit Mode crypto-to-fiat swap at 0.75% and notes it can stack with the FX fee; unofficial, so treat it as something to confirm in your own app rather than a number to plan around.
| Fee or limit | What it says |
|---|---|
| Monthly fee | None |
| Annual fee | None |
| Inactivity fee | None |
| Issuance, virtual card | Free; needs at least $50 in the account to activate |
| Issuance, physical card | No additional cost, but requires Gold tier and a balance above $5,000 in digital assets |
| FX fee, EEA/UK/CH | 0.2% weekdays, 0.7% weekends |
| FX fee, rest of world | 2% weekdays, 2.5% weekends |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated; Debit Mode spends stablecoins/crypto/FiatX |
| Debit Mode swap (unofficial) | 0.75%, reportedly stackable with FX fees |
| ATM, free monthly allowance | Base EUR 200 / GBP 180; Silver EUR 400 / GBP 360; Gold EUR 1,000 / GBP 900; Platinum EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,800 |
| ATM, above allowance | 2% fee, minimum 1.99 EUR/GBP per withdrawal |
| Daily/monthly spend limits | Not stated; clients with $100,000 in assets get “higher Nexo Card spending limits” |
| Cashback condition | Only in Credit Mode and only above $5,000 in digital assets |
Two or three ordinary payments show how this lands. Say you buy a coffee abroad on a weekday inside the EEA. You are looking at a 0.2% foreign-transaction fee, plus whatever the crypto-to-fiat conversion costs if the balance is held in a stablecoin or crypto rather than plain fiat — and if the card has to swap crypto, that unofficial 0.75% may sit on top. Buy the same coffee at a weekend and the FX leg rises to 0.7%. Take $100 out of a cash machine on the Base tier: your EUR 200 monthly allowance covers it in the year as a whole, but the moment you exceed that allowance in a month the fee is 2% with a 1.99 EUR/GBP minimum per withdrawal, which on a modest amount is a real bite. Cashback does not come back for free either — it applies only in Credit Mode, only if your account holds more than $5,000 in digital assets, and it is paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin. A small spender paying a few small amounts a month is, in the end, paying a percentage here and a percentage there, with no fixed monthly bill to budget against.
How to top it up
Topping this card is not a card operation — it is an account operation, and that is the design. The card spends directly from your Nexo account balance. More than 100 digital assets are supported, and in Debit Mode the card draws on stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets. You do not “load” the card; you make sure the account holds something spendable.
What the page does not say is where most people would want it to: the deposit fee, the minimum top-up, the fiat top-up options and their fees are all not stated, and withdrawal terms are not stated either. Networks are not applicable or not disclosed for the card itself. So if your instinct is to send a stablecoin to a Nexo address, be careful — because blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee attached.
One thing the card does reward: cashback, paid in NEXO token or Bitcoin, and only on purchases made in Credit Mode with more than $5,000 in digital assets on the account. The rate depends on your loyalty tier, which is set by the share of NEXO tokens in your portfolio. Platinum pays 2% in NEXO or 0.5% in Bitcoin; Gold 1% or 0.3%; Silver 0.7% or 0.2%; Base 0.5% or 0.1%. Loyalty members also earn “up to 13%” on idle funds, though the per-tier rate is not stated. Rates may change and vary by region. Read that as: the cashback is real but conditional, tier-dependent and changeable, and in Base tier it is a rounding error on everyday spending.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, the Nexo card behaves like an ordinary debit card, and that is its strongest dimension — 8 out of 10 in my scoring. You get a virtual card you activate in the app, the option of a physical one, and both Apple Pay and Google Pay support, so in practice you can leave the card in your phone and rarely handle plastic. Cash withdrawals are supported, subject to the tier allowance and the 2% fee above it.
A few practical details round out the picture. The app runs on iOS — iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Apple Vision — with a 4.2-out-of-5 App Store rating from “2K” ratings as I read it, in an interface available in 18 languages including Russian, Ukrainian, Kazakh and Uzbek. The Google Play listing I did not read. The virtual and physical cards exist in parallel, so you can keep the virtual one for online and phone payments while the physical one handles the taps and withdrawals where a physical card is expected.
Two everyday things the page leaves open. Whether certain merchant categories — gambling and similar — are blocked is not stated, so do not assume either way; check your own settings before you find out at the till. And the dispute process, should a payment go wrong, is not stated either. For a card where a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, that silence is worth noticing, not glossing over.
