A crypto card with an IBAN, but thin margins and heavy complaints
Bitsa is a prepaid Visa card with a European IBAN that converts your crypto into euros and lets you spend that balance like an ordinary payment card. The appeal is obvious: if you cannot open a normal bank account, or you want a card that moves with crypto rather than with your salary, this solves a real problem. And at 5.0 out of 10 in my scoring, that problem is real enough to keep the card in the conversation — even as the numbers around it raise eyebrows.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.0 / 10
I scored Bitsa 5.0 out of 10. That is not a rejection; it is a card that does one thing competently and leaves a dozen things either unsaid or worrying. Here is my breakdown:

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | The official list of countries is not disclosed; unofficial sources say residents of 27 EEA countries, with Bulgaria, Croatia, Latvia, the United Kingdom, the United States and Canada closed |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Physical card EUR 20, virtual EUR 2.50; Free plan EUR 0, Move EUR 0.99/month, Pro EUR 9.99/month; reload by card 1.5%, payments outside the euro zone 1.75%, elsewhere 2%; ATM abroad EUR 0.55 + 1% |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Bitcoin, Ethereum, USD Coin; also card, SEPA, wallet, voucher; the networks themselves are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | The issuer is not officially named; unofficial: Pecunia Cards EDE. Trustpilot 1.3/5 from 363 reviews, 68% one-star, account freezes |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Physical and virtual Visa with a European IBAN; unofficial: Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM abroad EUR 0.55 + 1% |
Who this suits. If you are a resident of the euro area (or the wider EEA) who wants a prepaid Visa with an IBAN — someone who finds ordinary bank cards hard to get, or who simply prefers to spend crypto without a brokerage account attached to every purchase — this card is built for you. The European IBAN is the standout: it lets you receive SEPA transfers, which many crypto cards cannot.
Who it does not suit. If your money is primarily outside Europe, if you need large daily purchase capacity without paying for the Pro tier, or if you are put off by thin published information and heavy user complaints, look elsewhere. The card’s reliability mark of 3/10 is not a rounding error; it reflects a pattern of frozen accounts and unanswered support tickets that you should read about before you load money.
The most important thing to understand, and I will return to it below, is that the card’s official pages leave several critical answers blank: which countries qualify, what identity checks demand, what networks to use for deposits, how the conversion spread works. Those silences are why the score lands in the middle rather than higher.
Who will they give you the card
The honest answer is: the card’s own public pages do not say. The list of eligible countries is not stated. Everything else I have on this point comes from third-party sources, so treat it as unofficial and not confirmed by Bitsa itself.
What unofficial sources say is that Bitsa is aimed at residents of supported EEA countries, with an available list of 27: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden. The restricted list is Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Latvia, United Kingdom, United States (per CryptoCardHub, 11 Aug 2026, with Croatia and Latvia added later). That is a Europe-first product with a clear line drawn around the UK, North America and a handful of European states.
If you are reading this from outside that map, the practical question is not “is my country on the list” but “will my specific country, my specific residence status and my specific citizenship pass their checks.” Those are three separate screens, and the card does not publish how it applies them. Check with Bitsa directly before you rely on any of this.
Fees and what you really pay
Bitsa’s pricing is not hidden — it is just spread across a plan structure. Here is the shape of it, from the official pages.

| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Physical card | EUR 20 |
| Virtual card | EUR 2.50 |
| Free plan | EUR 0 |
| Move plan | EUR 0.99/month or EUR 8.99/year |
| Pro plan | EUR 9.99/month or EUR 69.99/year |
| Reload by external card (non-free plans) | 1.5% |
| Payments outside the euro zone | 1.75% |
| Payments elsewhere | 2% |
| Transfer commission (Free, Move) | EUR 1 |
| Transfer commission (Pro) | free |
| Crypto conversion spread | not stated |
| ATM fee abroad | EUR 0.55 + 1% of the amount, minimum EUR 0.75 |
The conversion spread being unstated is the line to notice. Every time you move crypto into your card balance, there is some cost, and the card does not publicly define it. That gap matters more than the headline percentages.
An afternoon coffee (EUR 4). This is a euro-zone payment. On the Free plan you pay the card price only; on other plans, no reload fee if you top up by SEPA or voucher, but 1.5% if you reload by card. No conversion applies because the balance is already euros.
A dinner abroad (EUR 60, non-euro Europe). You pay the 1.75% international payment fee — about EUR 1.05 — plus whatever conversion your card balance already absorbed. If you had topped up by card beforehand, add the 1.5% reload on that top-up.
Cash from an ATM abroad (EUR 100). The fee is EUR 0.55 plus 1% of the amount, with a EUR 0.75 minimum — so EUR 1.55 here. And note the limits: withdrawals outside Spain cap at EUR 450 per day.
How to top it up
Bitsa accepts Bitcoin, Ethereum and USD Coin from an external wallet, and also lists card, SEPA transfer, wallet and voucher as ways in. The networks are not stated officially, so read that as a real risk rather than a technicality.
