Gemini Card Review: US-Only Credit With Crypto Rewards
The Gemini card is a US credit card issued by WebBank under the Mastercard World Elite network, and it pays crypto back on everyday spending — 4% on gas, EV and transit up to $300 a month, 3% on dining, 2% on groceries, 1% on everything else. That sounds like the best crypto card deal going, and in a narrow sense it is. But it is not the kind of card most people searching “Gemini card review” are hoping for. It is a credit card, not a crypto-funded card: you need US credit, you pay 16.49% to 34.49% APR on purchases, and crypto is the reward, never the fuel. That single distinction drives everything below — who gets one, what it costs, and why the score lands at 4.9 out of 10 rather than somewhere in the eightes.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
This is a review, not a sales pitch. I read the cardholder agreement, checked who actually qualifies, ran the fees against a few ordinary purchases, and looked at what people are actually reporting. Here is what I found, in the order you probably want to know it.
Who can get the Gemini card
Short answer: US residents only, and the card’s public pages do not spell out the application steps or the identity checks in detail.
Gemini’s own support pages say that residents in all 50 US states are eligible to apply, with terms and restrictions applying. That is the official position. The card page itself does not go further — it does not publish the credit requirements, the income threshold, or the exact documents you will need.
Outside the US, there is no path I can find. If you are reading this from anywhere that is not the United States, stop here: this card is not for you, and no amount of good intentions about crypto rewards will change that. The reasons are structural, not bureaucratic fussiness. The card is issued by a US bank, the account is denominated in US dollars, and the credit underwriting is a US credit application. There is no European or worldwide edition in the works.
What about a Social Security number? Two third-party reviews — CryptoSlate and Gerald, neither dated on the point — list a valid SSN as a requirement. Gemini’s own pages, as far as I could find, do not mention an SSN explicitly. Treat the third-party claim as unofficial and unconfirmed: it is consistent with how US credit underwriting normally works, but the card’s own text does not say so.
The practical consequence for you: if you are a US resident with an established credit history, this is a straightforward application. If you are a US resident without much credit history, a recent arrival, or anyone whose income is hard to document, the odds drop — but the exact rejection reasons are not published, so you will only find out by applying.
| Who | Reality |
|---|---|
| US residents in all 50 states | Eligible to apply, terms and restrictions apply |
| Residents outside the US | Not eligible — no application path |
| Non-US citizens living in the US | Not stated on the card pages |
| Applicants without US credit history | Not stated; underwriting is a standard credit check |
| Applicants without an SSN | Not stated officially; two third-party reviews say it is required |
How to get the Gemini card
The application is a credit application, which means a creditworthiness check, not a crypto-wallet signup. Here is what I can confirm and what I cannot.
The card itself is a Mastercard World Elite credit card. Whether the card arrives as metal or plastic, whether there is a virtual version, and what currency it comes in — none of that is stated on the card page. Two unofficial sources say a metal physical card is available, arriving about 5 to 7 days after approval, with a virtual card issued after verification. I could not confirm either claim on Gemini’s own pages.
On the credit side, the terms are clearer. The APR for purchases runs from 16.49% to 34.49%, set by your creditworthiness at the time the account opens. The cash advance APR is 29.49% and the penalty APR is 33.49% — all variable, all tied to the Prime Rate, so they can move up or down with interest rates generally. The KYC process, how long a decision takes, and why an application might be declined: not stated on the page.
One cardholder-agreement detail worth knowing before you apply: one free card replacement per 12 months, with each additional replacement costing $50. Delivery countries, delivery time, and shipping cost: not stated.
My honest read on the signup flow: this is a normal US credit card application with a crypto twist on the rewards end, not a lightweight crypto product. If you have never applied for a US credit card before, the friction you will hit — credit history, SSN, income documentation — is the friction of US credit, not of Gemini.
Fees and what a payment really costs
Here is the number that should stop you cold if you were expecting a crypto card: the APR on purchases is 16.49% to 34.49%. At the top of that range, any balance you carry accrues significant interest. No annual fee softens that. A crypto-funded card that spends only what you loaded never charges interest; a credit card that runs up a balance charges you the APR on the outstanding amount.