What can go wrong
The reliability story is the weakest part of this card, and it deserves to be said plainly rather than softened. Nexo names DiPocket UAB, authorised by the Bank of Lithuania, as the card issuer — that is a real, named institution, and it is reassuring in a way that many crypto-adjacent cards are not. But the surrounding picture has been unsettled.
In 2025, Bulgarian police raided Nexo’s Sofia offices over alleged Russia-sanctions and anti-money-laundering breaches. In October 2026, reporting described Nexo moving custody and trading to licensed partners after its MiCA transition, with borrowing and Credit Mode sitting outside those partner licences, and with conflicting public statements about whether physical cards can be ordered at all — which lands uncomfortably close to the physical-card conditions described above. Nexo said in June 2026 that it had set up a MiCA-compliant structure under German oversight with products unchanged, but that was a company post, not a regulator record. The MiCA transition period ended 1 July 2026, and independent checks of the ESMA register in August and September 2026 did not find an entity named Nexo among authorised CASPs; custody and trading in the EEA reportedly run through partners Tangany and DLT Finance, and a Bulgarian FSC application was reportedly filed in February 2026 and still pending. None of that means the card stops working tomorrow. It does mean the entity standing behind your balance is more complicated than the card page lets on.
What users actually report is more human and more useful. The Trustpilot TrustScore stands at 4.4 out of 5 across 18,805 reviews as I read it — a good number. But the recurring themes in recent reviews are the ones a prospective cardholder should hold in mind: fees that sting on small transactions, and the $5,000 minimum-balance condition including the awkward grace period when you fall below it; delayed withdrawals and accounts that are locked or closed; support described as unhelpful on technical problems by some and praised for speed by others; deposits slow to appear; objection to third-party “Earn Provider” custody; and regional restrictions on bank funding and card access. On security, the app offers instant card freeze, spending controls and biometric locks, and describes custody as “industrial-grade” — but because it is custodial, 2FA and any safeguarding or insurance of funds are not stated on the card page, and an unofficial source explicitly reports no cardholder insurance. For a card where the money behind it sits with a provider, that combination — custodial funds, no stated investor-style protection, and a compliance picture in motion — is the risk to weigh.
On the mechanics, remember that a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, because merchants can look up the issuing institution and country from the card’s identification number and apply extra scrutiny when it differs from your billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for the same reason. And under 3-D Secure, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift toward you. None of this is Nexo-specific, but it is what “everyday use” actually consists of.
What to take instead
If Nexo does not fit — because of where you live, because of the $5,000 physical-card condition, or because you would rather hold your own keys — the field has other options. Here is how the main ones compare, with the same care about what is official and what is not.
| Card | Score | Card type | Cost structure | Cashback | Notable fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | Mastercard (unofficial), custodial, virtual + physical | No monthly fee; FX 0.2% EEA/UK weekdays; physical card needs Gold and $5,000 | Credit Mode only, above $5,000, tier-based | Large Nexo balances in Europe |
| Xplace | 7.7 / 10 | Visa, virtual + physical (tiers rolling out) | Annual fee: Basic free, Silver $99, Gold $249, Platinum $999; no origination fee on borrowing | Credit-mode cashback by tier: 0.5% to 2%, paid in USDC; “0% FX on Platinum” | Higher budget, Solana deposits, 160+ country acceptance |
| ether.fi | 6.7 / 10 | Visa, self-custody (Safe), virtual + physical | First virtual card $10 in regional-pricing countries; monthly/annual fee not stated | ETHFI, tiered up to 3% with monthly ladders | Self-custody preference, wide jurisdiction list incl. 31 US states |
| Exa | 6.2 / 10 | Visa Signature virtual, self-custody collateral | Marketed free; fee amounts not stated | No cashback stated; yield-on-assets instead | 45 countries, 31 US states, installment model |
Where each of these pulls away from Nexo. Xplace scores highest here and takes a different shape: a Visa card with an explicit annual-fee ladder, tiered Credit-mode cashback paid in USDC, Solana-network deposits, and a stated “no hidden spread” on stablecoin spending — but a tier structure that costs real money to climb, and physical cards still rolling out. ether.fi is the answer if custody is your objection: funds sit in your own Safe until payment, there is a long list of issuing jurisdictions, and cashback in ETHFI reaches 3% on higher tiers — but the tier ladders, the excluded merchant categories, and the fee structure are all more intricate than Nexo’s. Exa is the broad-coverage option, issuing in 45 countries and 31 US states, marketed free, but it pays no cashback on spending and leans on a credit-line model rather than everyday balance spending. None of these is a clean sweep; they trade against each other in different currencies.