Why the network gap matters: a crypto transfer sent on the wrong network can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. If the card does not tell you which networks it accepts, you are the one carrying that risk. Before your first deposit, find out from Bitsa which networks each supported asset uses, and generate a new address for each transfer if that is the process they prescribe. Third-party sources note that external-wallet top-ups explicitly list BTC, ETH and USDC, and advise generating a new address each time; they also say the crypto buy fee is 0% on all plans, and that top-ups by external card beyond your allowance cost 1.5%.
A few more unofficial details worth holding in mind: voucher reloads are said to run 0% to 6%, crypto top-ups cap at EUR 20,000 per day, and — importantly — in-app crypto is buy-and-sell only. Holdings cannot be sent to or received from external wallets; the card is a spending front-end, not a wallet. Card cancellation and balance management at expiry are EUR 0; a third-party external transfer is EUR 1.50.
Paying with it every day
This is where Bitsa scores best — 9 out of 10 for everyday use. The card is a physical and virtual Visa with a European IBAN, managed in an iOS and Android app. It works in shops, online, and at foreign ATMs, and your euro balance is what you spend.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are confirmed in current help material; Samsung Pay was announced earlier but has no current setup guide. Official pages I read do not state which merchant categories are blocked, nor do they carry app ratings — unofficial figures put it around 2.8 or 2.9 out of 5 on Google Play, with the number of ratings not given.
The plan services list includes “Cashback up to 15%,” with the Move plan mentioning cashback at favourite brands. The payout asset and the conditions behind that figure are not stated, so treat 15% as a marketing ceiling rather than a promise.
The European IBAN is the practical gem. It means the card can receive SEPA transfers, which is exactly what makes it useful as a spending card when direct bank access is awkward.
What can go wrong
This is the part that pulled the card’s score down hardest, and I want to walk you through it honestly rather than around it.
Official incidents: none found. But user reports on a secondary aggregator (cryptocards.so only, unverified, undated) describe Trustpilot ratings around 1.3 to 1.5 out of 5, with accounts frozen after deposits and support unresponsive. I found no Bitsa Trustpilot page or Reddit threads of my own to corroborate.
The detailed user report, read 20 October 2026, puts Trustpilot Bitsa at 1.3/5 from 363 reviews, 68% of them one-star. The recurring themes: accounts frozen or blocked with funds withheld (reviews from September 2020 through September 2026, including May, July and September 2026); support unresponsive for weeks or months (July 2026); repeated document and KYC demands (2025); crypto top-ups partly or not credited (May and November 2025); login and app failures (September 2026); unexplained closure (January 2025). The company has not replied to negative reviews, and two reviewers claim regulator warnings — unverified, 2025.
The issuer itself is not officially named on the pages I read. Bitsa is “a simplified joint stock company (SAS) registered in the Nice Trade and Companies Register” in France, and its footer links to “Card issuer conditions” and “Payment service provider” that were not read. Licences are not stated. Unofficially, the issuer is said to be Pecunia Cards EDE S.L.U. (PecunPay), Banco de Espana register 6707, with Bitsa SAS as programme operator.
Underlying that, unofficial security notes: the account becomes custodial after funding, with the euro card balance held inside the PecunPay programme; online purchases and sensitive changes need an SMS code plus a personal SCA secret; and you can block the card in the app. Support channels and response times are not published on the review page, and reviewers report slow or absent replies.
Why this is the real risk. A frozen account with funds withheld is the failure mode that matters most, and it is exactly what the complaint pattern describes. With crypto converted to a custodial euro balance, your recovery path runs through the same support that the reviews say is unresponsive. Keep balances you actually need modest, and treat the card as a spending tool rather than a store of value.
What to take instead
If Bitsa does not fit, these are the cards I compared it against, with their own scores:
| Card | Score | Who it suits |
|---|---|---|
| Bitsa | 5.0 / 10 | EEA residents wanting a prepaid Visa with a European IBAN |
| RedotPay | 6.9 / 10 | Users in a wide range of countries outside Europe, wanting USD or HKD cards |
| Wirex | 6.7 / 10 | Users who want a crypto account with a linked debit card and cashback in WXT |
| Bitpanda | 6.5 / 10 | Euro-area residents who already hold a verified Bitpanda account |
A few notes on how each differs, in case one matches you better.
RedotPay (6.9/10) is the broadest of the four geographically. Its KYC list excludes citizens of a long set of countries and regions including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Cuba, Iran, North Korea and the United States; its card-issuance list separately bars residents of India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey. It offers USD and HKD cards, charges 1.00% per transaction, has free account maintenance and a paid Pro tier at USD 12.90 monthly or USD 129.00 annual. A physical card costs USD 100 to apply for.
Wirex (6.7/10) is a multi-currency crypto account with a linked debit card — cash, stablecoins and cryptocurrencies. Issuance is free in the UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other”; a metal Visa Signature debit card costs 45 GBP in the UK. Cashback runs in WXT: 0.5% Standard, 3% Premium, up to 8% Elite. Note that withdrawals are not permitted in Singapore.