The good news is the fee schedule is otherwise clean. No annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, and no crypto conversion fee — which makes sense, because the conversion is the reward, not the payment rail. You spend dollars; Gemini gives you crypto back.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | None |
| Issuance fee | Not stated |
| Purchase APR | 16.49% to 34.49% (variable, set by creditworthiness) |
| Cash advance APR | 29.49% (variable) |
| Penalty APR | 33.49% (variable) |
| Cash advance fee | $10 or 3% of each advance, whichever is greater |
| Late payment fee | Up to $35 (first late fee up to $25) |
| Returned payment fee | Up to $35 |
| Foreign transaction fee | None |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not applicable (credit card; rewards paid in crypto) |
| Card replacement | One free per 12 months, then $50 each |
| ATM fee | Not stated |
| ATM limit | Not published |
| Credit limit | Not stated (unofficial: generally $2,500–$25,000; starting limits as low as $1,000 reported) |
Let me run three ordinary payments through this, because “no annual fee” means nothing until you see it against real spending.
A $60 dinner. You pay $60 on the statement. If you pay it off in full, you pay $60 and receive 3% back — $1.80 in Bitcoin or another of 50-plus cryptos, credited instantly to your Gemini account. No fee. If you do not pay it off, you owe $60 plus interest at your purchase APR, and the 3% reward does not offset that interest.
A $400 fill-up. You pay $400 and receive 4% back — $16 in crypto. But note the cap: the 4% tier applies only to the first $300 per month, resetting on the 1st. So $300 earns $12 at 4%, and the remaining $100 earns $1 at 1%. Your total reward is $13, not $16. If you also carry a balance, the interest on $400 at 34.49% is running against that $13 the whole time it stays unpaid.
A trip abroad. You spend 300 euros in Rome. There is no foreign transaction fee, and the network converts it to dollars at its own exchange rate. You still earn 1% as “other” spending — $3-ish in crypto depending on the conversion. The exchange rate the network gives you is the rate you get; there is no guarantee it is the mid-market rate, but there is no separate fee layered on top either. The catch: this is a US credit line, so the bill still sits on your US credit, not on any crypto balance.
The cash advance fee is the one that bites hardest. $10 or 3%, whichever is greater, at 29.49% APR, on top of any ATM fee the ATM charges. I would not use this card for ATM withdrawals unless you have no alternative — but an ATM cash advance is available, which is unusual among crypto-branded cards.
How to top up the Gemini card
This section is short, and that is the point: you cannot top it up, because there is nothing to load.

The Gemini card is not a prepaid card. It is a credit card, repaid in fiat. There is no stored balance, no crypto deposit, no coin or network to choose. You do not send USDC on Solana or ETH on Ethereum to fund it — that concept does not apply here. The reward arrives *after* you spend, as crypto credited to your Gemini account; the spending itself comes from a US credit line.
The cash advance fee and late-fee schedule I mentioned above apply. There is no deposit fee because there is no deposit.
If you were hoping to load crypto and spend it directly, this is the wrong card and I would say so now rather than after you apply. A prepaid crypto card — one where you deposit stablecoins and they become spendable fiat balance — is a different product with a different risk profile, and I point you to alternatives at the end.
The one thing you should know about paying it off: closing the account and paying off the balance are governed by the cardholder agreement, which I did not summarise in detail. Read it before you plan to close.
Paying with the Gemini card every day
Day-to-day use is where this card genuinely shines, and it earns the 8 out of 10 I gave everyday use.
The rewards are the main event: 4% on gas, EV and transit (capped at the first $300 a month, then 1%), 3% on dining, 2% on groceries, 1% on other spending. Paid instantly in Bitcoin or 50-plus other cryptos directly into your Gemini account, and you can change which crypto you receive at any time. Some merchants offer 10% Vault Rewards, though those are capped and vary by merchant. There is a referral programme too: $50 in crypto per referral, $250 per five referrals, up to 50 a year.
The mobile wallets are the quiet strength. Gemini’s support pages confirm the card works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. That matters because tokenised mobile payments are more likely to be accepted at a shop than a hand-presented card, and they keep the card number off the merchant’s side of the transaction. Whether the card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay is not stated on the card page itself — this is from Gemini’s support content.
