Us in daily life, thin on paper

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have been searching for a way to spend crypto without giving up the ordinary rituals of a payment card — tapping at a terminal, a virtual card for subscriptions, cash from an ATM — the Avici card sits in a promising spot. On the things you actually do with a card, it scores well. On the things that decide whether you can sleep at night — who issues it, under what licence, what happens when a payment is held — its public pages are thin, and there are fewer coins in the tank than you might expect.

Avici works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I worked through the card’s own documentation, the app-facing terms, and the material a reader is most likely to stumble across when searching “Avici card review”, and I scored it 6.1 out of 10. That is not a bad card. It is a card that is easy to use and hard to fully verify from the outside. Whether that trade suits you depends almost entirely on why you are here.

The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Issued to residents of 49 regions including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Japan, the UAE and the USA; 17 countries are closed
Cost 5 / 10 Virtual Platinum $15 for the first one, physical Platinum $50, Signature $30 in the first year and $20 a year after; $0 per transaction, 0% FX
Top-up options 5 / 10 Top up with USDC through a Loan Escrow smart contract; no other coins officially — unofficial: any token via Relay auto-swap on EVM L2 or Solana
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Avici Inc., San Francisco, partner Third National, licences not disclosed; Trustpilot 3.5 out of 5 from 5 reviews, one about a €20,000 payment being blocked
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM: Platinum $1 + 0.65%, Signature $0
Total 6.1 / 10 Strong daily driver, thin on paper

The card is aimed, in plain terms, at residents of Latin America and the UAE who hold USDC — people who have crypto, want to spend it like money, and may not have a comfortable path to an ordinary bank card in the first place. If that is you, the daily-use half of this review is the part to read twice.

Will they give you the card

The headline eligibility answer: yes, if you live in one of the listed regions, and no if you do not. Avici issues to residents of 49 regions, and the list includes Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Colombia, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Singapore, Thailand, the United Arab Emirates, South Africa and the United States, subject to a supported-states list. Notably absent from the list are the EU countries, as well as Georgia, Serbia, Armenia and Kazakhstan.

Then there is the other half, which matters just as much. Residency in certain countries is prohibited outright: Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. And spending is prohibited in a shorter list — Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela.

That distinction between “can sign up” and “can spend” is the one to sit with. You can be eligible from one address and find that a purchase in another place is simply not permitted. If your income, your family, or your business spans more than one of those places, the geography matters more than the app does.

Two things the card’s public pages do not say. The citizenship rule is not stated, and proof of address is not mentioned anywhere in the verification flow. If you hold a passport from a restricted region but live in a supported one — or the reverse — the pages give you no rule to apply, and you would be guessing.

How to get it

The short answer is that you sign up in the app, verify once, and the card is meant to be usable very quickly.

The verification is handled by Sumsub, and it happens after you sign up with your email. It is a single pass covering your personal details, identity documents and a liveness check — the camera-based selfie-style step. The marketing line is that verification takes no more than a few minutes; treat that as a best case rather than a schedule. Your KYC data is shared with the card’s partners, and Sumsub runs ongoing anti-money-laundering monitoring of both users and on-chain funds. Business accounts go through a separate verification.

What is not on the page is just as telling. The specific document types accepted are not listed, nor are the reasons a check might be rejected — so if you are missing something you cannot see. If you pay for the card and then do not complete or pass verification, the documented route is in-app support, for a refund.

The card itself is a Visa. It is described in “secured credit card” wording, and it comes as virtual cards organised by category — subscriptions, groceries, travel — plus a physical card in the post. The currency of the card is not stated. One note for anyone comparing tiers: an “Infinite” card is listed as coming soon.

Physical delivery, where you want it, is the slow part. Standard shipping is free and untracked and takes three to four weeks. Priority tracked delivery is $50 internationally and takes one to two weeks, or $15 in the US, where the timing is not stated. Which countries the physical card ships to, and what a replacement costs if it is lost, are both not stated on the pages I could see.

Fees and what they add up to

Here is the honest cost picture, layer by layer. The card advertises “No Hidden Fee” and “No Gas Fee, No Interchange Fee”, but it does not put amounts next to those words on that page — the numbers live on the tier tables instead.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Avici payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Platinum Signature
Virtual card $15 first card, then $10 one-time for each later card $30 first year, then $20/year
Physical card $50 one-time $75 plus $20/year from year two
Per transaction $0 $0
Forex markup 0% 0%
ATM $1 + 0.65% per withdrawal $0
Declined transaction $0.60 $0
Balance inquiry $0.60 $0
Per-transaction limit $1,000 $1,000
Daily limit $3,000 $3,000
Transactions per day 3 3

Signature is the more expensive card and the cheaper card to use: it waives the ATM fee, the declined-transaction fee and the balance-inquiry fee. Which one wins for you is entirely a question of how much you withdraw from ATMs and how often a payment gets bounced.