Bitpanda (6.5/10) is euro-area only, requires a verified account and residence in a euro-area country, and issues a physical Visa debit card (virtual not stated). Account opening and monthly cost are free; reissue is EUR 5.90. It spends from a chosen main asset — cryptocurrencies, precious metals or EUR — converted at payment, with 1% cashback on crypto spending.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Bitsa to a euro-area resident who has a genuine need for a prepaid Visa with a European IBAN, who can keep modest balances on it, and who is comfortable doing their own due diligence because the official pages leave gaps. If you receive salary or savings in the euro area, spend in the euro area, and want to top up from crypto or SEPA without a brokerage account in the middle, this card does that job.
I would steer you away if any of these apply: you live mainly outside Europe; you need high daily purchase capacity without paying EUR 9.99 a month; you rely on cashback as income; or you want published, verifiable support commitments. In each of those cases RedotPay, Wirex or Bitpanda — depending on where you are — will serve you better, and their higher scores reflect it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitsa card?
Bitsa is a prepaid Visa card that holds a euro balance you top up yourself, funded by crypto or by fiat. It comes in physical and virtual form, includes a European IBAN, and is managed through an iOS and Android app. Crypto you deposit is converted into euros that the card then spends like an ordinary Visa.
Is Bitsa a bank?
No — Bitsa describes itself as “a simplified joint stock company (SAS) registered in the Nice Trade and Companies Register” in France, and it operates a card programme rather than taking deposits. The card issuer is not officially named on the pages I read; unofficially it is said to be Pecunia Cards EDE S.L.U., Banco de Espana register 6707. So do not treat it as a bank account.
Which countries is the Bitsa card available in?
The card’s own public pages do not publish the list — that is not stated. Unofficially, Bitsa is said to serve residents of 27 EEA countries including France, Germany, Spain, Italy and Ireland, with Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Latvia, the United Kingdom and the United States restricted. Because this is unofficial and unconfirmed by the card, check with Bitsa directly for your country.
How much does the Bitsa card cost?
The physical card is EUR 20 and the virtual card EUR 2.50. Plans are Free at EUR 0, Move at EUR 0.99 a month (or EUR 8.99 a year) and Pro at EUR 9.99 a month (or EUR 69.99 a year). On top of that: 1.5% to reload by external card on non-free plans, 1.75% for payments outside the euro zone, 2% elsewhere, and EUR 0.55 plus 1% (minimum EUR 0.75) for ATM withdrawals abroad.
Does the Bitsa card require KYC?
The card’s official pages do not state its KYC requirements — that is not stated. Unofficially, it is said to require proof of residence in an eligible country plus identity verification, with ages 16 to 17 handled through a “Bitsa Young” route with guardian authorisation in the app. The issuer may suspend accounts for failed KYC, fraud or AML risk, or missing source-of-funds documents.
How do I top up the Bitsa card?
You can send Bitcoin, Ethereum or USD Coin from an external wallet, or reload by card, SEPA transfer, wallet or voucher. The networks are not stated officially, which is why you should confirm them before depositing — a transfer on the wrong network can be lost. Unofficially, a new address is advised for each transfer, the crypto buy fee is 0% on all plans, and crypto top-ups cap at EUR 20,000 a day.
Can I add the Bitsa card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Yes, unofficially — Apple Pay and Google Pay are both confirmed in current help material. Samsung Pay was announced earlier but has no current setup guide. Note that when you add a card to a mobile wallet, the number is replaced by a device-specific token rather than stored on the phone maker’s servers, and the issuer can restrict a tokenised number to certain uses.
Is the Bitsa card safe?
Safely is the wrong word; treat it as custodial and low-cost-to-lose. The official pages I read do not state security measures — that is not stated. Unofficially, the euro balance is held inside the PecunPay programme after funding, online payments need an SMS code plus a personal SCA secret, and you can freeze the card in the app. The real concern is the complaint pattern: accounts frozen with funds withheld and slow support.
Can I withdraw money from the Bitsa card?
Cash withdrawals at ATMs are possible, at EUR 0.55 plus 1% with a EUR 0.75 minimum when abroad, and unofficially an allowance of one per day up to EUR 350 on Free, two up to EUR 350 on Move, and four up to EUR 900 on Pro. Withdrawals outside Spain cap at EUR 450 a day. Moving money to your own external wallet is a different story — the in-app crypto is buy-and-sell only and cannot be sent to or received from external wallets.
Is the Bitsa card worth it?
It is worth it for a narrow group: euro-area residents who want a prepaid Visa with a European IBAN and who can keep modest balances on it. It scored 5.0 out of 10 for me — strong on everyday use (9/10) but weak on reliability (3/10) given reports of frozen accounts and unsupported crypto on some networks. If you need broad geographic reach, larger limits, or published support, compare RedotPay, Wirex or Bitpanda instead.
App and neobank cards – cryptocardsranked
Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team
