Wenia promises a fee-free crypto card, but publishes too little to judge it on

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have tried to get an ordinary bank card and could not, a card that pays straight out of a crypto balance sounds like the practical answer. Wenia is one of those cards. It is free to open, it carries no monthly management fee, and it lets you spend eleven different digital assets. That is genuinely attractive. It is also, as I read it, a card whose public pages leave out more than they tell you: no eligibility list, no stated KYC detail, no ATM fees, no named issuing bank, no network for the assets. My score is 6.1 out of 10, and the reason is not that the card is bad. It is that I cannot tell you enough about it to recommend it with confidence.

Wenia works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.1 out of 10

The score breaks into six criteria. I have copied the marks exactly as I recorded them, with my own reasons.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 Offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia through the Wenia app; availability conditions are not listed
Cost 9 / 10 Creation is free, no management fee or monthly charges, 0% interest; payments in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no surcharge, other coins may incur a conversion fee
Top-up options 8 / 10 Paid from the digital asset balance: COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK, ADA; asset switched in the Wenia Card section; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Wenia S.A.S. (NIT 901656609-9), supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio, Mastercard network, issuing bank not named; no complaints found
Everyday use 5 / 10 Digital Mastercard only, Apple Pay and Google Pay mentioned, in-store payment via mobile wallet described as coming soon; no physical card and no ATM
Total 6.1 / 10

Who this suits: Colombia residents paying online from a crypto balance. That is the population the product is built for, and if you are in it and you spend online, the cost structure is close to ideal — you create the card for nothing, you pay nothing to keep it, and you can pay with the asset you already hold.

Who it does not suit: anyone outside Colombia who expects to be able to sign up. The card is offered in Colombia, and the conditions for availability are not listed, so I cannot tell you whether a resident of another country would be accepted. It also does not suit anyone who needs cash, a physical card, or a card that works by tapping in a shop today.

Two marks carry most of the weight in my head. The 2 out of 10 for eligibility is the one that decides whether you can read the rest of this page at all. And the 5 out of 10 for everyday use is a reminder that “crypto card” still often means “a card you use online”.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: I cannot tell you from what Wenia publishes, because Wenia does not publish it.

The product is offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia through the Wenia app. That is the whole of it. The eligibility conditions are not listed — not the documents, not the residency length, not whether you need a Colombian address or a Colombian ID, not whether a foreign resident with a Colombian address is treated the same as a citizen. The page simply does not say.

This matters more for someone in your position than it would for someone with a working bank card. If a bank turned you down, the reason is often something to do with your nationality, your country of residence, or an address that doesn’t match any document. A card that offers itself to Colombia residents and publishes no eligibility list is not an answer to that problem. It is a question.

What is regulated, though, is the company side. Wenia S.A.S. carries the Colombian tax number NIT 901656609-9, and it is supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio, the Colombian competition and consumer authority. That registration is worth having: it means there is a named company with a legal identity in Colombia, not an anonymous operation. But it does not tell you what the card’s issuing arrangements are. The page says Wenia issues and operates the card itself. It runs on the Mastercard network. No separate bank issuer is named — and in this category that naming matters, as I come back to in the risks section.

So: who gets the card? Officially, Wenia does not say. If you are reading this from outside Colombia, treat the answer as probably no, and check in the app before you read the fees section.

How to get it

Four steps, and the card exists inside the app rather than in your hand.

Download the Wenia app, open an account, create the card in the app, and choose the digital asset you want to pay with. That is the stated sequence. What is not stated is the KYC detail — and “not stated” here means the public pages say nothing about what documents are required, what checks are performed, or how long approval takes. So the honest answer to “does the Wenia card require KYC” is that the product is operated by a supervised Colombian company, which means identity verification is expected, but the specifics are not written down where I could find them.

A few things about the card itself. It is a digital, virtual Mastercard, usable online worldwide. No physical card is mentioned — at all, not even as a later option. In-store payment through a mobile wallet is described as coming soon, which is a phrase I read carefully: it means the normal everyday use of a card is not finished. The currency the card holds is not stated.

One thing that might be worth checking yourself before you go further: whether the Wenia app is available in your country and whether the identity steps go through cleanly for someone whose documents are not Colombian. Those are the two failure points I would test, and both are things you can find out in minutes.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is the good news, and it is unusually good news. Creating the card is free. There is no management fee and no monthly charge — Wenia puts it plainly, “sin cuota de manejo ni cargos mensuales”. Interest is 0%. And payments made in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no additional cost at all.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Wenia payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Then the qualifications start.