The Gemini app is strong on iOS: 4.8 out of 5 from 110K ratings in the US App Store listing (read 2026-10-20), requiring iPhone iOS 17.2 or later, with Apple Watch and Apple Vision support. Languages include English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish — no Russian. The Google Play listing I did not read.
Everyday friction to know about: some instant-reward categories are excluded from the bonus rate, and the cardholder agreement has a “Billing Rights” section covering transaction disputes, though the statutory 60-day dispute window is not confirmed in the text I saw. If a charge goes wrong, that section is where your remedy is defined — worth a skim before you need it.
What can go wrong
Three things, roughly in order of how likely they are to bite you.
The first is the complaint record, and it is not good. Trustpilot shows 1.3 out of 5 from 1,513 reviews (212 in the last 12 months, read 2026-10-20), with Gemini replying to about 3% of negative reviews. The themes are consistent and specific: frozen accounts and withdrawal holds, some lasting up to 35 days (Aug–Sep 2026); slow or absent support, no phone line (Jul–Sep 2026); and card-specific problems — disputes denied after card data was compromised (Oct 2026), repeated declines over three months (Oct 2026), a card closed without explanation (Sep 2026), an app that stopped showing balance and payment history after a July payment (Jul 2026), and late fees after app glitches (Jul 2026). A January 2026 review describes a fraud freeze unresolved for more than two months. Some of these complaints are about the exchange side of Gemini rather than the card, but that is the point: they are all under the same brand and the same support desk.
The second is the credit structure itself. A 34.49% penalty APR and a 29.49% cash advance APR are punitive numbers, and they only become your problem if you carry a balance or reach for cash. If you pay the statement in full every month, you never see this APR. If you do not, the crypto rewards are a rounding error against the interest.
The third is the security and control picture, which is thinner than I would like. The card is issued by WebBank, and the account is a credit account, not crypto custody — so your coins are not the bank’s problem and the card cannot spend your holdings. But app-based freeze, two-factor authentication, and spending controls: not stated on the card page. I would want to confirm those exist in the app before I trusted this card with a large limit.
On the regulatory side, the cardholder agreement is dated 1 April 2026 and the issuer is WebBank. Gemini’s own licence and corporate details are not on the card page. I found no news of a licence change or programme change in this pass, but absence of news is not the same as a clean bill of health.
Alternatives worth comparing
If the Gemini card’s credit-card structure is wrong for you, these are the alternatives I would look at — all scored on the same 10-point scale.
| Card | Score | Type | Who it’s for | Key facts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gemini | 4.9 / 10 | US credit card (Mastercard World Elite) | US residents wanting crypto credit-card rewards | No annual or FX fee; 16.49%–34.49% purchase APR; crypto paid as reward, not funding |
| Lava | 7.1 / 10 | Debit/prepaid crypto card | Anyone wanting to spend from a crypto balance | No annual fees; no FX fees or FX spread; up to 5% back in bitcoin; 150M+ merchants in 150+ countries; deposits in local currency or stablecoins |
| Trastra | 4.1 / 10 | Prepaid Visa debit | EEA residents | 31 listed countries incl. Germany, France, UK; EEA-wide rollout promised; topped up with crypto in a Mover wallet; euro |
| RedotPay | 6.9 / 10 | Virtual + physical Visa debit | Users outside the US who want a crypto-funded card | 1.00% transaction fee, 1.20% in non-default currency; $10 virtual / $100 physical issuance; Pro tier $12.90/mo or $129/yr; long unsupported-country list incl. the US |
Lava is the closest to what most people assume “crypto card” means: you deposit crypto or local currency, and you spend from that balance, with no interest because there is no credit line and no FX spread. Its conditions are not stated on the page, and the network and physical/virtual format are not stated either.
Trastra is a prepaid Visa debit for the European Economic Area, with a promised EEA-wide rollout. It scores lowest of the four but is one of the few here aimed squarely at Europe rather than the US.