Now, some ordinary days, priced out with the card’s own numbers.

A week of groceries in the US. The card is native USD, so no conversion is involved and the transaction fee is $0 — the only cost is the shop’s own price.

A holiday in Mexico paid in pesos. The forex markup is 0%, but Visa may add its own cross-border fee of 0.4–1% on non-USD transactions. That Visa-side fee is the one to budget for, not the card’s.

A cash withdrawal on Platinum. $1 plus 0.65% of the amount. On Signature the same withdrawal costs $0.

Two limits are worth understanding properly, because they are the ones people trip over. Both tiers cap a single transaction at $1,000 and a day at $3,000, across a maximum of three transactions per day. That is genuinely restrictive for anyone splitting a rent payment or a large purchase — a $2,000 flight simply does not go through. The card claims “no transaction limits” alongside these caps, and the app lets you set per-card limits in settings, so the marketing line and the actual numbers are not quite the same thing. Treat $1,000 per transaction and three a day as the reality.

One more thing you should know rather than discover: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain itself, not by Avici. That is normal for the category, but it means a top-up on a busy network can cost more than zero.

Top up

The funding model is the single most important thing to understand about this card, and it is unusual in a good way.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Avici starts with a transfer to the right network

You top up by depositing USDC into a Loan Escrow smart contract. That deposit becomes the USD credit balance the card spends from. The spent USDC is liquidated out of the contract every one to two days, sometimes weekly. Officially, USDC is the coin — the card’s pages do not list others, and fiat top-up options are not stated. There is no stated minimum top-up, and there is no top-up fee and no fee for withdrawing to your wallet.

The part that should make you sit up: the escrow is self-custodial. Your wallet owns the contract and can withdraw the remaining funds after spends are deducted; the provider can only withdraw what is tied to spend charges. So the money is not sitting in someone’s account waiting to be misused. That is a real structural difference from most custodial cards, and it is the strongest thing on this page.

The catch is the coin. If your balance is not USDC, you are dependent on an unofficial path: a third-party summary describes a Relay auto-swap for any token on EVM L2 or Solana. Treat that as unconfirmed by the card. Another unofficial source gives a $1 minimum and arrival in two to seven minutes. The network you send on has to match what the provider expects — a transfer to an unsupported network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee, and crypto transfers cannot be reversed.

Paying with it every day

The day-to-day verdict is the strongest section of this card. Apple Pay and Google Pay tap-to-pay both work, and the card leans on passkeys and account abstraction for self-custody in the app.

What you get in practice:

The app itself is reached from a “Download App” link on the homepage; which platforms it runs on, and its App Store or Google Play ratings, are not stated. That is worth knowing if you are the kind of person who reads reviews before installing anything.

Rewards and perks are advertised in broad strokes — airline miles, rental car insurance, travel and restaurant perks, trip protection, and something called “Avenue to TradeFI rewards”. No cashback rate is stated anywhere. So do not model this card’s value on rewards; the case for it is the spending itself.

Blocked categories are also not stated on the official pages. An unofficial source says gambling, illegal drugs and financial institutions are restricted, with the last needing extra approval. Some of that is standard practice in the category — gambling has its own merchant category code, 7995, and many issuers block it by policy — but Avici’s own list is not published, so assume any given purchase might be declined rather than not.

One thing to know about declines: an authorisation that fails can still leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to seven. If you are watching a balance that a single payment sits on top of, that matters.

What can go wrong

Let me separate what the card tells you from what people have reported, because the gap between the two is the story here.

On the official side: no incidents are described. On the user-report side, the sample is tiny and unverified, but it is not nothing. A review dated 31 March 2026 describes a business-account user whose €20,000 incoming payment was credited and then blocked, with the account restricted, support silent and no refund. A January 2026 review describes repeated login errors at email and authenticator verification. Trustpilot sits at 3.5 out of 5 — but from five reviews, which is not a meaningful signal in either direction.