Item What Wenia states
Card creation Free
Monthly management fee None (“sin cuota de manejo”)
Other monthly charges None
Interest 0%
Paying with COPW, USDW, EURC No additional cost
Paying with other cryptocurrencies A conversion fee may apply; rate not stated on the page
FX fee Not stated
ATM fees Not stated
Monthly limit Up to 10,000 USD per month
Higher limits On request via customer service
Daily limit Not stated

Let me walk three ordinary payments through that table, because that is where the design either works or does not.

Paying a Colombian shop’s website in pesos while holding COPW: on the face of it, this is the free case. There is no management fee, no monthly charge, no interest, and COPW is one of the three assets that carries no surcharge. If that is your normal payment, the fee column of this card is genuinely close to empty.

Paying a foreign online store in dollars while holding COPW: the page does not say. Whether a currency conversion happens, whether an FX fee applies, and at what rate — none of it is stated. You are in the same position as with many crypto cards: you are relying on a rate you cannot see until the payment clears.

Paying with BTC instead: here the card’s own language is that choosing some other cryptocurrencies may incur a conversion fee, with the rate not stated on the page. So the 9 out of 10 for cost is a mark for the structure, not for the total. It assumes you mostly hold and spend the three no-cost assets. Hold a volatile coin and convert on every purchase and the picture changes, in a way nobody has published for you.

The limit worth planning around is the monthly one: up to 10,000 USD. Above that, you ask customer service. There is no stated daily limit, which means you cannot tell whether a big payment will clear on a given day or has to wait for the month.

Top up: how money gets onto the card

The card does not hold a bank balance. It pays directly out of your digital asset balance in the app. The assets you can spend are COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK and ADA. Which one is active is changed in the “Wenia Card” section of the app, so you can switch rather than convert.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Wenia starts with a transfer to the right network

And then the sentence that stopped me: the networks are not stated. This is the single gap in the funding section that I would not step over.

Crypto transfers happen on networks, and getting a stablecoin to an address that expects a different network is one of the most common ways money is lost in this field. Transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address of another network, can be gone, or can need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. If you are about to move a meaningful amount of USDW or any other asset, do not guess. Find out from Wenia which network your deposit address expects, and send a small amount first to see it arrive.

One more thing about the ecosystem the assets live in, which is not about Wenia specifically but shapes what happens to your deposit. USDT and USDC are the two dollar-pegged stablecoins that dominate the market — the BIS, in July 2025, put roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in those two. They are not risk-free: USDC temporarily lost its dollar peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis, and the label “stable” describes an aim, not a guarantee. If you send on Ethereum, the network fee is paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send at all. Tron handles fees differently, through bandwidth and energy that are often paid by burning TRX, and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. These are the details that turn a simple top-up into a puzzle, and they are exactly the details Wenia does not list.

Paying with it every day

The honest summary is that this is an online card today, with wallets as the bridge to physical use.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are both mentioned on the home page. That matters, because it is the only route Wenia describes to tapping a terminal — and even that is described as coming soon. In-store payment through the mobile wallet is described as coming soon. So the everyday picture as published is: online payments worldwide, and wallet payments that are announced but not yet described as available. No physical card, no ATM. If your week involves handing over a card for coffee, groceries or a taxi, this does not cover it.

Two further details are not stated: which merchant categories are blocked, and whether there is any rewards or cashback programme. Both of those matter when you pick a card, and neither is written down.

It is worth knowing why some merchants are fussy about cards like this, because it explains occasional declines that have nothing to do with you. A card number begins with an issuer identification number of 6 or 8 digits that says which institution and country issued it. Merchants can look that up and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the billing address on file. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards precisely because that lookup reveals the card type. Address verification services, which compare the numeric parts of the billing address a buyer types against issuer records, are mostly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and are generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — another cause of declines. On the other hand, adding the card to a mobile wallet replaces the card number with a device-specific number kept in the phone’s secure hardware, never on the vendor’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code. If that is the way you use it, you are in the better-protected part of the card world.

One last practical note: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your money that stays for several days, typically up to seven.

What can go wrong

Nothing has gone publicly wrong with this card — and that is itself a young picture, not a settled one.