The honest summary: Nexo has the least ceremony for a European who already holds crypto on the platform, and more conditions attached to it than its no-fee headline suggests.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Nexo card to a European, already holding a sizable balance on Nexo, who wants to spend it at the till or in the app and get some cashback back, and who is content to treat the platform as the custodian of that balance. The virtual card, the wallet integration and the ATM function do what they promise for that reader, and there is no monthly bill to remember.
I would not recommend it to someone who needs the card as a reliable fixture for the next several years — the MiCA transition, the pending Bulgarian authorisation and the muddle over physical-card ordering make the institutional picture unsettled, and a reader who plans around this card deserves to know that. I would also steer it away from anyone whose country is not clearly on the list, anyone who wants to hold their own keys, and anyone who spends small amounts very often, where the percentage fees and the $5,000 conditions bite hardest. And if you are comparing it against a self-custody card, the decision is not really about fees at all — it is about whether you are willing to trust a provider with your funds, because Nexo is a custodial card by design.
Conditions here reflect what the card’s public pages said as of 2026-10-20; eligibility, fees and tier conditions can change, so confirm them in your own account before you commit.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Nexo card?
The Nexo card is a payment card that spends directly from your Nexo account balance rather than from a bank account. Nexo issues it through DiPocket UAB, an entity authorised by the Bank of Lithuania. You can hold a virtual version, activate it in the app, and add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, or order a physical card. It functions like a prepaid card: the balance on the account is what you can spend.
How does the Nexo card work?
You top up your Nexo account, and the card spends that balance. In Debit Mode it draws on stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets such as EURx, USDx and GBPx, across more than 100 supported digital assets, converting to fiat at the merchant. It is a custodial setup — Nexo holds the credentials, so you trust the provider with the funds rather than holding keys yourself.
Is Nexo a bank?
No — Nexo is a crypto platform, not a bank. The card itself is issued by DiPocket UAB, a licensed electronic money institution, and it is that issuer, not Nexo, that stands behind the card. The Nexo operating entity, its registered country, and its MiCA or VASP licences are not stated on the card page, which is a real gap to keep in mind.
Who can get the Nexo card?
Nexo says residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom” can get it, and that it is not available in certain jurisdictions — without naming either list. An unofficial third-party source lists 30 available countries and marks Bulgaria, Estonia and the US as restricted, but that is not confirmed by Nexo. If your country is not clearly covered, you will not know until you try.
How do I get and activate the Nexo card?
You need identity verification with a supported document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country. The virtual card activates directly in the app once you have at least $50 in the account. The physical card is ordered in the app under Card, costs nothing extra, takes up to four weeks, may go to your local Post Office, and must be activated in the app on arrival.
Does the Nexo card require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification is the one published requirement, using an identity document issued in an eligible European country. Proof of address, minimum age, verification tiers, processing times and rejection reasons are not stated on the card page. Because the balance is custodial and cashback depends on holding assets, expect closer scrutiny than a prepaid store card.
How do I top up the Nexo card?
You do not top up the card itself — you fund your Nexo account and the card spends from it. More than 100 digital assets are supported, with stablecoins, crypto and FiatX available in Debit Mode. The deposit fee, minimum top-up, fiat top-up methods and their fees, and withdrawal terms are all not stated, so check your account before sending anything.
Is the Nexo card free, and what are the real costs?
There is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee, and the virtual card issues free once you hold $50. But the physical card requires Gold tier and a $5,000 balance, cashback requires more than $5,000 in digital assets and Credit Mode, the FX fee is 0.2% on weekdays in the EEA/UK/CH (0.7% weekends), and ATM withdrawals above your tier’s free allowance cost 2% with a 1.99 minimum.
Is the Nexo card safe?
It comes with ordinary protections — instant card freeze, spending controls, biometric locks, wallet tokenisation — but the funds are custodial, meaning you trust Nexo. The card page does not state 2FA or any safeguarding of funds, and an unofficial source reports no cardholder insurance. Recent reviews mention delayed withdrawals and locked accounts, and the platform has been through a Bulgarian police raid and a MiCA transition, so weigh the institutional picture too.
Can I delete or close my Nexo account, and what happens to my balance?
The card page does not describe account deletion or what happens to remaining funds, and withdrawal terms are not stated there either. In general, closing an account in this industry often means you must withdraw your balance first — and crypto transfers are irreversible, so make sure any withdrawal goes to an address and network you control before you close anything.
Credit and cashback cards – cryptocardsranked
Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team