The company picture is where a careful reader should slow down. Avici Inc. is at 300 4th St, San Francisco, CA 94107. The documentation names “Third National” as a party to the loan contract structure, without detailing its role. Neither Third National, Avici nor Visa controls the loan contract, per the docs. But the issuer, the BIN sponsor, and the licences — none of that is disclosed on the pages I read. An unofficial source names Rain as the issuing partner with KYC data shared with it; that is not confirmed by the card.

Why does this matter, if the money is self-custodial? Two ways. First, the licence position determines who is answerable to a regulator when something goes wrong, and right now you cannot tell from the public pages. Second, the app is not a bank, and the credit balance is not a bank deposit — it does not carry deposit-guarantee protection.

Self-custody brings its own risks, and they are the mirror image of the custodial ones. Whoever holds the private key controls the funds. A seed phrase — typically twelve to twenty-four words — is the unencrypted key itself, and anyone who gets it can restore the wallet and spend the balance. Transfers are irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery path because the network cannot freeze or return funds. And the flip side of “the provider can’t take your money” is that when you send to the wrong address, or to an address on a network the provider does not support, there is nobody to reverse it.

What you can actually control is decent. In the app: freeze (a temporary stop on spending), permanent cancel, per-card spending limits, a PIN, and the option to hide card details. Two-factor authentication and passkeys get a mention; deposit insurance is not stated on the security page. Support channels, languages and hours are not stated either — the docs name in-app support and nothing else. The documentation itself carries dates: the prohibitions page last updated 19 August 2025, the Terms of Service for the Avici Card 23 June 2025, the Business Program Terms 16 October 2025.

One more category-specific caution, because this is the part people do not expect. Crypto card programmes do get closed. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018 and closed all its Visa programmes. Closures typically run in a predictable order — a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains. Self-custody helps you get your money out; it does not make the card keep working.

On tax, and I will keep this short because it is not advice: if you fund a card payment with crypto you disposed of, that is a disposal, measured in your local currency at the value on the day. Whether you owe something depends on your situation, and this is a question for a professional, not for a card review.

What to take instead

Three alternatives come up whenever I read about Avici, and each trades something away.

Avici MetaMask KAST Zeal
Score 6.1 7.1 6.1 6.1
Card network Visa Mastercard Visa Visa
Funding USDC via self-custodial escrow Spends from connected wallet USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD EUR/USD/GBP balances in card Safe
Virtual card cost from $10–$15 Free $0 Standard Not stated
Metal or top-tier cost Physical Platinum $50; Physical Signature $75 Metal $199/year Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year Not stated
Rewards rate Not stated 1% Virtual, 3% Metal to first $10,000 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier, capped monthly Up to 4% in GNO
Key limitation One coin officially; caps at $1,000 a transaction US/UK sign-ups temporarily closed Premium and Private priced for the wealthy Fee schedule not published

MetaMask is the one to look at if breadth matters most to you: a virtual card that is free, spends directly from your connected wallet across Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, and pays 1% cashback in mUSD — 3% on Metal up to the first $10,000 spent. It opens in 45 listed countries including much of Europe, though US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per its FAQ, and its residency list limits sign-ups rather than spending. What you give up is the ATM economics and the self-custodial escrow structure; its fee is described as “minimal” without an amount on the pages I read.

KAST is the one to look at if the ATM and rewards maths matter. It takes USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD, converts stablecoin deposits 1:1 with a 0% spread, charges $0 transaction fees, charges $0 for Apple and Google Pay, and pays 1.5% / 2% / 3% USD cashback on the first $2,000 / $10,000 / $40,000 of monthly spend depending on tier. Its ATM fees are $0, as are balance inquiry and declined-transaction fees. The price of admission is steep — Premium is $1,000 a year and Private $10,000 — and its residency eligibility is checked at KYC against a country list it does not publish.

Zeal is the quietest option. It charges no additional FX fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, spends from EUR, USD and GBP stablecoin accounts in a card Safe on Gnosis Chain and Celo, and pays up to 4% cashback in GNO — though you must hold GNO in the Safe to qualify, and the rates can change. Its programme is live in the EU, UK and a set of countries including Brazil, Japan and Singapore, you can spend in 150+ countries, and it publishes no fee schedule at all.

The honest comparison: Avici wins on ATM (free on Signature) and on self-custodial escrow, and loses on coin choice, on published transparency, and on rewards you can actually count.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to a resident of a supported region — Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Colombia, Singapore, the UAE, the United States among them — who already holds USDC, wants to spend it at ordinary shops without touching an exchange, and is comfortable with a card that runs on one stablecoin and a self-custodial contract. For that person it is genuinely useful: free ATM withdrawals on Signature, $0 transactions, 0% forex markup on the card’s side, virtual cards you can freeze individually, and money that never leaves your own wallet.