I found no complaints and no user reviews for the Wenia Card on Reddit, Trustpilot or in news coverage, and no official incidents. With no complaints you also get no track record. A card with no reported problems may be well-behaved, or may simply be new enough not to have been tested. I would not read the absence of complaints as evidence of a good history.

The specific risks I would weigh, in the order they would actually affect you:

The unnamed issuing bank. Wenia says it issues and operates the card, and the card runs on Mastercard. No separate bank issuer is named. In this category the distinction matters. A card is a payment service issued by a licensed bank or e-money institution, while the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end. When the same company markets the crypto, issues the card and holds your balance, you have one counterparty for three things at once. Visa and Mastercard themselves do not issue crypto cards to consumers — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa said in November 2022 that it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all the programmes it had issued. Programme closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. Nothing here suggests Wenia is heading that way. But the history of the category is why I treat “who actually stands behind this” as the first question to ask, and why the absent bank name is more than a missing line.

Whether your funds are protected. If an electronic money institution holds customer funds, it must safeguard them, in segregated accounts or insured — but such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. I cannot tell you from Wenia’s pages which arrangement applies to your balance.

The missing network list, covered above, which is the one that bites fastest.

Verification friction. Identity checks are required by anti-money-laundering law across the board, and where they cannot be completed, accounts are closed or frozen pending documents. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to address. If you have a complicated document situation, that is where it will surface.

Then tax, which nobody on the card’s pages mentions. Digital assets are treated as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss. Gain is measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction — which means every card payment funded from crypto can be a separate taxable disposal. I am not giving you tax advice and I am not going to try; take this to whoever handles your taxes in your country, and raise it before you run up a year of payments.

What to take instead

If Wenia does not fit, these are the three cards I looked at closely. They are not all alternatives to your situation — two of them have their own access rules — but each is worth a look on its own terms.

Bybit Card — 6.0 / 10. The widest geography of the three: the official help centre lists Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific. The application asks for country of residence, and if the country is not supported, Bybit “will register your interest”. The cards page is explicit: this product is not meant for European Economic Area customers, and all EEA customer participation is strictly prohibited. Both virtual and physical cards exist, with the virtual one obtained first; physical cards are not available in Peru and rollout is phased. Networks and currencies vary by region — Mastercard prepaid in Argentina, Mastercard credit in AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Mexico, Visa prepaid in Brazil and Peru, Visa credit in Asia Pacific.

The cost structure is where it gets busy. Virtual issuance is free in all regions until further notice. Physical issuance or replacement: Australia 29.99 USD, Argentina 5 USD/USDT, Georgia 29.99 USDT, Kazakhstan 29.99 USDT, Asia Pacific 5 USDT, none in Brazil and Mexico, and VIPs holding certain physical cards pay no issuance or replacement fee. Crypto conversion runs 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in several regions, 0.5% in Argentina. FX fees are 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico; 2% in Kazakhstan on purchases outside Kazakhstan even in USD; 7% in Argentina; 1.5% in Brazil; 1% in Peru. Argentina adds VAT of 21% on foreign digital services and a 30% tax on foreign transactions.

One detail worth knowing regardless of region: from 5 October 2026 at 10:00 UTC, only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback — fiat-funded spending does not.

Coinbase Card — 6.4 / 10, the highest score of the group. It is also the narrowest: available in all US states except Hawaii, following the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules, and no other countries. It is a Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical, spending cash or crypto, with all crypto converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals. There are zero spending fees and no annual fees; the costs that do exist are the spread when Coinbase buys, sells or trades crypto, applied at conversion. Optional crypto rewards on every purchase, US Card users only, with a variable rate shown in the app. If you are in the US, this is the simplest version of the idea here.

OKX — 6.2 / 10. EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded. The rule is by user of OKX Europe Ltd., the MiCAR-licensed entity. It is a Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay; no physical card is mentioned, and it is issued via an unnamed European licensed payment provider. No card fee and no transaction fee, no OKX FX fee. On conversion spread the two sources disagree: the explainer says 0.1% as of May 2026, while the launch press release said 0.4% market spread, and the explainer is the newer of the two. Funding sits in OKX Pay as USDC or USDG; other coins must be converted first; there is no auto top-up, and the payment is declined if the balance is short. Cashback only on USDG purchases — USDC earns none.