RedotPay is the most feature-detailed of the alternatives — clear fees, clear issuance costs, a paid tier — but its eligibility rules are strict and its unsupported-country list is long, including the United States. So it is not a substitute for the Gemini card; it is an alternative for a different reader entirely.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Gemini card to a US resident with solid credit who already pays their statement in full every month, spends meaningfully on gas, dining and groceries, and genuinely wants crypto as a reward rather than as a payment method. For that person it is a genuinely good cashback card that happens to pay out in Bitcoin.
I would steer everyone else away. If you are outside the US, this card is not available to you. If you carry a balance or are tempted to, the APR range makes it a costly place to be. If your main interest is spending crypto directly rather than earning it as a reward, you want a prepaid or debit card funded from a crypto balance, not a credit card. And if you have had any friction with Gemini the exchange — frozen accounts, slow support — I would read the complaint themes above twice before applying for the card under the same brand.
The honest one-line version: this is a rewards credit card for a specific kind of American, not the crypto card most people are looking for when they search “Gemini card review.”
Frequently asked questions
What is the Gemini card?
The Gemini card is a US credit card issued by WebBank on the Mastercard World Elite network. You spend dollars from a credit line and earn crypto back as a reward — up to 4% on qualifying spending, 3% on dining, 2% on groceries, 1% elsewhere. The crypto is the reward you receive, not the money you load; you do not top the card up with coins.
How does the Gemini card work?
You apply for credit, get approved for a limit, and spend from that line like any credit card. Each purchase earns crypto back instantly into your Gemini account, in Bitcoin or 50-plus other cryptocurrencies, and you can change which one you receive at any time. The catch is that interest applies to any balance you carry: 16.49% to 34.49% APR on purchases.
Is Gemini a bank?
No — Gemini is a cryptocurrency exchange and financial services company, not a bank. The card itself is issued by WebBank, which is the institution that actually extends the credit and holds the account. Gemini’s own licence and corporate details are not stated on the card page; the issuer is WebBank under the Mastercard World Elite network.
Who can get the Gemini card?
Residents in all 50 US states are eligible to apply, according to Gemini’s support pages, with terms and restrictions applying. There is no application path outside the United States. Whether a Social Security number is required is not stated on Gemini’s own pages, though two third-party reviews list one as a requirement.
How do I get the Gemini card?
You apply for a credit card, which involves a creditworthiness check rather than a crypto-wallet signup. The APR you are offered — between 16.49% and 34.49% — depends on that credit assessment. One free card replacement is included per 12 months, with each additional replacement costing $50. Delivery time and shipping cost are not stated.
Does the Gemini card require KYC?
Yes, effectively. A credit card application requires verifying your identity and creditworthiness, and US rules require a name, date of birth, address and identification number. But the card page does not spell out Gemini’s specific KYC steps, processing time, or rejection reasons — those details are not stated publicly.
How do I top up the Gemini card?
You do not — it is a credit card, not a prepaid card. There is no stored balance to load and no crypto deposit to make. You repay the balance in fiat. Crypto comes to you as a reward after you spend. If you want to load crypto directly and spend it, you need a prepaid or debit crypto card instead, such as Lava or RedotPay.
Is the Gemini card free?
There is no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, and no crypto conversion fee. But it is not free to carry a balance: purchases run at 16.49% to 34.49% APR, cash advances at 29.49% with a fee of $10 or 3%, and late or returned payments cost up to $35 each. Free only if you pay the statement in full every month.
Is the Gemini card safe?
The account is a credit account, not crypto custody, so the card itself cannot spend your crypto holdings. But the card page does not state whether app-based freeze, two-factor authentication, or spending controls are available. Complaints on Trustpilot (1.3 out of 5 from 1,513 reviews) include frozen accounts, slow support with no phone line, and card problems. Approach with the same caution you would any credit card.
Is the Gemini card worth it?
For a US resident who pays in full every month and spends on gas, dining and groceries, the crypto rewards are competitive and the fees are low. For anyone outside the US, anyone who might carry a balance, or anyone who wants to spend crypto directly rather than earn it, it is not worth it — the APR range and the credit-only structure work against you. Know which of those two people you are before you apply.
Credit and cashback cards – cryptocardsranked
Content created by the «cryptocardsranked» team