I would not recommend it as a first crypto card, and I would not recommend it to anyone who needs published licence information, a published fee schedule, or a rewards rate they can plan around — because none of those exist on the public pages today. Nor would I lean on it for a purchase over $1,000, or for more than three payments a day, since those caps are real.

And I would think twice, hard, if your money situation involves an incoming payment from a business client. That is precisely the scenario in the one substantial complaint I found, and it is the kind of thing that is much cheaper to avoid than to argue about afterwards.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Avici card?

The Avici card is a Visa payment card that spends a crypto balance instead of a bank account. You deposit USDC into a self-custodial Loan Escrow smart contract, and the card draws on the resulting USD credit balance. It comes in Platinum and Signature tiers, each as a virtual or physical card. Avici Inc. is a San Francisco company; the docs name Third National as a party to the contract structure.

How does the Avici card work?

You fund the card by depositing USDC into a Loan Escrow smart contract your wallet owns, then spend the resulting balance like ordinary card money. Spent USDC is liquidated out of the contract every one to two days, sometimes weekly. Because your wallet owns the contract, you can withdraw remaining funds after spends are deducted. The provider can only withdraw what is tied to spend charges.

Is Avici a bank?

No — and it is worth being clear about that. Avici Inc. is a San Francisco company; the documentation names Third National in relation to the loan contract, and neither Third National, Avici nor Visa controls that contract. The card is described as a secured credit card. The issuer, the BIN sponsor and the licences are not disclosed on the public pages, so treat any claim about banking status as unverified.

Who can get the Avici card?

Residents of 49 listed regions, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Colombia, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Singapore, Thailand, the UAE, South Africa and the USA. No EU countries, and no Georgia, Serbia, Armenia or Kazakhstan. Residency in Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam is prohibited.

Does the Avici card require KYC?

Yes. Sign-up is followed by a single Sumsub verification covering personal details, identity documents and a liveness check. Verification takes no more than a few minutes, though that is a best case. KYC data is shared with card partners, and Sumsub runs ongoing AML monitoring of users and on-chain funds. Which documents qualify, and why a check might be rejected, is not stated.

How much does the Avici card cost?

Virtual Platinum is $15 for the first card and $10 one-time for each later card; physical Platinum is $50 one-time. Virtual Signature is $30 in the first year then $20 a year; physical Signature is $75 plus $20 a year from year two. Transactions are $0 and the forex markup is 0%, though Visa may add a 0.4–1% cross-border fee on non-USD payments. Limits are $1,000 per transaction, $3,000 a day, three transactions a day.

Can I use the Avici card with Apple Pay?

Apple Pay and Google Pay tap-to-pay are both supported, alongside virtual cards by category — subscriptions, groceries, travel — and a physical Visa for contactless terminals. The app uses passkeys and account abstraction. The card is native USD, so spending in dollars avoids conversion entirely; spending elsewhere may still attract Visa’s own cross-border fee.

How do I top up the Avici card?

You deposit USDC into the Loan Escrow smart contract that funds the card’s balance. There is no stated minimum and no top-up fee, and no fee for withdrawing back to your wallet. Officially USDC is the only coin; an unofficial source describes a Relay auto-swap for other tokens on EVM L2 or Solana. Make sure the network matches what the provider expects, since a transfer to an unsupported network can be lost with no way to reverse it.

Is the Avici card safe?

The strongest structural point is self-custody: your wallet owns the escrow contract and can withdraw what remains, so the provider cannot move your balance. In the app you get freeze, permanent cancel, per-card limits and a PIN. Against that, two-factor authentication and deposit insurance are not stated on the security page, no support channels are published, and the issuer and licence details are undisclosed. Self-custody also means key loss is unrecoverable and transfers are irreversible.

Is the Avici card worth it?

For a supported-region resident already holding USDC who wants to spend it in ordinary shops, the free Signature ATM withdrawals, $0 transactions and 0% card-side forex markup make it a practical daily driver. Against that, only one coin is officially supported, both tiers cap spending at $1,000 per transaction and three a day, no cashback rate is published, and the issuer and licence picture is not on the public pages. For anything larger or more formal, a card with published fees and a wider coin list suits better.

Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team