Wenia Bybit Card Coinbase Card OKX
Score 6.1 / 10 6.0 / 10 6.4 / 10 6.2 / 10
Where offered Colombia Argentina, AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific US states except Hawaii EU plus Norway, excluding Iceland and Liechtenstein
Card form Digital only Virtual then physical Virtual or physical Virtual only
Network Mastercard Mastercard or Visa by region Visa Mastercard
Physical card Not mentioned Yes, not in Peru Yes Not mentioned
Creation cost Free Free (virtual) No annual fees None
Cardholder currency Not stated Varies by region US dollar Euro

Who I would recommend it to

To a Colombian resident who already holds crypto, pays mainly online, and wants to spend a stablecoin without a monthly fee and without a spread at the moment of payment. For that person, Wenia’s cost design is close to the best in this category and I do not think it needs much argument from me.

To nobody else yet — and “yet” is doing honest work in that sentence. I would wait if you are outside Colombia, if you need a physical card or cash, if you intend to hold and spend a volatile coin rather than COPW, USDW or EURC, or if you are simply uncomfortable with a product whose own pages do not name the issuing bank or the networks you should deposit on. Those are not disqualifying faults. They are gaps, and gaps in a payment product tend to be discovered at the worst possible moment — a declined payment, a lost deposit, a support queue.

If that is you, and you are in the US, look at the Coinbase Card first. If you are in one of Bybit’s regions, look at Bybit Card and read the fee table for your region properly. If you are in the EEA, OKX is there and is EEA-only. Wenia is the one here that would need to publish more before I would put it in a recommendation.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Wenia card?

It is a digital Mastercard issued and operated by Wenia S.A.S., a Colombian company registered as 901656609-9 and supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio. You create it inside the Wenia app and it pays directly out of your digital asset balance — eleven assets, from COPW and two stablecoins to BTC and ETH. It is online-first: no physical card is mentioned at all.

How does the Wenia card work?

You choose which digital asset the card spends from, in the “Wenia Card” section of the app, and it draws on your balance of that asset when you pay. Purchases made in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no additional cost, so in practice these behave like prepaid cards spending a stored balance. Spending in another currency or another coin may involve a conversion fee.

Is Wenia a bank?

Not as far as the public pages describe. Wenia S.A.S. says it issues and operates the card itself, on the Mastercard network, and no separate bank issuer is named. It is a supervised Colombian company, which is different from being a bank, and I found no indication that cardholder funds are bank deposits.

Who owns Wenia?

Wenia S.A.S., registered in Colombia under NIT 901656609-9, and it says on its pages that it issues and operates the card. It runs on the Mastercard network; Mastercard licenses card programmes but does not itself issue consumer crypto cards. I found no complaints or user reviews for the Wenia Card on Reddit, Trustpilot or in news.

Can I use the Wenia card in another country?

For spending, yes in principle: it is a virtual Mastercard for worldwide online use, and Apple Pay and Google Pay are mentioned. In-store payment through a mobile wallet is described as coming soon. But whether you can *open* the card from outside Colombia is a different question, and Wenia does not list its eligibility conditions.

Does the Wenia card require KYC?

Almost certainly yes, since it is operated by a supervised financial company and identity verification is a legal requirement in this sector. But the specific detail is not stated: which documents, what checks, how long approval takes. If your situation is complicated — a foreign passport, an address not matching your documents — that is worth confirming directly.

How do I top up the Wenia card?

You pay from your digital asset balance in the app, holding COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK or ADA, and you switch the active asset in the “Wenia Card” section. The critical unknown: the networks are not stated, and crypto transfers are irreversible, so confirm the expected network before sending and test with a small amount first.

Is the Wenia card free?

Yes, to create and yes to keep: no management fee, no monthly charges, 0% interest. Payments in COPW, USDW or EURC add nothing. But other coins may carry a conversion fee whose rate is not published, the FX fee is not stated, and the monthly limit is 10,000 USD unless you ask customer service for more.

Does Wenia have rewards or cashback?

I found nothing published about it, and I would treat that as unknown rather than as zero. For contrast, Bybit Card pays tiered cashback on crypto-funded transactions only, Coinbase Card offers optional variable crypto rewards for US users, and OKX pays cashback only on USDG purchases.

How do I delete my Wenia account?

That is not something Wenia’s public pages state, and it is not something I can tell you reliably. Contact the company’s own support through the app. The one thing worth saying is general to this category: on-chain crypto transfers are irreversible, so money already sent out cannot be recalled by whoever receives it.

Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team